In the first half of the 20th century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle-earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings . In the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 212 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is well organized, thoughtfully presented, not hurried and FUN!!
Our guide not only presented the movie locations but told many related anecdotal stories as well as general information about the toured areas. Very worthwhile!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Nicole S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed this trip very much, a superb day out if your time in Auckland is limited and you want to see as many things as possible in a short time. The picnic lunch was lovely, very good quality which is not always the case on tours!.
Good mixture of outdoor and indoor with the Weta workshop visit and the outdoor locations. Would recommend it to fans of the film series, or anybody who is in Aucland for a couple of days and would like to see the nice surrounding scenery.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Peter M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable day's activity in Middle Earth. Brought back a lot of memories.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

fantastic knowledgeable friendly staff, beautiful locations and a great price. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must for any LotRs and Hobbit fans. Great value for money.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Gilbert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Exceeded expectations. Would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was Emma and she was very interesting and informative. I very much enjoyed this tour. As we drove through Wellington to get to our first stop, Emma gave us interesting info about the city. We visited the area where the first part of the Lord of the Rings was filmed and Emma talked about how special effects were filmed and created. Very informative. We visited the studios where not only the Lord of the Rings special effects were created, but also where other special effects, props and studios are used for filming. An interesting tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Marie-Therese B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I was unable to go on the full day tour but I did go on the half day tour which I found very interesting. I especially liked the visit to the Wetta workshop and the map we were given at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Beth S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We saw a few locations in Central Wellington as well as Weta Cave. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

lawsonrl

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The tour was about what we expected EXCEPT that the info on the tour promised a group size of up to six. There were about 16 people in the group. We felt that we paid a premium price for a small group tour, and that was not what we received. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

Yoann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent Tour! Worth doing the full day tour as you go to several major location! Also Leslie was a great tour guide :

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

RickFlem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. Chewie, our guide, was very knowledgable and entertaining. Saw many great LOTR sites, as well as great scenery. I would recommend the full day you, much more to see.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Veryafraid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour. Nathan our guide was perfect in every way. I posted a much more detailed review but the site asked me to login again and I lost it so this time I will be brief!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Carol J

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour was interesting, but not exactly what I thought it would be.
I would have enjoyed more stops to see where they filmed and more stories.
Driving through the city was interesting.
I wasn't expecting that we would be hiking down and up a hillside so I opted to stay at the top so I missed whatever was being said. That's my fault, not the tour's.
The stop at the Weta studio was informative and the movie they showed us was excellent.
If you are a big Lord of the Rings fan I think this tour would be enjoyable, I just wanted a little bit more.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Susanne M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a fabulous day in and around Wellington. Jack was such a knowledgeable and amusing guide resulting in a great day for all.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide, Laura, was very knowledgeable and a true LOTR fan. She had lots of inside information about the filming of the movies and has inspiredf me to come back home and watch them all over again so that I can see the places we visited. Thank you for a fabulous day.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Janelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely loved every minute of this tour. Weta studios was fantastic.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Margie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was awesome! Would love to go back!
Wear appropriate footwear for short trek up Mt. Victoria.
Cameras are not allowed inside the Weta studio itself.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Vincent L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Well organized, interresting guides.
Visiting Weta studio was my favorite part of the tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Catherine A C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great fun. The 2 tour guides made the trip really interesting with all the stories about the making of the film.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Lacey

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was really good. Jack was very knowledgeable about all things Tolkien and the views were great. Wish that we got to go to the actual Weta Cave instead of the Weta Museum though.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

caroline1176

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour guide was friendly and had a wide variety of knowledge about the tour.
Weta workshop guide was also knowledgeable

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message