Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dude was great! Did the 1/2 day tour and it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

liked our guide, would like to have had more info on the full day tour as that would had suited at least 2 of us mush more

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was difficult to find the start point and the bus was really a mini bus. The driver was quite informative but overall we were disappointed with the tour, we could have done it ourselves

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great. The crew were very friendly and helpful. The first location is was supposed to be self snorkeling, but one of the crew jumped in the water with me and one other girl. He pointed out many things I wouldn't have known and brought some up to touch. Made it a fantastic day!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Naomi was fantastic. There were only 5 of us on the trip but all gelled really well. The tour of the vineyards was very informative and interesting. And the lunch was delightful.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were met by our guide at the indicated location. He knew the name of the reservation and called it out. He was personable and knowledgeable about the area through which we traveled. We had an excellent experience at WETA Cave, and our guide offered to return us to our ship directly rather than to the downtown travel center where we had met him. In addition he gave us a different route back so that we saw more and learned more about the city. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Would highly recommend if you want to see Kiwi's. That was what I was going for and it worked out quite well! Saw some other birds and stuff as well but you could also see them during the day I guess. Also got a discount for the day time after doing the tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A great day - excellent tour guide and very friendly

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. A must-do for any LOTR fans. We visited various spots where the trilogy was filmed, but only drove by some. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and did a great job. I recommend for the real fanatics only, because if you're only half a fan and expecting to see what you saw in the movies, you'll be disappointed. To be practical, one wouldn't really expect them to keep all the movie props exactly and permanently as they are, would they?

That aside, the lunch was awesome too, with a nice LOTR-themed menu. But oh, regarding that souvenir map mentioned in this tour's description? Don't count on it. I never got one.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The guide was great and the scenery was beautiful, but the wine was not that good

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

A great way to get a feel for the city of Wellington and depending on your driver learn a little bit about the place too! The hop on hop off works a bit different to other cities so much sure you get your head around how it works so you get best value from your trip.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing and so was my guide Michael. We went to heaps of locations and he gave us lots of information regarding The Lord Of The Rings, and to go to weta workshop as well was amazing. To top it all off you get to go somewhere special at the end. It's after your main tour around Wellington and weta workshop that you go to an iconic place, but I'll let you figure it out what it is. So do the tour!

Thank you very much!

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had the best tour guide!! Chewy, here's to you, Sir.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great to take the there and back tour as lots of info shared, and keeps the family group together!

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an amazing tour! The guide was so friendly and informative and we saw so much. The lunch was great too-a great chance to sit down and meet new people from all over the world!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I am a pretty hardcore LotR fan and I really enjoyed this tour. I learned a lot and you get to see multiple locations. I would even go on that tour again. It's a nice tour even if you haven't seen the movies. Good meal! A lot of photo oportunities. Make sure your guide is waiting for you if you plan to do a lot of shopping at the Weta Cave. ;)

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Gaye V
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent day out! Very informative with an amazing tour guide.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip to Weta was fantastic, to top it off our tour guide Sorren was so great and pointed out places on the way. He was prompt, polite ,humorous and made the trip so memorable. He is an asset to your company who made sure our party got the most out of the visit.
Kind regards Janice.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great fun for any movie lover !! Takes you through the workshop area to see how all those special effects work and how the props are made . Our guide Kimmy was also worked in the workshop do she really knew her stuff !!

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour was amazing and so was our guide Mike. He was knowledgeable, pleasant and an overall great tour guide. The sights were amazing and the who.e day was great...well worth the money. I wpould highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Seal Colony and Wellington City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative and fascinating tour.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely day with excellent lunch. Tour guide (think her name. Was Karen _ part time lady) was absolutely lovely and good company with mindful discretion when we were at vinyards.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Emma did an excellent job of informing and entertaining us during the fascinating tour of both the LOTR settings and the city and environs of Wellington. She helped our tour group gel and then enabled us to have fun together. She explained some of the processes of film-making, helped us to know a bit more about Peter Jackson and some of the LOTR cast, and through in extra info about various places we passed in Wellington. The lunch was fine, the drive was comfortable, and the logistics all worked well. I'd say it's a must for anyone who goes to Wellington.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good. Loved the flexibility. It was just enough for me.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message