Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Laura was amazing and we had lots of fun as a family of 4 (with older children who are harder to please). The lunch was at a great location and the entire tour was great despite the intermittent rain.
I must add that the tour hotline was quick and helpful, especially for tourists who need to call them early in the day to confirm their booking and location. :D

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

very good day, guide was a bit too detailed about his experiences and we got back about 6.00pm; tour was great but time could have been better managed.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Thankyou for a great day out full of behind the sceens information and interesting facts about the movies. Laura was an entertaining and knowledgable guide who made the day fun and the mood light and friendly. Plenty of photo opportunities throughout the day, and lunch was beautiful. The Weta studio was amazing and unforgettable.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great experience. Know a lot about the way the have the film shoot. Which part is real and which part is CG. Good walk around the woods too. Nice view and scenery. Fresh air. Love it!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was without a doubt the best guided tour we have been on. Extremely week organized, very knowledgeable and our guide was brilliant. This tour us well work the money and well worth a Trip to Wellington just to experience it. Being fans of the LotR and The Hobbit, we knew it was going to be good, but even then it blew away all our expectations.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Unfortunately our booking in this one was cancelled but we were accommodated on the half day tour the next day so this rating is really for the half day tour. We weren't hassled about losing access to the full day trip as we went into the sites further out of town with a friend on another day. The refund of balance of the booking as result of the cancellation was handled well by Viator. Thanks.
The half day trip was just what we wanted - lots of fun if you wanted to get involved in the action. The WETA tour was tops. Loved mucking around 'collecting mushrooms' and the like and then 'getting off the road'.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great friendly guide. Great lunch too!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Laura was a great tour guide, extremely knowledgable and able to answer every question we fired at her. The tour covers a number of areas in and around Wellington allowing us to get a great insight of the area. Lunch was also in a great spot with very yummy food. I can highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had an entertaining and knowledgeable tour guide. It was fascinating, and we had a great time. The outdoor views were beautiful, and the WETA tour was both fun and informative.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our Helipro Flight was amazing. The weather was unusually perfect for wellington. I got to ride in the front for the first half so I have lots of great pictures. We saw some seals when we landed. On the way back I was in the middle back but still had great views. You need to be by the door to take photos. Just ask before you book what happens if the weather is bad and they don't fly.

Doing what: South Coaster Helicopter Flight from Wellington

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, providing both videos and pictures to help showcase the sites we visited. Lunch was somewhat limited in options but still good and at a wonderful picturesque location. The tour ran a bit long which would've been good to know however the guide did ask to make sure everyone was ok with. Overall, great experience that I highly recommend!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

So much fun!! Our guide was absolutely fantastic!!!! Even though it was raining in the afternoon we all still went exploring and got really great photo ops and time to look around!!! I would do this tour again the next time I'm in New Zealand!!!!!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message