Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very good tour guide - not as good a tour as I thought but still worth a visit for any LOTR fan! We just did not get as much time to look around WETA as I thought.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Jack our tour guide was fantastic... Very knowledgeable in every thing Lord of the Rings.... Plus some!!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fun tour! Personable tour guide. Enjoyed the behind-the-scenes movie stories and the Weta Studio tour. It ended up being a sunny day and lunch was delicious by the bay.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was terrific. Our tour guide Paul was great fun and very knowledgeable (and drove sensibly!). The tour locations, lunch and whole itinerary were great. And we also learnt heaps about the local area which was a bonus. I would highly recommend this trip. It was also fun to spend the day with other Lord of the Rings fans and muck around taking photos.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was great .... the guide was informative and very hilarious!!

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Me and my 2 teenage sons did this tour and we all thought it was fantastic. Our guide Jack was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour... we went to some beautiful locations and lunch was great too(we also learnt that Christopher Lee is one of the coolest human beings on the planet!!!.....it's true :) ) Very enjoyable, we would do it all over again.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fun 1/2 day tour, pickup from cruise ship easy, tour guide very entertaining

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day, Jack was fabulous!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable tour with our excellent guide John piloting a very comfortable Land Rover. John provided many highlights with his history of the area, views of the Kapiti coach, morning tea at Ruth Pretty's, Nga Manu Nature Reserve (birds), Beach Cafe for Fish and Chips and the Southward Museum of Cars being standouts.

Doing what: Kapiti Gold Coast Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour and tour guide. We throughly enjoed the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Seal Colony and Wellington City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a really great time. Jack, our tour guide really knew his stuff. We had a few extra sites thrown in and a wonderful time at the Weta workshops. Recommend to all.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This is really Zero stars. We were dismayed to find out the tour was not on! Viator took our booking and even sent us a reminder to print our tickets. When I contacted the tour provider he told me that Viator had been informed that Weta studios were closed for the week and the tours were not taking place. Someone, he or Viator, made a big error. As we had planned our brief stay in Wellington around this tour to say we were disappointed is an understatement. I emailed a complaint to Viator and have had no response and no apology. Not good enough!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My tour guide was wonderful, lunch was delicious and the wineries were beautiful.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great day out seeing the sites of Wellington featured in the LOTR. The weta studios was excellent and the guides are good fun!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Laura was amazing and we had lots of fun as a family of 4 (with older children who are harder to please). The lunch was at a great location and the entire tour was great despite the intermittent rain.
I must add that the tour hotline was quick and helpful, especially for tourists who need to call them early in the day to confirm their booking and location. :D

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message