In the first half of the 20th century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle-earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings . In the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The experience was amazing, the tour guides were very well presented and very informative , my children loved the whole experience and didn't complain once. NZ was breathtaking and will definitely be going back and doing this tour again. Thank you heaps for making the trip a memorable experience.

MJ Sydney

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nathan (he was an elf!) was so nice and so much fun. We only had the half day tour in Wellingotn which is really beautiful. I wish we could have taken the whole day tour. Weta workshop is cool but they should make it bigger to see more of the props from the movies. I think they are working on it.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a great tour! Great for LOTR fans, and for those who havent seen the movies can still appreciate the camera angles, attention to detail in the scenes, stories of the actors off screen adventures, and the genius of the Weta Workshop anyway. Its a lovely drive around the Wellington area and includes a beautiful lunch as well. Laura was good fun and a terrific guide. Very highly recommended!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Was very expensive for what it was. Could use more modern technology to enhance the experience, e.g. short video clips from the movie. Felt like we could have seen one or two more locations within the time allotted considering they appeared to be on the way.
Was promised afternoon tea as advertised on the web-page, but did not deliver.
Tour guide was good, knowledgeable, but yes felt like we could have got more out of it for spending 170 and all they did was drive us to locations, a little petrol etc and cans of soft drink.
It was definitely better than if we had gone to those locations on our own, but maybe considering the cost it would have been justifiable to do that instead. Car was comfy

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very well organised and informative guide was extremely friendly and kept whole group engaged good value and great day out

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour guide was too editorial and off track; tour wasn't substantial enough.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative, maybe more content and less photo ops.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

VERY DISAPPOINTING - GUIDE TALKED TOO MUCH ABOUT TRIVIA NOT ASSOCIATED WITH 'LORD OF THE RINGS'

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From pickup at the ship to the return trip the half day tour was full of facts and information from out knowledgeable tour guide. Visiting sites where the Lord of the Rings was filmed was amazing and our tour guide showed us film clips of the actual sites. Wetta Studios was also a very impressive place to visit.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Emma,was wonderful. Although our ship was late docking, Viator provided us with our own tour. We had an excellent time and Emma was very knowledgable and helpful. We would definitely use Viator again and would recommend them to our friends.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was fantastic! We had a blast with the others in our small group and Paul was such a great guide and full of knowledge about Wellington and all the movie goss :) highly recommend this tour. Naomi and Harley

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great!!! pity I should've get the full day tour which includes a tour to Rivendell.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very passionate about LOTR. The tour was excellent.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Rmain4
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Since there were so many set locations for The Lord of the Rings we were only taken to one on this tour and we were a little disappointed. H
However, the tour guides were very knowledgeable and did a great job explaining what scenes were filmed in the forest we toured. The tour of the WETA Studio was great as were the views of the city.
Overall we had a great day. Suggest taking the full day tour if you are looking to see more sets and scenery from the movie. Kudos to Viator for making all of our tours in New Zealand and Australia very enjoyable and worry free.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message