• USD ($)
  • English
In the first half of the twentieth century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle Earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings.  In ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great friendly guide. Great lunch too!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

It you are a Lord of the Rings fan, you will be disappointed.The place the tour guide took us was in fact a public hiking trail, nothing exotic or adventurous. He tried hard using his tablet to show us how bits and pieces of the film was shot there. The Weta Studio was not bad, at lease one gets some ideas how involved the processes were to get the props made.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, providing both videos and pictures to help showcase the sites we visited. Lunch was somewhat limited in options but still good and at a wonderful picturesque location. The tour ran a bit long which would've been good to know however the guide did ask to make sure everyone was ok with. Overall, great experience that I highly recommend!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We lived it but did not realize in advance it was a tour in a bus of the outside sites of the movie locations. There was no real description of the event. But we loved it

Doing what: Middle Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

So much fun!! Our guide was absolutely fantastic!!!! Even though it was raining in the afternoon we all still went exploring and got really great photo ops and time to look around!!! I would do this tour again the next time I'm in New Zealand!!!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Thw LOTR tour wss fantastic! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about everything LOTR. Great locations and amazing time st the Weta Cave.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Met at the cruise terminal with no problem. Really enjoyable and interesting tour with an enthusiastic guide. In a group that was a fraction of the cost and size of the one organised by the cruise line we were visiting Wellington with.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

loved this tour, our tour guide I forget her name was wonderful, couldn't have asked for a better day, all the LOTR sights, wellington, our informative , energetic, enthusiastic tour guide helped to make for an even better LOTR experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Just wanted to thank Jack and Wellington Rover Tours for a great day discovering the Lord of the Rings locations and the Weta Studios.
Jack was a great guide and is certainly passionate with a very solid depth of knowledge on not only the LOTRs but also the Weta and all things WelliWood :-)

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was professionally run enjoyable informative and a great way to see beautiful Wellington and surrounds too!!! Definitely worth it!! Thanks guys!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My wife and I had a great time on this full day LOTR tour! Jack our tour guide picked us up from our hotel and was very friendly. We loved all the locations and Jack showed video from the films so you could take the most accurate pictures. The WETA cave was awesome and there were activities there that we experienced that I did not expect. The lunch was great and later in the afternoon we had tea and snacks! This tour was worth the money and I learned a lot!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Lupi
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A must have tour for Lord of The Rings fan, and even for those who doesn't know anything about them it's still a lot of fun. Our guide, Laura 'The Rings' is totally cool and knows a lot of thing. Including the small and petty gossip.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour and tour guide. Really enjoyed the view from Mt. Victoria of bird-view of Wellington, film location of Lord of the Ring, and also the Weta Cave trip. Awesome.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. Our guide Emma was very informative. Weta Caves was amazing. Highly recommend to any LOTR fans.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The first half day was more meaningful than the last half which was a lot of driving and seemed a bit tedious. I Think I would recommend the 1/2-day tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message