In the first half of the 20th century, an English academic called Tolkien dreamed up a world called Middle-earth, largely based on his childhood in Birmingham, Middle England. The result was the written trilogy, The Lord of the Rings . In the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From pickup at the ship to the return trip the half day tour was full of facts and information from out knowledgeable tour guide. Visiting sites where the Lord of the Rings was filmed was amazing and our tour guide showed us film clips of the actual sites. Wetta Studios was also a very impressive place to visit.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Emma,was wonderful. Although our ship was late docking, Viator provided us with our own tour. We had an excellent time and Emma was very knowledgable and helpful. We would definitely use Viator again and would recommend them to our friends.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was fantastic! We had a blast with the others in our small group and Paul was such a great guide and full of knowledge about Wellington and all the movie goss :) highly recommend this tour. Naomi and Harley

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great!!! pity I should've get the full day tour which includes a tour to Rivendell.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Rmain4
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Since there were so many set locations for The Lord of the Rings we were only taken to one on this tour and we were a little disappointed. H
However, the tour guides were very knowledgeable and did a great job explaining what scenes were filmed in the forest we toured. The tour of the WETA Studio was great as were the views of the city.
Overall we had a great day. Suggest taking the full day tour if you are looking to see more sets and scenery from the movie. Kudos to Viator for making all of our tours in New Zealand and Australia very enjoyable and worry free.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very good tour guide - not as good a tour as I thought but still worth a visit for any LOTR fan! We just did not get as much time to look around WETA as I thought.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Jack our tour guide was fantastic... Very knowledgeable in every thing Lord of the Rings.... Plus some!!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fun tour! Personable tour guide. Enjoyed the behind-the-scenes movie stories and the Weta Studio tour. It ended up being a sunny day and lunch was delicious by the bay.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was terrific. Our tour guide Paul was great fun and very knowledgeable (and drove sensibly!). The tour locations, lunch and whole itinerary were great. And we also learnt heaps about the local area which was a bonus. I would highly recommend this trip. It was also fun to spend the day with other Lord of the Rings fans and muck around taking photos.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Me and my 2 teenage sons did this tour and we all thought it was fantastic. Our guide Jack was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour... we went to some beautiful locations and lunch was great too(we also learnt that Christopher Lee is one of the coolest human beings on the planet!!!.....it's true :) ) Very enjoyable, we would do it all over again.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fun 1/2 day tour, pickup from cruise ship easy, tour guide very entertaining

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day, Jack was fabulous!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a really great time. Jack, our tour guide really knew his stuff. We had a few extra sites thrown in and a wonderful time at the Weta workshops. Recommend to all.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Was an amazing experience, possibly a little pricey for what it was but i would recommend something like this.

Doing what: The Lord of the Rings and Palliser Bay Tour from Wellington

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This is really Zero stars. We were dismayed to find out the tour was not on! Viator took our booking and even sent us a reminder to print our tickets. When I contacted the tour provider he told me that Viator had been informed that Weta studios were closed for the week and the tours were not taking place. Someone, he or Viator, made a big error. As we had planned our brief stay in Wellington around this tour to say we were disappointed is an understatement. I emailed a complaint to Viator and have had no response and no apology. Not good enough!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message