When it comes to countries that care about conservation, New Zealand has got it right. After all, this is a country where nearly 30% of the total land area is protected as some form of parkland, and within that parkland are sensitive species which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kenneth A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very well organised trip and the drivers friendly, helpful and informative. We really appreciated their help when our camera bag was left on a bus and then returned and the asvice that we could fit in two hours at Zealander and then be driven right back to the ship.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

tehmina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you do one thing - do this tour if you visit Wellington. It is memorable, inspirational and very stimulating whether you manage to spot a kiwi or not. I was bowled over by the variety of NZ bush wildlife we heard and saw. In fact just enjoying our night senses was a thoroughly thrilling experience and our guide was fabulous. You will not be disappointed. Do wear good shoes and wrap up, though.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Arthur T S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice people. Followed up when we got off to ensure that we were picked up again.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Roslyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the best hop-on hop-0ff experience we have ever had. The vehicle was small 16 passengers and the driver/tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Gave us ample time at photo stops and very good commentary on the places we saw.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Vicki L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We saw 4 kiwi. I work with a girl from NZ, she hasn't even seen that many in real life! Great experience.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

mike.gordon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Would highly recommend if you want to see Kiwi's. That was what I was going for and it worked out quite well! Saw some other birds and stuff as well but you could also see them during the day I guess. Also got a discount for the day time after doing the tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

robharper_30

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good. Loved the flexibility. It was just enough for me.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful day out for the two of us, but would suit all ages. We would have liked more time to walk the longer trails too. We arrived via the free shuttle from Wellington's I-Centre and arrived in time to join a free guided walk with one of the volunteers. This should not be missed as there is so much information given about preparing the Zealandia site and the ethos behind it. The place was beautiful and it was a joy to see all those birds - some thought extinct and some just not seen in the area for decades. We booked Zealandia on-line and did it while in port on a cruise ship, and it really is easy to get to and from. At the end of the day we were dropped at the top of the funicular but chose to walk straight down via the streets, having been through the beautiful Botanic Gardens numerous times before. I would highly recommend Zealandia to any visitors.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

esrae045

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Super tour. We had a fabulous guide, very knowledgeable. So thrilled to see 4 Kiwi!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Don I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Truly a highlight. I'd recommend this one to everyone.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Joseph W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was good value. The museum had an excellent display of NZ flora and fauna and the walk around the park very interesting.The free shuttle there and back made it an excellent way of understanding NZ

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a wonderful experience. We only met one kiwi but to see one in the wild was amazing! Have already recommended toe trip to several travellers that we have met along the way!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Headwaysalon Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had a very good day

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Kuin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A nice and interesting trip. I didn't allow enough time on this occasion. I will allow more time on the next occasion.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Suz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We loved our visit to Zealandia. There were only a few in our group and the guide was wonderful. We learned about their efforts to preserve the unique species of the island. We saw kiwis in two different areas plus tuatara, Takahe, and many others. Would highly recommend the night tour of the sanctuary.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

kenneth w n

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

very good overview of the city and attractions

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

William P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Good fun great drivers very helpful

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Les Gary R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Had a very pleasant time and the driver was excellent

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Richard R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great evening tour. Saw several birds including a kiwi and glow worms, eels etc. this is a wonderful project for all of NZ.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Catherine V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The vision for Zealandia is superb. I found the introduction and film a trifle long, being keen to get into the valley among the birds. I would liked to have been able to sit down and listen quietly to the sounds of the bush sounds at some point(s). Otherwise it was an amazing experience; after 67 years I saw a kiwi hunting in the wild.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Catherine J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour itself was excellent as was the driver,but the vehicle minibus didn't offer very good views as you couldn't see much. But it was still a good way to have an overview of the city. Both the parliament buildings and the Te Papa museum are a must while in Wellington

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Barbara V

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

A great way to get a feel for the city of Wellington and depending on your driver learn a little bit about the place too! The hop on hop off works a bit different to other cities so much sure you get your head around how it works so you get best value from your trip.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Elizabeth T F USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

a nice tour, but the trip would have been better in a van with windows that were longer. Anything close and I had to bend down in order to see. In some cases the driver told us what we were going to see about the same time as we drove past it and not always slowly. Other times, the sight was not clealy located: On your right..., but WHERE on my right?

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Ray S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was difficult to find the start point and the bus was really a mini bus. The driver was quite informative but overall we were disappointed with the tour, we could have done it ourselves

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

JohnK S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This tour was alright, but not a must do because you can do most everything on your own at your own pace. Wellington is a very cool, walkable and interesting city. This tour seemed rushed and not much opportunity to hop off to explore since hop on times are very limited + it's a small van type bus.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message