Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta)

While the Big Wild Goose Pagoda - or Dayanta - follows the familiar pagoda format of successive levels diminishing in size the higher they get, this solid stone tower is largely free of the frills associated with such buildings. One of Xian’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lucia was hands-down the BEST tour guide I had in all of Asia. Excellent English and very kind! I had this tour to myself and she always allowed me how much/little time I wanted everywhere. Super knowledgeable and very fun! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The tour guide was knowledgeable and polite, and the stops were interesting. However, at the time we visited the Shaanxi History Museum was extremely crowded, and at the Big Wild Goose Pagoda we were taken to an "art gallery" where we felt that there was an expectation to buy something (although we were told that proceeds went to the temple). Furthermore, the included lunch was not very good.

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Once again Viator is tops. Excellent guide with very good English and knowledge of the places visited. I felt that this tour also was great value for the money. Comfortable transport, excellent restaurant for lunch and no pressure from the guide to hurry. Viator, you tick all the boxes - I was recommended to your site and I am so pleased that I followed through.
Kevin Davis, NZ, June 2014

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We (my wife and I) took the Terracotta Warriors, Wild Goose Pagoda and Tang Dynasty tour. The tour guide, Jade, was absolutely wonderful. She is the best guide we have every had. She was very committed to seeing that we enjoyed the tour and answered many of our non-tour questions we had about China. She knew each aspect of the tour very well and she obviously had worked to learn every possible detail. My wife is gluten intolerant, and Jade went above and beyond our expectations to accommodate her dietary needs. This is highly unusual and we REALLY appreciate it. We feel that, because of Jade, we have fully experienced the Terracotta Warriors and the Wild Goose Pagoda, and also other aspects of Xi'an and China. In addition, Jade was very aware of the problems my wife has with walking for long distances or at a fast pace and helped her at every opportunity. We feel that Jade is an extraordinary person as well as being an extraordinary guide. Frankly, because of Jade, we will consider our trip a success and we really feel like she contributed to our knowledge of China, which was our goal in this trip. Also, the driver (I believe Mr. Wong) was excellent and very professional. He made the trip a pleasure. Again, we can't say enough about how good we feel how outstanding Jade is as a tour guide and person.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Terracotta Warriors and Tang Dynasty Show in Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We (my wife and I) took the Terracotta Warriors, Wild Goose Pagoda and Tang Dynasty tour on Sunday, May 4, 2014. We flew from Shanghai Saturday just for the experience and had to be in Beijing Monday, so we had high expectations for the tour. The tour actually exceeded our expectations beyond your wildest hopes and dreams. The tour guide, Jade, was absolutely wonderful. She is the best guide we have every had. She was very committed to seeing that we enjoyed the tour and answered many of our non-tour questions we had about China. She knew each aspect of the tour very well and she obviously had worked to learn every possible detail. Most of all my wife is gluten intolerant, and Jade went above and beyond our expectations to accommodate her dietary needs. This is highly unusual and we REALLY appreciate it. We feel that, because of Jade, we have fully experienced the Terracotta Warriors and the Wild Goose Pagoda, and also other aspects of Xi'an and China. In addition, Jade was very aware of the problems my wife has with walking for long distances or at a fast pace and helped her at every opportunity. We feel that Jade is an extraordinary person as well as being an extraordinary guide. Frankly, because of Jade, we will consider our trip a success and we really feel like she contributed to our knowledge of China, which was our goal in this trip. Also, the driver (I believe Mr. Wong or Mr. Wang) was excellent and very professional. He made the trip a pleasure. Also, I want to mention that Happy Box Travel has been the most responsive of all of the agencies. They have an e-mail address to confirm, which is wonderful when we are traveling internationally and quickly respond. Again, we can't say enough about l how outstanding this tour is organized and how outstanding Jade is as a tour guide and person and how much she contributed to our appreciation of China.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Terracotta Warriors and Tang Dynasty Show in Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The only way to really get a feeling for this significant historic place. My guide was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great way to see all Xian, was picked up on time at Hotel by tour guide. Tour Guide spoke great English and went out of her way to make sure we say everything. She also took care of tickets and we were able to go to the front of the lines to get into all the historic spots.

