The hit Lord of the Rings movies have ensured New Zealand’s spot on the map as one of the world’s most stunning landscapes. After all, there aren’t many places where the scenery is so surreal people are unsure if it really exists. While the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great day out seeing the sites of Wellington featured in the LOTR. The weta studios was excellent and the guides are good fun!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Thankyou for a great day out full of behind the sceens information and interesting facts about the movies. Laura was an entertaining and knowledgable guide who made the day fun and the mood light and friendly. Plenty of photo opportunities throughout the day, and lunch was beautiful. The Weta studio was amazing and unforgettable.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Unfortunately our booking in this one was cancelled but we were accommodated on the half day tour the next day so this rating is really for the half day tour. We weren't hassled about losing access to the full day trip as we went into the sites further out of town with a friend on another day. The refund of balance of the booking as result of the cancellation was handled well by Viator. Thanks.
The half day trip was just what we wanted - lots of fun if you wanted to get involved in the action. The WETA tour was tops. Loved mucking around 'collecting mushrooms' and the like and then 'getting off the road'.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had an entertaining and knowledgeable tour guide. It was fascinating, and we had a great time. The outdoor views were beautiful, and the WETA tour was both fun and informative.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Thw LOTR tour wss fantastic! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about everything LOTR. Great locations and amazing time st the Weta Cave.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Our guide Emma was very informative. Weta Caves was amazing. Highly recommend to any LOTR fans.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour and tour guide. Really enjoyed the view from Mt. Victoria of bird-view of Wellington, film location of Lord of the Ring, and also the Weta Cave trip. Awesome.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My wife and I had a great time on this full day LOTR tour! Jack our tour guide picked us up from our hotel and was very friendly. We loved all the locations and Jack showed video from the films so you could take the most accurate pictures. The WETA cave was awesome and there were activities there that we experienced that I did not expect. The lunch was great and later in the afternoon we had tea and snacks! This tour was worth the money and I learned a lot!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Just wanted to thank Jack and Wellington Rover Tours for a great day discovering the Lord of the Rings locations and the Weta Studios.
Jack was a great guide and is certainly passionate with a very solid depth of knowledge on not only the LOTRs but also the Weta and all things WelliWood :-)

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Thanapol T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent tour especially for the film "geek". The tour guide was excellent and entertained us the whole way. We stopped at so many filming locations plus Weta Cave.
Great lunch as well. Totally recommended !

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent knowledgeable guide,Imagination needed,Well worth the trip particularly the Weta Cave.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

johnmcf
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent in particular the visit to the Weta workshop and the actual film sights.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A good tour. The Weta workshop visit was terrific. Very nice lunch included.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The tour was delivered by Wellington Rover Tours and our guide was a very sci-fi/fantasy movie/tv geek. Of course, none of the sets still exist and the locations were returned to their original state. We were able to stand where the Hobbits end up after their fall down the hill and when Frodo tells everyone to "get off the road!". We were also able to walk through the forest where the Rivendell set was built. And we were able to walk through where the Isengard path was built when Gandalf goes to Isengard to seek the council of Saruman. Unfortunately, Helms Deep and Minas Tirith was built in a quarry and it is private property, so you can't go into it. We were able to see the River Anduin where Faramir recollects Boromir's body floating in the boat and where Aragorn washes ashore and Brego wakes him up to bring him to Helm's Deep. The Weta Cave is pretty cool as you get to see a short documentary and taken around the "Window into Workshop" exhibition by someone who actually works for Weta, and of course, have the opportunity to buy some Weta souvenirs. While there are no sets to see, it is pretty cool to be able to see some of the shooting locations -- whenever I see the movies now, I'll always be able to point out the locations where I also stood. I rate this 4 stars for LOTR fans.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The tour was great! The host was very informative and seemed to live and breathe Lord of the Rings!

The description of the tour on the website wasn't entirely accurate and could do with some updating. Eg, include 'visit to WETA cave', Orc sized picnic lunch at Rivendell was lunch in a local café, remove information about stopping at the Chocolate Fish Café.
Good fun!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message