Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Jack our tour guide was fantastic... Very knowledgeable in every thing Lord of the Rings.... Plus some!!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fun tour! Personable tour guide. Enjoyed the behind-the-scenes movie stories and the Weta Studio tour. It ended up being a sunny day and lunch was delicious by the bay.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was terrific. Our tour guide Paul was great fun and very knowledgeable (and drove sensibly!). The tour locations, lunch and whole itinerary were great. And we also learnt heaps about the local area which was a bonus. I would highly recommend this trip. It was also fun to spend the day with other Lord of the Rings fans and muck around taking photos.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Me and my 2 teenage sons did this tour and we all thought it was fantastic. Our guide Jack was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour... we went to some beautiful locations and lunch was great too(we also learnt that Christopher Lee is one of the coolest human beings on the planet!!!.....it's true :) ) Very enjoyable, we would do it all over again.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day, Jack was fabulous!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a really great time. Jack, our tour guide really knew his stuff. We had a few extra sites thrown in and a wonderful time at the Weta workshops. Recommend to all.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This is really Zero stars. We were dismayed to find out the tour was not on! Viator took our booking and even sent us a reminder to print our tickets. When I contacted the tour provider he told me that Viator had been informed that Weta studios were closed for the week and the tours were not taking place. Someone, he or Viator, made a big error. As we had planned our brief stay in Wellington around this tour to say we were disappointed is an understatement. I emailed a complaint to Viator and have had no response and no apology. Not good enough!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great day out seeing the sites of Wellington featured in the LOTR. The weta studios was excellent and the guides are good fun!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Laura was amazing and we had lots of fun as a family of 4 (with older children who are harder to please). The lunch was at a great location and the entire tour was great despite the intermittent rain.
I must add that the tour hotline was quick and helpful, especially for tourists who need to call them early in the day to confirm their booking and location. :D

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

very good day, guide was a bit too detailed about his experiences and we got back about 6.00pm; tour was great but time could have been better managed.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Thankyou for a great day out full of behind the sceens information and interesting facts about the movies. Laura was an entertaining and knowledgable guide who made the day fun and the mood light and friendly. Plenty of photo opportunities throughout the day, and lunch was beautiful. The Weta studio was amazing and unforgettable.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great experience. Know a lot about the way the have the film shoot. Which part is real and which part is CG. Good walk around the woods too. Nice view and scenery. Fresh air. Love it!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message