Wellington ATTRACTIONS See all

Old St Paul's Cathedral

Wellington’s first Anglican cathedral, the classic Gothic Revival Old St. Paul Cathedral’s is a picture-book wooden church built in 1845. The building was designed by the parish vicar, the Reverend Frederick Thatcher. The simple white-painted ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Craig told us from the beginning that he doesn't usually do this specific tour...but it didn't matter. He did a tremendous job tailoring the tour to focus on the things we wanted to see.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good. Loved the flexibility. It was just enough for me.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mike the Guide was terrific. We had a rainy day and he was able to modify the tour to allow us to maximize sightseeing until the weather cleared. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour and tour guide. Covered all major attractions and professional introductions in-depth.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great day in Wellington. We were met at ship timely and delivered back with time to spare.
Our guide was a native of Wellington and showed us a terrific day and had lots of history to share.
Souls highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had our driver (Mike) to ourselves so he was able to personalize our tour to suit. He was very experienced and knowlegeable, showing the essential highlights of a great city.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

What a fantastic day, we had a charismatic host Nathan, who made the day all about us. The day was tailored to our wants, needs, and desires. Wellington is such a beautiful city with its unusual layout and quirkiness, Nathan is very passionate about his city and it rubbed off. I initially picked this tour just to fill in a day but I was very wrong, I learnt so much while having fun and got to see so many things that I never would have. We stopped off at a beautiful little cafe by the beach for lunch, went to the Weta studios, Mt Victoria lookout, Parliament and Beehive buildings, Te Papa, Wellington Zoo, cable car, and St Paul's Cathedral. We also stopped off at some unusual spots for some photo opportunities. I cant thank Nathan enough for a warm welcome to Wellington and showing us his wonderful city in a beatiful new airconditioned mini van.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

fantastic even though it rained. we were the only ones on the tour with Mike and he was fantastic and focused the tour on what we wanted to see

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

The guide is very kind and thoughtful. My daughter and I were enjoying the trip. Many thanks.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Brilliant tour- guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and ensured we saw it all.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

johnmcf
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The weather was not perfect, cold and raining, however Laura was extremely proficient and went out of her way to ensure we enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Because of our driver's heavy "accent", we had difficulty understanding some of his talk. Therefore we found him repeating himself a lot, for our benefit I think.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Our tour guide, Mike, was great, My friend and I were the only ones on this tour and he catered to what we were interested in. Mike was informative and fun. We enjoyed our tour so much we asked Mike if we could book him again the next day for a tour of Kapiti. I would recommend your tours to others.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The LOTR tour was personanlised from the small group. The guide had been involved in the making of LOTR, so there were many interesting discussions about the background to the various locations and scenes. Well worth putting into your itinerary.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

A great way to get a feel for the city of Wellington and depending on your driver learn a little bit about the place too! The hop on hop off works a bit different to other cities so much sure you get your head around how it works so you get best value from your trip.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

a nice tour, but the trip would have been better in a van with windows that were longer. Anything close and I had to bend down in order to see. In some cases the driver told us what we were going to see about the same time as we drove past it and not always slowly. Other times, the sight was not clealy located: On your right..., but WHERE on my right?

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Way too expensive, but the driver was nice, and we feel we covered the area well. Tour guide was on time,
had a comfortable vehicle, showed us everything he could think of and took us to a location where we could
view the S.I. which was one thing we wished to view. We did visit a couple of the beaches around the area and the small towns and the area where the Middle Earth movie characters were made-Weta area. That was
interesting. The tee shirt we bought our son has been a big attraction since returning home to the USA.

Doing what: Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was difficult to find the start point and the bus was really a mini bus. The driver was quite informative but overall we were disappointed with the tour, we could have done it ourselves

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This tour was alright, but not a must do because you can do most everything on your own at your own pace. Wellington is a very cool, walkable and interesting city. This tour seemed rushed and not much opportunity to hop off to explore since hop on times are very limited + it's a small van type bus.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message