In the first half of the 20th century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle-earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings . In the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yoann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent Tour! Worth doing the full day tour as you go to several major location! Also Leslie was a great tour guide :

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Susanne M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a fabulous day in and around Wellington. Jack was such a knowledgeable and amusing guide resulting in a great day for all.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide, Laura, was very knowledgeable and a true LOTR fan. She had lots of inside information about the filming of the movies and has inspiredf me to come back home and watch them all over again so that I can see the places we visited. Thank you for a fabulous day.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Janelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely loved every minute of this tour. Weta studios was fantastic.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Margie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was awesome! Would love to go back!
Wear appropriate footwear for short trek up Mt. Victoria.
Cameras are not allowed inside the Weta studio itself.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Vincent L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Well organized, interresting guides.
Visiting Weta studio was my favorite part of the tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Catherine A C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great fun. The 2 tour guides made the trip really interesting with all the stories about the making of the film.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Lacey

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was really good. Jack was very knowledgeable about all things Tolkien and the views were great. Wish that we got to go to the actual Weta Cave instead of the Weta Museum though.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

caroline1176

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour guide was friendly and had a wide variety of knowledge about the tour.
Weta workshop guide was also knowledgeable

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

POLLYANNA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour guide. Excellent knowledge of the movies and history

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Andrew N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A definite must if you're a huge Lord of the Rings fan. A nice thing to go on if you just enjoyed the book/movie. A cool intellectual trip if you are interested in how movies are made WETA workshop.

It was an overall fun experience. The sights were pretty great, the lunch was fantastic but small, only if you get the prawns, and the tour guide, Jack, was extremely funny and entertaining if you don't mind the constant commentary.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Shirley m

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Hi, our driver was very efficient and friendly. He was very informative. I found it difficult at times to hear or see the items our tour guide at WETA was showing us as we had a few tall people who always seemed to stand in the front. I was also hoping to see people actually working on projects, but that did not eventuate. My grandson however loved it.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Sandy

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Tour was filled with people that were very kowlegeable about the tiniest details of Lord of the Rings. I felt out of my element,. None of the actual parts of the movie were still there,. For example, we just went and saw a tree in the woods which was used in the movie. Tour of studio was not much different than Universal Studio or Disney World. Very good lunch along the sea. Good information on how important Peter Jackson and the films has increased New Zealand tourism

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Corrye S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved every minute of it. The weather was wonderful. Our tour guide was hilarious, energetic, enthusiastic, well informed. Came home and immediately bought the extended versions of the trilogy. It is a must tour for LOTR fans. The full day tour was well worth the time and price.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

JC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aweesome experience and fun, highly recommend it.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Marina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is one of the best tours I ever have done. Craig our guide was really well informed and loved his subject. The staff at Weta Studios who truly love their job were amazing, a very talented group.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great to see some of the places where fixing occurred. The Weta Workshop tour was also fabulous. Craig was really knowledgeable, friendly and a expert guide.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Katharine I

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed and a very knowledgable guide. Was great to see film clips of everywhere we went too. Highlight was definitely the Weka Caves studio though - was amazing! And LOTR geeks should do this!
Lunch was really good too!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Ken A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Did the half day tour. Really enjoyed it. If we would had more time would have done the full day one as well.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

zorro

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a pretty good tour. The guide Laura was great and informative. She took us to few of the places were some of the Lord of the Rings scenes were shot and showed photos of the film scenes so we could relate to the different scenes.
The Weta workshop tour was very informative and fun, but they only show you a very small area.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Oliver Andre K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much. Would do the full day tour next time.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

To Kei W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Jack the tour guide makes this trip what it is. You can buy a book telling you the locations, but it is the stories behind it provided by Jack that makes this tour worth going on.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Christine W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A great tour. Our guide Was fantastic, and very knowledgable. will definitely be recommending it to our friends how are travelling to Wellington next year

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Keryn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide Jack who was very passionate and knowledgable about Lord of the Rings. I thoroughly enjoyed tour but maybe it would only get a 4 star rating if you weren't a Lord of the Rings fan

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message