Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

this was a great experience and well recommended to see

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

this was a great place to visit but we didn't think much about the tour

Doing what: Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Jack knew everything Lord of the Rings related! He was really informative and funny, we also had the good luck to meet some of the team from Weta at the Rivendell site and as our guide knew them they told us stories too!
Really great day!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is superb! Our tour guide Chewie was very informative. The views at some of the stops were amazing. Would definitely recommend this tour :)

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

great tour guide and shuttle bus driver . well worth doing

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A great trip and excellent driver. Went out of her way to show us as much as possible. I would definately recommend this tour

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I booked the tour and received several emails confirming my booking, but when I got off the train in Featherston to begin my tour there was no one there to pick me up. I had to borrow another tour operator's phone and I called with my confirmation in hand and was told that the tour company had no one booked and that if I was by myself Viator should have contacted me and told me the company does not operate tours for only one person. Very disappointing experience to say the least.

Doing what: Best Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was great! Our tour-guide, Jack, was super informative and friendly. He made really good lame jokes too. And I liked that it all felt really informal, not so much like an official tour but hanging out with friends all excited about the same thing - Lord of the Rings. Definitely one of the highlights of my trip.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A cracking tour. Was picked up on time and dropped off at a different destination which was ideal. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and was friendly enough to take some snaps from my own camera for me. The Weta workshop is brilliant. The guide there was funny and again knew her stuff. The only negative was that we couldn't take photos inside the workshop

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It was a decent tour and the guide was very friendly and enthusiastic. I took the full-day tour expecting to see more sites, but ended up not seeing more. Rather we listened to guide talk more at each one which is not my style. Feel like the time could have been more efficiently spent.

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Naomi was wonderful. She was so informative and delightful. A must do for a day from Wellington

Doing what: Best Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a ball. We were the only 2 people on the tour so get special attention and even experienced an earthquake!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very informative, so nobody had to ask questions. This was well worth seeing and have told other friends to do the tour

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We saw 4 kiwi. I work with a girl from NZ, she hasn't even seen that many in real life! Great experience.

Doing what: Best Zealandia by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an awesome tour. Our tour guide Mike was absolutely amazing. He took us all around Wellington. His knowledge of the area is expert.

Doing what: Small-Group Seal Colony and Wellington City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good experience, helpful and courteous tour guide.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour that included a stop on a hill overlooking the city, a short walking tour of a local forest where some scenes from the Lord of the Rings were filmed, and a guided tour of the Weta Studio which included many of the props used in the movies.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I went on this tour in late March. I rode the train out of Wellington to Featherston where our group was picked up by the guide. The drive to Martinborough was kind of long but I enjoed seeing some of the countryside after most of trip was on the south Island and in Wellington proper. We visited 4 or 5 vineyards from the fairly large commercial ones to quite small ones. There are many vineyards in the area and the selection seemed sort of random but more than adequate. I encountered the usual problem I have with these trips is that I decide after the fact that I preferred a wine at one of the earlier stops but it was too late. Not the tours fault, just the nature of the beast. The guide was friendly and kept the group engaged.

BTW, the lunch is described as 'gourmet' and, to be honest, my expectations were not nearly that high. However, it really was amazingly good and the afternoon snack was equally pleasant and enjoyable. Overall, the trip was well worth the time and cost. I would do it again.

Doing what: Best Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dude was great! Did the 1/2 day tour and it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

liked our guide, would like to have had more info on the full day tour as that would had suited at least 2 of us mush more

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was difficult to find the start point and the bus was really a mini bus. The driver was quite informative but overall we were disappointed with the tour, we could have done it ourselves

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great. The crew were very friendly and helpful. The first location is was supposed to be self snorkeling, but one of the crew jumped in the water with me and one other girl. He pointed out many things I wouldn't have known and brought some up to touch. Made it a fantastic day!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Naomi was fantastic. There were only 5 of us on the trip but all gelled really well. The tour of the vineyards was very informative and interesting. And the lunch was delightful.

Doing what: Best Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message