Wellington is at the heart of New Zealand – it’s the southern-most city on the North Island, and the country’s capital. It is compact, wrapped around a beautiful harbor, with those beautiful green hills you expect from New Zealand. Carved by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very well organised and informative guide was extremely friendly and kept whole group engaged good value and great day out

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very nice. Would recommend.

Doing what: Martinborough Wine-Tasting Tour from Wellington

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour guide was too editorial and off track; tour wasn't substantial enough.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative, maybe more content and less photo ops.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

VERY DISAPPOINTING - GUIDE TALKED TOO MUCH ABOUT TRIVIA NOT ASSOCIATED WITH 'LORD OF THE RINGS'

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From pickup at the ship to the return trip the half day tour was full of facts and information from out knowledgeable tour guide. Visiting sites where the Lord of the Rings was filmed was amazing and our tour guide showed us film clips of the actual sites. Wetta Studios was also a very impressive place to visit.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Emma,was wonderful. Although our ship was late docking, Viator provided us with our own tour. We had an excellent time and Emma was very knowledgable and helpful. We would definitely use Viator again and would recommend them to our friends.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was fantastic! We had a blast with the others in our small group and Paul was such a great guide and full of knowledge about Wellington and all the movie goss :) highly recommend this tour. Naomi and Harley

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great!!! pity I should've get the full day tour which includes a tour to Rivendell.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very passionate about LOTR. The tour was excellent.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Rmain4
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Since there were so many set locations for The Lord of the Rings we were only taken to one on this tour and we were a little disappointed. H
However, the tour guides were very knowledgeable and did a great job explaining what scenes were filmed in the forest we toured. The tour of the WETA Studio was great as were the views of the city.
Overall we had a great day. Suggest taking the full day tour if you are looking to see more sets and scenery from the movie. Kudos to Viator for making all of our tours in New Zealand and Australia very enjoyable and worry free.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was good. Was expecting a bit more as what the website describes. Was a bit disappointed that your website shows photos of the hobbit holes yet you don't see them. Think the website needs to be updated.

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Tour guide was very good and no complaints about him at all. Trip was very much overpriced for what was received. Did not find the Middle Earth worth the money as there was very little to see due to nothing being left behind following filming. Hobbiton movie set was a better option for Lord of the Rings fans in our opinion.

Doing what: Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very good tour guide - not as good a tour as I thought but still worth a visit for any LOTR fan! We just did not get as much time to look around WETA as I thought.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message