In the first half of the 20th century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle-earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings . In the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

liked our guide, would like to have had more info on the full day tour as that would had suited at least 2 of us mush more

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great. The crew were very friendly and helpful. The first location is was supposed to be self snorkeling, but one of the crew jumped in the water with me and one other girl. He pointed out many things I wouldn't have known and brought some up to touch. Made it a fantastic day!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. A must-do for any LOTR fans. We visited various spots where the trilogy was filmed, but only drove by some. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and did a great job. I recommend for the real fanatics only, because if you're only half a fan and expecting to see what you saw in the movies, you'll be disappointed. To be practical, one wouldn't really expect them to keep all the movie props exactly and permanently as they are, would they?

That aside, the lunch was awesome too, with a nice LOTR-themed menu. But oh, regarding that souvenir map mentioned in this tour's description? Don't count on it. I never got one.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing and so was my guide Michael. We went to heaps of locations and he gave us lots of information regarding The Lord Of The Rings, and to go to weta workshop as well was amazing. To top it all off you get to go somewhere special at the end. It's after your main tour around Wellington and weta workshop that you go to an iconic place, but I'll let you figure it out what it is. So do the tour!

Thank you very much!

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had the best tour guide!! Chewy, here's to you, Sir.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an amazing tour! The guide was so friendly and informative and we saw so much. The lunch was great too-a great chance to sit down and meet new people from all over the world!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I am a pretty hardcore LotR fan and I really enjoyed this tour. I learned a lot and you get to see multiple locations. I would even go on that tour again. It's a nice tour even if you haven't seen the movies. Good meal! A lot of photo oportunities. Make sure your guide is waiting for you if you plan to do a lot of shopping at the Weta Cave. ;)

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Emma did an excellent job of informing and entertaining us during the fascinating tour of both the LOTR settings and the city and environs of Wellington. She helped our tour group gel and then enabled us to have fun together. She explained some of the processes of film-making, helped us to know a bit more about Peter Jackson and some of the LOTR cast, and through in extra info about various places we passed in Wellington. The lunch was fine, the drive was comfortable, and the logistics all worked well. I'd say it's a must for anyone who goes to Wellington.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time. Our guide was really excited about us seeing all the aspects of the tour. As we toured the sights where they shot scenes, Mike (our guide) showed the scenes on his iPad and pointed out exactly what part we were looking at and what elements of the scene were digitally added or shot somewhere else. I don't know if that's standard on these tours but I thought it was great. I felt the best part was Mike's knowledge and excitement about the material. It would be easy to have a guide who just brings you somewhere and shows you the sights, but having someone who obviously enjoys the subject and enjoys what they're doing makes all the difference.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Not a good start. The guy who picks me up were early n being pushy, and starts asking whether i understood english. But once we change transport on the hillside, Jack was marvelous. He is a real LOTR enthusiast. The others on the bus are great sports too.. Overall its a great day, hot and sunny, and with friendly people + LOTR DIE HARD FANS. Great tea time at rivendale. I framed the feather from the garden of Isengard..

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We viewed some former scene in the woods of Mt Victoria and then went over to Weta to see the workshop. The tour guide was knowledgeable and very friendly.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend to any LOTR fan. Enough time spent at each location. Laura, our guide, was knowledgeable and her enthusiasm for LOTR and Wellington sites was obvious. We had 2 kids with us who thoroughly enjoyed it also. Well worth it!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great. Our guide was polite and chatty. His knowledge of all things Tolkien was great. This wasn't just a LotR tour, but a whole Tolkien experience. There was no rushing and the weather was great. I would recommend the whole day tour to everyone.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Overall the tour was really good and worth every dollar and the tour guide was very enthusiastic.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We had an excellent day, tour was very interesting and fun, our guide was very helpful and friendly couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for making our trip to NZ welcoming and enjoyable.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

The tour was supposed to be 4 hours with 6 people, 2 for 4 ours, 10 for 8. It was 3 hours with 12. No snack nor tea, was provided.
Had to wait for last person to arrive. (not tour fault) Attractions or film sites OK. Needed to imagine the scenes. Didn't go to Mt. Victoria lookout as mentioned in description. Was NOT worth the money spent as description did not match experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The experience was amazing, the tour guides were very well presented and very informative , my children loved the whole experience and didn't complain once. NZ was breathtaking and will definitely be going back and doing this tour again. Thank you heaps for making the trip a memorable experience.

MJ Sydney

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nathan (he was an elf!) was so nice and so much fun. We only had the half day tour in Wellingotn which is really beautiful. I wish we could have taken the whole day tour. Weta workshop is cool but they should make it bigger to see more of the props from the movies. I think they are working on it.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a great tour! Great for LOTR fans, and for those who havent seen the movies can still appreciate the camera angles, attention to detail in the scenes, stories of the actors off screen adventures, and the genius of the Weta Workshop anyway. Its a lovely drive around the Wellington area and includes a beautiful lunch as well. Laura was good fun and a terrific guide. Very highly recommended!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Was very expensive for what it was. Could use more modern technology to enhance the experience, e.g. short video clips from the movie. Felt like we could have seen one or two more locations within the time allotted considering they appeared to be on the way.
Was promised afternoon tea as advertised on the web-page, but did not deliver.
Tour guide was good, knowledgeable, but yes felt like we could have got more out of it for spending 170 and all they did was drive us to locations, a little petrol etc and cans of soft drink.
It was definitely better than if we had gone to those locations on our own, but maybe considering the cost it would have been justifiable to do that instead. Car was comfy

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very well organised and informative guide was extremely friendly and kept whole group engaged good value and great day out

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour guide was too editorial and off track; tour wasn't substantial enough.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative, maybe more content and less photo ops.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message