Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 290 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

raymond b M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

a great way to see everthing

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Yoann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent Tour! Worth doing the full day tour as you go to several major location! Also Leslie was a great tour guide :

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really great trip, our tour leader was very informative and really friendly, thank you Michael! I am not even a Lord of the Rings fan but found it really interesting, the girl at the studio who showed us around was great too, would thoroughly recommend it, thanks

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well organized tour! We actually saw more than was advertised.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

happyhollow

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour well worth the trip

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

kenneth w n

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

very good overview of the city and attractions

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

George K New Caledonia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, Naomi the guide was great - very knowledgeable. Wines and food were very good! Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

From the pick up in Central Wellington to the tour to the return trip, my family had the most fantastic experience. The knowledge of all the people the met, driver included, made it fascinating and memorable. A huge thank you to the team for the ease of booking and the experience.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Susanne M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a fabulous day in and around Wellington. Jack was such a knowledgeable and amusing guide resulting in a great day for all.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Michael N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very very good. I have seen Wellington in a new light and love it. On previous visit did not get the opportunity to see the lovely beaches, older part of city etc. I would recommend anyone who only has a few days in Wellington to do this trip. Anyone who is staying longer would also enjoy the information provided by your excellent tour guide. A 'Must Do' on my list for New Zealand.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

tehmina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you do one thing - do this tour if you visit Wellington. It is memorable, inspirational and very stimulating whether you manage to spot a kiwi or not. I was bowled over by the variety of NZ bush wildlife we heard and saw. In fact just enjoying our night senses was a thoroughly thrilling experience and our guide was fabulous. You will not be disappointed. Do wear good shoes and wrap up, though.

Doing what: Zealandia by Night Tour

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide, Laura, was very knowledgeable and a true LOTR fan. She had lots of inside information about the filming of the movies and has inspiredf me to come back home and watch them all over again so that I can see the places we visited. Thank you for a fabulous day.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Sue F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour. Informative driver. All ran to schedule. Driver gave helpful advice about a further tour and even dropped me off so I wouldn't have so far to walk to my next destination . Weta cave and workshop were fantastic...saw all sorts of characters and weapons etc from a wide variety of movies...thrilling.

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable and picturesque tour

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Gregory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

great trip around the sights of Wellington weather was prefect and Rob driver done a great job. thanks

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour, very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Janelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely loved every minute of this tour. Weta studios was fantastic.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Geoffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was fantastic and he was able to give us all a memorable tour even though the weather was against him. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Kenneth A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very well organised trip and the drivers friendly, helpful and informative. We really appreciated their help when our camera bag was left on a bus and then returned and the asvice that we could fit in two hours at Zealander and then be driven right back to the ship.

Doing what: Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour

Lynette K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This again had easy to follow instructions and a great guide was waiting to greet us. Loved the Weta Cave tour so interesting and the people were very friendly and informative we had a great day. thanks Lynette

Doing what: Weta Cave Workshop Tour

Margie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was awesome! Would love to go back!
Wear appropriate footwear for short trek up Mt. Victoria.
Cameras are not allowed inside the Weta studio itself.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Robert M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Wellington is a beautiful city, we took the city tour and really enjoyed the Botanical gardens where we had the best cup of tea. A short ride to the vernacular, beautiful views from the top.. Ride was great met our driver back at the bottom. Drove out to Mt. Victoria for amazing views the drive took us past the rugged coastline. We were dropped off at the museum. Great trip well worth it, with a very helpful driver, thanks. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Unfortunately, before I left home I did not receive a reply to my enquiry about where to meet the tour.
When my group disembarked we caught a taxi, the taxi driver took us to the lookout of the cable car,there was chaos at the cable car as it felt like every passenger from the cruise ship was there waiting to go on at the bottom,we asked an attendant where we should meet the tour and was advised to go to the iSight!
By the time we walked there we missed our tour by 10 - 15 minutes, luckily the manager arranged us to go on the 2 pm tour.
The female guide we had was passionate about her work and Wellington sights which made it very enjoyable after the rocky start to our day in Wellington!

Doing what: Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour

Note from Viator: Dear sir madam, the meeting point is indicated on your voucher. If the voucher was not looked at or printed you would have not seen the departure point as follows
Directions Wellington i-SITE Centre Corner Victoria and Wakefield Streets
thank you for your comment

Vincent L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Well organized, interresting guides.
Visiting Weta studio was my favorite part of the tour.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Catherine A C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great fun. The 2 tour guides made the trip really interesting with all the stories about the making of the film.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message