When it comes to countries that care about conservation, New Zealand has got it right. After all, this is a country where nearly 30% of the total land area is protected as some form of parkland, and within that parkland are sensitive species which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

karenyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to explain how much I appreciated this tour. The 500-year vision of Zealandia is amazing and I truly hope that they will achieve it. Our guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about what they do and what they believe! Great tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative trip - would recommend

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

bus tour was very good. driver and stops were good, which enable us to get a nice overview of
wellington. his commentary of the sites were very interesting.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Margaret T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with good driver and comentary

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Rosanna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour with an informative commentary. Made the best use of our short stay in Wellington. Booking arrangements worked smoothly. Clear directions to pick up point were appreciated. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Geoffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Unfortunately, my review for Wellington which I had completed at the same time as the review for Dunedin somehow disappeared when I pressed the submit Review button for Dunedin.
We also thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Wellington and the driver / guide was again excellent

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Vivienne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Spend a very enjoyable couple of hours at Zealandia, mostly in Sanctuary Valley. Unfortunately due to time we were unable to spend time in the exhibition. Shuttle Bus is free which is wonderful but unfortunately we just missed one and had to wait an hour for the next. Just make sure you get a timetable when booking so you have lots of time to enjoy this beautiful site.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Stephen E K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Saw all the highlights of Wellington at a great price.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

bknute72 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a beautiful park to walk around and view the birds as well as the forest. We took the cable car up the mountain, then the free shuttle to the park. Spent a couple hours here, could have spent many more exploring all the trails. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Kenneth A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very well organised trip and the drivers friendly, helpful and informative. We really appreciated their help when our camera bag was left on a bus and then returned and the asvice that we could fit in two hours at Zealander and then be driven right back to the ship.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

tehmina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you do one thing - do this tour if you visit Wellington. It is memorable, inspirational and very stimulating whether you manage to spot a kiwi or not. I was bowled over by the variety of NZ bush wildlife we heard and saw. In fact just enjoying our night senses was a thoroughly thrilling experience and our guide was fabulous. You will not be disappointed. Do wear good shoes and wrap up, though.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Arthur T S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice people. Followed up when we got off to ensure that we were picked up again.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Roslyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the best hop-on hop-0ff experience we have ever had. The vehicle was small 16 passengers and the driver/tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Gave us ample time at photo stops and very good commentary on the places we saw.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Vicki L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We saw 4 kiwi. I work with a girl from NZ, she hasn't even seen that many in real life! Great experience.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

mike.gordon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Would highly recommend if you want to see Kiwi's. That was what I was going for and it worked out quite well! Saw some other birds and stuff as well but you could also see them during the day I guess. Also got a discount for the day time after doing the tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

robharper_30

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good. Loved the flexibility. It was just enough for me.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful day out for the two of us, but would suit all ages. We would have liked more time to walk the longer trails too. We arrived via the free shuttle from Wellington's I-Centre and arrived in time to join a free guided walk with one of the volunteers. This should not be missed as there is so much information given about preparing the Zealandia site and the ethos behind it. The place was beautiful and it was a joy to see all those birds - some thought extinct and some just not seen in the area for decades. We booked Zealandia on-line and did it while in port on a cruise ship, and it really is easy to get to and from. At the end of the day we were dropped at the top of the funicular but chose to walk straight down via the streets, having been through the beautiful Botanic Gardens numerous times before. I would highly recommend Zealandia to any visitors.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

esrae045

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Super tour. We had a fabulous guide, very knowledgeable. So thrilled to see 4 Kiwi!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Don I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Truly a highlight. I'd recommend this one to everyone.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Joseph W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was good value. The museum had an excellent display of NZ flora and fauna and the walk around the park very interesting.The free shuttle there and back made it an excellent way of understanding NZ

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a wonderful experience. We only met one kiwi but to see one in the wild was amazing! Have already recommended toe trip to several travellers that we have met along the way!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Headwaysalon Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had a very good day

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Kuin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A nice and interesting trip. I didn't allow enough time on this occasion. I will allow more time on the next occasion.

Doing what: Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Suz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We loved our visit to Zealandia. There were only a few in our group and the guide was wonderful. We learned about their efforts to preserve the unique species of the island. We saw kiwis in two different areas plus tuatara, Takahe, and many others. Would highly recommend the night tour of the sanctuary.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

ginasim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was good and the tour locations was great, for the price it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message