Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Drum Tower (Gulou)

The Drum Tower - or Gulou - was built during the Ming Dynasty, just a few years before the neighboring Bell Tower. It is largely in the same style as that building, though in a rectangular rather than a square format. From here sunset was marked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

ElizabethD
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great fun and delicious food. I was the only one on the Gourmet Walking Tour but this didn't stop my guide, Ada, being fun, informative and enthusiastic. She made sure I had plenty of photos to remember the tour and took me to some great places to eat. Very highly recommended.

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very busy day, started at 0530 drive to airport and ended at 2200 returning to the hotel in Chengdu but thoroughly enjoyable and well worth the long day. We had our own guide and driver she was great, learnt the fascinating history of the Emperor Xin, the Terracotta warriors story etc. Excellent experience. Good local lunch. Overall, excellent trip and well organised - for one of those, just have to, trips!

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Michelle was great, Very friendly and enthusiastic. We got to try heaps of different foods. Would highly recommend Michelle and Tour.

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We met Michelle at the meeting point she took us for a walk through the muslim area, it was full of color and sounds. Michelle helped us try lots of new things. She was a wonderful tour guide making our evening fun.

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour! It was a small group, which meant more direct contact with the tour guide. We walked down the Muslim Market and had a bunch of food based on the guide's suggestion, plus we got to try whatever else we wanted! It was nice to have someone who could speak Chinese with us so we could communicate with all the vendors. I would definitely recommend this to any adventurous eater.

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, it was a very early start and was organised through Samtours. We booked 2 tours through this company with Viator but needed details for our visas and Sam was very helpful so we ended up using his company for the whole week. We were picked up from the airport when we arrived in Chengdu and driven to our hotel. We did this tour and had an excellent guide called Rosa who organised a wheelchair for me at The Terracotta Warriors Museum and took lots of photos of my daughter and me. We also used Samtours to do a chengdu City tour including a visit to the panda garden, to do a volunteer day at the Woolong Panda Centre, to visit the Lehsan Giant Buddha, The Chinese Opera and the irrigation system and mountain.Samtours also took us back to the airport when we returned home. We had the same driver all week Mr Cheung who was an excellent driver and we always felt safe with him even though Chengdu is very busy. We had excellent tour guides all week. I would like t say a big thank you to Sam, Mr Cheung, Lilleth, Andy, Rosa, and Carol for looking after us and giving us excelent memories of China

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A great way to try the street food and restaurants of Xian and the Muslim area. We met our Tour guide which spoke great English and explained and went out of her way to make sure we sampled all the different foods. We let her pick and order menu items so that we could try everything and everything we tryed was great. Would not of gone to the area with out taking this tour and would of been disappointed if we had not taken the tour. We could of spent more time just walking around but got so filled up on food.

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour! I wanted to experience a foodie tour while in Xi'an, and Viator delivered. My guide, Michelle, was friendly, knowledgeable, and organized. She suggested great food stalls and took care of everything. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to experience a great food tour in Xi'an!

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely love the historical tour of Xian. The biking on the wall and the warriors will always be remembered. Our guide was friendly, with lots of local knowledge.

Doing what: 2-Night Best of Xi'an Tour: Terracotta Warriors and City Sightseeing with Private Round-Trip Transfer from Airport or Train Station

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I really enjoyed this tour. My guide spoke excellent English, and I loved that I was allowed to choose what I wanted to try/taste along the street. Most of the food was delicious and new to me even though I live in China! The atmosphere of the Muslim district of Xi'an is vibrant and colourful; well worth a visit. I would have enjoyed it more if I wasn't the only one on the tour, but I had fun despite this. I would recommend this tour to solo travellers and families alike.

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent guide, very accomodating. Great tour!

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

So many delicious food. So much fun. So full. Unforgettable experience

Doing what: Xi'an Gourmet Walking Tour at Night

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message