• USD ($)
  • English

Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta)

While the Big Wild Goose Pagoda - or Dayanta - follows the familiar pagoda format of successive levels diminishing in size the higher they get, this solid stone tower is largely free of the frills associated with such buildings. One of Xian’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josef W
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Ok but only just. Xian hotel "Skytel" great location and 5 star foyer but rooms sub-standard 2 star. Of 3 offered rooms all inadequate, Last "refurbished room" tiny, no refrigerator, airconditioning not working, no door from main room to bathroom all glass with no privacy. 6th Floor and our room smelled of smoking, given can of air freshener for this. Our requests for refrigerator and ice did not eventuate.
Guide late on our arrival (flight 10 min early) Tour varied as History Museum closed Mondays, this is ok but were given approx 30 mins at Big Wild Goose Pagoda, feel we saw nothing. Ancient City Wall a highlight, hired bikes great experience. First dinner poor, two dishes and warm beer at est cost $25AUD, staff laughed at our attempts to use chopsticks. Day one poor. Next day better Terracotta Warriors amazing, history museum good, lunch good, dumpling banquet dinner better. Our guide not impressive, did not point out anything much during time in vehicle unless we asked. Gave us "free time" at almost all sites after a short history so we wandered ourselves, we even paid to hire audio guide at history museum while our guide waited outside. Guide also made inappropriate comments about our drinking habits. Last straw was when he went through our passports on check-in at Xian airport and commented on how many countries we had visited. Emails from Beijing to confirm as per voucher to local operator ignored. Phone calls unanswered.(chinese voice message) No offer of bottled water at any stage of tour. Overall we feel poor value for money paid. Viator need to control content provided by local operators much more especially standards of hotel provided.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Seeing the Terracotta Warriors is a must see in your life. The day trip was well organised and the guide spoke very good English. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide spoke reasonable english and was very informative. On the way back we wanted to visit the Muslim Quarter and they went out of their way to drop us near there instead of our hotel. This was a highlight of our trip to China.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Pros:
- professional, informative guide
- the warriors were incredible, and we had a few hours there to enjoy them

Cons:
- two painful shopping stops in the morning, each lasting about thirty minutes
- we stopped at the car park outside Big Wild Goose Pagoda, had a quick look at it from outside the compound (5 minutes) and then continued on our way.
- the tea ceremony was, for all intents and purposes, another overpriced shopping stop.
- Banpo village was historically interesting (I suppose), but essentially just a big whole in the ground. Really didn't need to go there.

In summary:
Our day started at 8am and we didn't arrive at the Warriors until after 2pm. This would have been fine if we'd have spent time at Big Wild Goose Pagoda (as advertised), but the majority of our morning was occupied with mind numbing shopping stops and an excursion to the bland Banpo Neolithic village.

When we finally arrived at the Warriors, our guide was very informative and we had a good opportunity to explore and take photos at our leisure.

Of course, the day didn't end when we departed the Warriors - it was time for "refreshments." (A vastly overpriced tea ceremony - I would have been happy to grab a bottle of water on the way out.)

Would have been much more enjoyable if we'd have spent just half a day touring and removed all of the horrifically irrelevant stops.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This was a very good tour. The only negative point was that the guide did not explain enough, was too quiet and nor forthcoming with enough information.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip was very good and insightful. The warriors are quite the sight. Our tour guide was very informative and let us spend time browsing around and didn't rush us. I would have wished that we could have spent a little bit more time at the Pagoda.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Excellent tour. With foreign tourists down over 80% since 2008, this tour through Viator turned out to be a private tour for my wife and I! Small but nice air conditioned van us + driver + English speaking guide. Guide was very informative and knowledgeable. With just 2 of us in the tour, we could ask a lot of questions to learn more of the city and culture. Lunch was very good with lots to eat.

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2010

I felt that the tour guide could have better descriptions of what I saw, as I wound up listening to some other tour guides who had better explanations.

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2010

Very disappointing. When we were at the museum, the tour guide expected us to wait in line because the first 2000 people had free entrance to the museum. We paid extra so as not to wait. I believe that wen I book a tour with a company everthing is included and not have to pay my own entrance fee to the sites. The tour guide rushed us through the tour. The tours my be boring for the tour guide but for us, we expect to be give the necessary time to see the sites. I will never book another tour with your company.

Doing what: Xi'an Half-Day City Tour - Shaanxi History Museum and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

Michael P
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Provided a good overview of the city - places to revisit at leisure

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

Stephen W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was a really good tour to take the hassle out of trying to find all of these places on foot or by taxi. It does everything that is missing on the Essential Xi'an Full Day Tour. Make sure you give yourself an extra 3 or 4 hours on one day to cycle around the city wall, though; it's really worth doing!

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Truly enjoyed my tour. My guide was extremely knowledgeable, and the driver drove with care and safety. My guide was courteous and helpful and took very good care of me as I was taking the tour by myself. Yes, I would recommend it. The car was comfortable and clean.

Doing what: Xi'an Half-Day City Tour - Shaanxi History Museum and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message