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

Josef W
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Ok but only just. Xian hotel "Skytel" great location and 5 star foyer but rooms sub-standard 2 star. Of 3 offered rooms all inadequate, Last "refurbished room" tiny, no refrigerator, airconditioning not working, no door from main room to bathroom all glass with no privacy. 6th Floor and our room smelled of smoking, given can of air freshener for this. Our requests for refrigerator and ice did not eventuate.
Guide late on our arrival (flight 10 min early) Tour varied as History Museum closed Mondays, this is ok but were given approx 30 mins at Big Wild Goose Pagoda, feel we saw nothing. Ancient City Wall a highlight, hired bikes great experience. First dinner poor, two dishes and warm beer at est cost $25AUD, staff laughed at our attempts to use chopsticks. Day one poor. Next day better Terracotta Warriors amazing, history museum good, lunch good, dumpling banquet dinner better. Our guide not impressive, did not point out anything much during time in vehicle unless we asked. Gave us "free time" at almost all sites after a short history so we wandered ourselves, we even paid to hire audio guide at history museum while our guide waited outside. Guide also made inappropriate comments about our drinking habits. Last straw was when he went through our passports on check-in at Xian airport and commented on how many countries we had visited. Emails from Beijing to confirm as per voucher to local operator ignored. Phone calls unanswered.(chinese voice message) No offer of bottled water at any stage of tour. Overall we feel poor value for money paid. Viator need to control content provided by local operators much more especially standards of hotel provided.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Seeing the Terracotta Warriors is a must see in your life. The day trip was well organised and the guide spoke very good English. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide spoke reasonable english and was very informative. On the way back we wanted to visit the Muslim Quarter and they went out of their way to drop us near there instead of our hotel. This was a highlight of our trip to China.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Pros:
- professional, informative guide
- the warriors were incredible, and we had a few hours there to enjoy them

Cons:
- two painful shopping stops in the morning, each lasting about thirty minutes
- we stopped at the car park outside Big Wild Goose Pagoda, had a quick look at it from outside the compound (5 minutes) and then continued on our way.
- the tea ceremony was, for all intents and purposes, another overpriced shopping stop.
- Banpo village was historically interesting (I suppose), but essentially just a big whole in the ground. Really didn't need to go there.

In summary:
Our day started at 8am and we didn't arrive at the Warriors until after 2pm. This would have been fine if we'd have spent time at Big Wild Goose Pagoda (as advertised), but the majority of our morning was occupied with mind numbing shopping stops and an excursion to the bland Banpo Neolithic village.

When we finally arrived at the Warriors, our guide was very informative and we had a good opportunity to explore and take photos at our leisure.

Of course, the day didn't end when we departed the Warriors - it was time for "refreshments." (A vastly overpriced tea ceremony - I would have been happy to grab a bottle of water on the way out.)

Would have been much more enjoyable if we'd have spent just half a day touring and removed all of the horrifically irrelevant stops.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This was a very good tour. The only negative point was that the guide did not explain enough, was too quiet and nor forthcoming with enough information.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip was very good and insightful. The warriors are quite the sight. Our tour guide was very informative and let us spend time browsing around and didn't rush us. I would have wished that we could have spent a little bit more time at the Pagoda.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour of the Terracotta Warriors and Banpo Neolithic Village from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Excellent tour. With foreign tourists down over 80% since 2008, this tour through Viator turned out to be a private tour for my wife and I! Small but nice air conditioned van us + driver + English speaking guide. Guide was very informative and knowledgeable. With just 2 of us in the tour, we could ask a lot of questions to learn more of the city and culture. Lunch was very good with lots to eat.

Doing what: Xi'an Full Day Sightseeing Tour - Shaanxi History Museum, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Ancient City Wall

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message