In the first half of the 20th century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle-earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings . In the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Jack knew everything Lord of the Rings related! He was really informative and funny, we also had the good luck to meet some of the team from Weta at the Rivendell site and as our guide knew them they told us stories too!
Really great day!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is superb! Our tour guide Chewie was very informative. The views at some of the stops were amazing. Would definitely recommend this tour :)

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was great! Our tour-guide, Jack, was super informative and friendly. He made really good lame jokes too. And I liked that it all felt really informal, not so much like an official tour but hanging out with friends all excited about the same thing - Lord of the Rings. Definitely one of the highlights of my trip.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A cracking tour. Was picked up on time and dropped off at a different destination which was ideal. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and was friendly enough to take some snaps from my own camera for me. The Weta workshop is brilliant. The guide there was funny and again knew her stuff. The only negative was that we couldn't take photos inside the workshop

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It was a decent tour and the guide was very friendly and enthusiastic. I took the full-day tour expecting to see more sites, but ended up not seeing more. Rather we listened to guide talk more at each one which is not my style. Feel like the time could have been more efficiently spent.

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a ball. We were the only 2 people on the tour so get special attention and even experienced an earthquake!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour that included a stop on a hill overlooking the city, a short walking tour of a local forest where some scenes from the Lord of the Rings were filmed, and a guided tour of the Weta Studio which included many of the props used in the movies.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dude was great! Did the 1/2 day tour and it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

liked our guide, would like to have had more info on the full day tour as that would had suited at least 2 of us mush more

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great. The crew were very friendly and helpful. The first location is was supposed to be self snorkeling, but one of the crew jumped in the water with me and one other girl. He pointed out many things I wouldn't have known and brought some up to touch. Made it a fantastic day!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. A must-do for any LOTR fans. We visited various spots where the trilogy was filmed, but only drove by some. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and did a great job. I recommend for the real fanatics only, because if you're only half a fan and expecting to see what you saw in the movies, you'll be disappointed. To be practical, one wouldn't really expect them to keep all the movie props exactly and permanently as they are, would they?

That aside, the lunch was awesome too, with a nice LOTR-themed menu. But oh, regarding that souvenir map mentioned in this tour's description? Don't count on it. I never got one.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing and so was my guide Michael. We went to heaps of locations and he gave us lots of information regarding The Lord Of The Rings, and to go to weta workshop as well was amazing. To top it all off you get to go somewhere special at the end. It's after your main tour around Wellington and weta workshop that you go to an iconic place, but I'll let you figure it out what it is. So do the tour!

Thank you very much!

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had the best tour guide!! Chewy, here's to you, Sir.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an amazing tour! The guide was so friendly and informative and we saw so much. The lunch was great too-a great chance to sit down and meet new people from all over the world!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I am a pretty hardcore LotR fan and I really enjoyed this tour. I learned a lot and you get to see multiple locations. I would even go on that tour again. It's a nice tour even if you haven't seen the movies. Good meal! A lot of photo oportunities. Make sure your guide is waiting for you if you plan to do a lot of shopping at the Weta Cave. ;)

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Emma did an excellent job of informing and entertaining us during the fascinating tour of both the LOTR settings and the city and environs of Wellington. She helped our tour group gel and then enabled us to have fun together. She explained some of the processes of film-making, helped us to know a bit more about Peter Jackson and some of the LOTR cast, and through in extra info about various places we passed in Wellington. The lunch was fine, the drive was comfortable, and the logistics all worked well. I'd say it's a must for anyone who goes to Wellington.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time. Our guide was really excited about us seeing all the aspects of the tour. As we toured the sights where they shot scenes, Mike (our guide) showed the scenes on his iPad and pointed out exactly what part we were looking at and what elements of the scene were digitally added or shot somewhere else. I don't know if that's standard on these tours but I thought it was great. I felt the best part was Mike's knowledge and excitement about the material. It would be easy to have a guide who just brings you somewhere and shows you the sights, but having someone who obviously enjoys the subject and enjoys what they're doing makes all the difference.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Not a good start. The guy who picks me up were early n being pushy, and starts asking whether i understood english. But once we change transport on the hillside, Jack was marvelous. He is a real LOTR enthusiast. The others on the bus are great sports too.. Overall its a great day, hot and sunny, and with friendly people + LOTR DIE HARD FANS. Great tea time at rivendale. I framed the feather from the garden of Isengard..

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We viewed some former scene in the woods of Mt Victoria and then went over to Weta to see the workshop. The tour guide was knowledgeable and very friendly.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend to any LOTR fan. Enough time spent at each location. Laura, our guide, was knowledgeable and her enthusiasm for LOTR and Wellington sites was obvious. We had 2 kids with us who thoroughly enjoyed it also. Well worth it!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great. Our guide was polite and chatty. His knowledge of all things Tolkien was great. This wasn't just a LotR tour, but a whole Tolkien experience. There was no rushing and the weather was great. I would recommend the whole day tour to everyone.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message