Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 205 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Naomi was wonderful. She was so informative and delightful. A must do for a day from Wellington

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a ball. We were the only 2 people on the tour so get special attention and even experienced an earthquake!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very informative, so nobody had to ask questions. This was well worth seeing and have told other friends to do the tour

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We saw 4 kiwi. I work with a girl from NZ, she hasn't even seen that many in real life! Great experience.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an awesome tour. Our tour guide Mike was absolutely amazing. He took us all around Wellington. His knowledge of the area is expert.

Doing what: Small-Group Seal Colony and Wellington City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good experience, helpful and courteous tour guide.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour that included a stop on a hill overlooking the city, a short walking tour of a local forest where some scenes from the Lord of the Rings were filmed, and a guided tour of the Weta Studio which included many of the props used in the movies.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I went on this tour in late March. I rode the train out of Wellington to Featherston where our group was picked up by the guide. The drive to Martinborough was kind of long but I enjoed seeing some of the countryside after most of trip was on the south Island and in Wellington proper. We visited 4 or 5 vineyards from the fairly large commercial ones to quite small ones. There are many vineyards in the area and the selection seemed sort of random but more than adequate. I encountered the usual problem I have with these trips is that I decide after the fact that I preferred a wine at one of the earlier stops but it was too late. Not the tours fault, just the nature of the beast. The guide was friendly and kept the group engaged.

BTW, the lunch is described as 'gourmet' and, to be honest, my expectations were not nearly that high. However, it really was amazingly good and the afternoon snack was equally pleasant and enjoyable. Overall, the trip was well worth the time and cost. I would do it again.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dude was great! Did the 1/2 day tour and it was worth it.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

liked our guide, would like to have had more info on the full day tour as that would had suited at least 2 of us mush more

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was difficult to find the start point and the bus was really a mini bus. The driver was quite informative but overall we were disappointed with the tour, we could have done it ourselves

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great. The crew were very friendly and helpful. The first location is was supposed to be self snorkeling, but one of the crew jumped in the water with me and one other girl. He pointed out many things I wouldn't have known and brought some up to touch. Made it a fantastic day!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Naomi was fantastic. There were only 5 of us on the trip but all gelled really well. The tour of the vineyards was very informative and interesting. And the lunch was delightful.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were met by our guide at the indicated location. He knew the name of the reservation and called it out. He was personable and knowledgeable about the area through which we traveled. We had an excellent experience at WETA Cave, and our guide offered to return us to our ship directly rather than to the downtown travel center where we had met him. In addition he gave us a different route back so that we saw more and learned more about the city. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Would highly recommend if you want to see Kiwi's. That was what I was going for and it worked out quite well! Saw some other birds and stuff as well but you could also see them during the day I guess. Also got a discount for the day time after doing the tour!

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A great day - excellent tour guide and very friendly

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. A must-do for any LOTR fans. We visited various spots where the trilogy was filmed, but only drove by some. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and did a great job. I recommend for the real fanatics only, because if you're only half a fan and expecting to see what you saw in the movies, you'll be disappointed. To be practical, one wouldn't really expect them to keep all the movie props exactly and permanently as they are, would they?

That aside, the lunch was awesome too, with a nice LOTR-themed menu. But oh, regarding that souvenir map mentioned in this tour's description? Don't count on it. I never got one.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The guide was great and the scenery was beautiful, but the wine was not that good

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

A great way to get a feel for the city of Wellington and depending on your driver learn a little bit about the place too! The hop on hop off works a bit different to other cities so much sure you get your head around how it works so you get best value from your trip.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing and so was my guide Michael. We went to heaps of locations and he gave us lots of information regarding The Lord Of The Rings, and to go to weta workshop as well was amazing. To top it all off you get to go somewhere special at the end. It's after your main tour around Wellington and weta workshop that you go to an iconic place, but I'll let you figure it out what it is. So do the tour!

Thank you very much!

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had the best tour guide!! Chewy, here's to you, Sir.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great to take the there and back tour as lots of info shared, and keeps the family group together!

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an amazing tour! The guide was so friendly and informative and we saw so much. The lunch was great too-a great chance to sit down and meet new people from all over the world!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I am a pretty hardcore LotR fan and I really enjoyed this tour. I learned a lot and you get to see multiple locations. I would even go on that tour again. It's a nice tour even if you haven't seen the movies. Good meal! A lot of photo oportunities. Make sure your guide is waiting for you if you plan to do a lot of shopping at the Weta Cave. ;)

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message