When it comes to countries that care about conservation, New Zealand has got it right. After all, this is a country where nearly 30% of the total land area is protected as some form of parkland, and within that parkland are sensitive species which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful day out for the two of us, but would suit all ages. We would have liked more time to walk the longer trails too. We arrived via the free shuttle from Wellington's I-Centre and arrived in time to join a free guided walk with one of the volunteers. This should not be missed as there is so much information given about preparing the Zealandia site and the ethos behind it. The place was beautiful and it was a joy to see all those birds - some thought extinct and some just not seen in the area for decades. We booked Zealandia on-line and did it while in port on a cruise ship, and it really is easy to get to and from. At the end of the day we were dropped at the top of the funicular but chose to walk straight down via the streets, having been through the beautiful Botanic Gardens numerous times before. I would highly recommend Zealandia to any visitors.

Doing what: ZEALANDIA: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Super tour. We had a fabulous guide, very knowledgeable. So thrilled to see 4 Kiwi!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Truly a highlight. I'd recommend this one to everyone.

Doing what: ZEALANDIA: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

Joseph W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was good value. The museum had an excellent display of NZ flora and fauna and the walk around the park very interesting.The free shuttle there and back made it an excellent way of understanding NZ

Doing what: ZEALANDIA: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a wonderful experience. We only met one kiwi but to see one in the wild was amazing! Have already recommended toe trip to several travellers that we have met along the way!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A nice and interesting trip. I didn't allow enough time on this occasion. I will allow more time on the next occasion.

Doing what: ZEALANDIA: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We loved our visit to Zealandia. There were only a few in our group and the guide was wonderful. We learned about their efforts to preserve the unique species of the island. We saw kiwis in two different areas plus tuatara, Takahe, and many others. Would highly recommend the night tour of the sanctuary.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The vision for Zealandia is superb. I found the introduction and film a trifle long, being keen to get into the valley among the birds. I would liked to have been able to sit down and listen quietly to the sounds of the bush sounds at some point(s). Otherwise it was an amazing experience; after 67 years I saw a kiwi hunting in the wild.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message