In the first half of the twentieth century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle Earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings.  In ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This is really Zero stars. We were dismayed to find out the tour was not on! Viator took our booking and even sent us a reminder to print our tickets. When I contacted the tour provider he told me that Viator had been informed that Weta studios were closed for the week and the tours were not taking place. Someone, he or Viator, made a big error. As we had planned our brief stay in Wellington around this tour to say we were disappointed is an understatement. I emailed a complaint to Viator and have had no response and no apology. Not good enough!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great day out seeing the sites of Wellington featured in the LOTR. The weta studios was excellent and the guides are good fun!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Laura was amazing and we had lots of fun as a family of 4 (with older children who are harder to please). The lunch was at a great location and the entire tour was great despite the intermittent rain.
I must add that the tour hotline was quick and helpful, especially for tourists who need to call them early in the day to confirm their booking and location. :D

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

very good day, guide was a bit too detailed about his experiences and we got back about 6.00pm; tour was great but time could have been better managed.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

johnmcf
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent in particular the visit to the Weta workshop and the actual film sights.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Thankyou for a great day out full of behind the sceens information and interesting facts about the movies. Laura was an entertaining and knowledgable guide who made the day fun and the mood light and friendly. Plenty of photo opportunities throughout the day, and lunch was beautiful. The Weta studio was amazing and unforgettable.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great experience. Know a lot about the way the have the film shoot. Which part is real and which part is CG. Good walk around the woods too. Nice view and scenery. Fresh air. Love it!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Really liked the tour! My only improvement would be a better description of how to arrange pickup.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was without a doubt the best guided tour we have been on. Extremely week organized, very knowledgeable and our guide was brilliant. This tour us well work the money and well worth a Trip to Wellington just to experience it. Being fans of the LotR and The Hobbit, we knew it was going to be good, but even then it blew away all our expectations.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Unfortunately our booking in this one was cancelled but we were accommodated on the half day tour the next day so this rating is really for the half day tour. We weren't hassled about losing access to the full day trip as we went into the sites further out of town with a friend on another day. The refund of balance of the booking as result of the cancellation was handled well by Viator. Thanks.
The half day trip was just what we wanted - lots of fun if you wanted to get involved in the action. The WETA tour was tops. Loved mucking around 'collecting mushrooms' and the like and then 'getting off the road'.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a great end to a long business trip to Wellington. The tour guide was energetic, knowledgeable, and kept us entertained for the half day tour. I now wish we had more time to take the full day tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Tour was good but museum is quite small as well as the displays in the prop area of Weta Studio. If you are a LOTR fan or want to know more about Weta Studios, you would like the tour but I was disappointed as I expected more.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great friendly guide. Great lunch too!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message