Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 388 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Weta Workshop was amazing, tour sites were well organized and interesting.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A good range of wines. The assistant as very knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gave us a good overview of the city

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Lydia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Jack was excellent. Loved all of his insider knowledge about LOTR. The day couldn't have been more perfect. Lunch was at such a fun place and tasted really great.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! Great value, fun and informed guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Tanya C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I've always had great experiences using Viator and this tour was no different. Our tour guide, Rob, was friendly, accommodating and full of interesting little facts about Wellington and New Zealand. If you're short on time and would like to get a nice all-round feel for the city, as well as check out some of the main sights, then this tour would definitely work for you.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

granapearce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to believe there are such talented people in NZ. Awesome tour ,totally worth going

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

karenyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard to explain how much I appreciated this tour. The 500-year vision of Zealandia is amazing and I truly hope that they will achieve it. Our guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about what they do and what they believe! Great tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

ginasim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was good and the tour locations was great, for the price it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

fran h

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Fascinating. Very interesting

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Jenifer H U

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun introduction to Wellington. Our tour guide was enthusiastic and knowledgable. Lunch was at a local restaurant and the food was good. I enjoyed seeing the locations and hearing some of the background of LOTR.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Paul C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Knowledgeable guide Michael/Chewie. Very good lunch. WETA Studio tour duplicated some of gift shop video. Very interesting about prop production.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Rebecca C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with a very knowledgeable guide who had a fantastic sense of humour. Just wish the Weta tour was bigger itself as it would be great to see further areas of the workshop and design spaces.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Mike H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Laura was a very personable, knowledgable tour guide. WE enjoyed it!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Ian M New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and very good helpful guides, from start to finish

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Fay L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

very good guide

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Bob O Mexico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

A good tour which turned out to be very personable since my wife and I were the only ones.
The guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Valmai C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had the most enjoyable tour of Wellington ,our tour guide was incredibly informative and helpful.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really good tour bus driver was lovely and the cable car was great

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

bus tour was very good. driver and stops were good, which enable us to get a nice overview of
wellington. his commentary of the sites were very interesting.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative trip - would recommend

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

PAUKI

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Very knowledgeable guide but we didn't get to visit the Embassy theatre we simply drove past would have liked to have been able to get a shot of the Gandalf statue out front but weren't given the opportunity. Some of the information on the website is misleading making you believe you will see more than you actually do like the photo of the trolls.... this is only at Weta cave which you don't get to visit, again just a drive by, also the sights you get to see from the film are all within about 300m of each other. Having said that, the guides are good and the visit to Weta Workshop t was well worth it

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

David C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The trip was fine when we got on it?

When we booked this trip I advised you of the time we was docking in the port,which we found out after leaving the ship was the same time we was supposed to be at the I centre to catch the tour bus which we was never told about?

I would have thought arrangements could have been made to pick up from the ship?

We had to pay for a bus then to take us to the I centre?

Also to find out where our trip was? we had to phone New Zealand on my cell phone to be told we had missed the morning trip?

Arranged on the afternoon trip but at a cost that we were not aware of?

We feel having told you when the cruise ship was docking and having my e mail address information could have been provided prior to our visit.

Altogether it must have cost a further 25 that we was not aware of?

Very disappointing

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day with our guide Naomi. Our lunch was delicious as well and the sheesh plate after our 4 vineyard visits was a welcome treat!

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Amy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is well organized, thoughtfully presented, not hurried and FUN!!
Our guide not only presented the movie locations but told many related anecdotal stories as well as general information about the toured areas. Very worthwhile!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message