Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Terracotta Warriors and Horses Museum

The 1974 discovery of thousands of life-sized Terracotta Warriors near Xian was one of the archeological sensations of the 20th century. The figures date from 210 BC and were meant to guard the first emperor of China in the afterlife. A huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Michelle was very knowledgeable in the history of Xi’an, the terracotta warriors and the whole history of china. Timing was very good. There was enough time to see the exhibits, take pictures, and learn, without feeling rushed. Michelle knows paths that were less crowded and optimized time. Our driver was very safe. We highly recommend this tour. Lunch was delicious, one of our favorite meals in china.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour to the Terracotta Warriors and Hot Springs Spa from Xi’an

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thank you our guide Michelle and Viator! You did an excellent job with both English and the information you gave the time spent at each place was adequate. Lunch was delicious!!! The driver and his van were friendly, professional and clean. Thank you for having us.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour to the Terracotta Warriors and Hot Springs Spa from Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this tour from Viator, it was easy, safe and value for money.
In China the company that ran the tour, Hangtang Tours was amazing.
We enjoyed this tour, the warriors were wonderful a must see site in Xi'an.
Our tour guide Lucia was friendly, informative and welcoming.
This tour included a visit to the Banpo Village, a great bonus for those who love archaeological sites. A visit to the traditional terracotta museum where they make life size warriors. Then to the Warriors site where after view Pit 1 we had a nice buffet lunch.
This tour was great and one of our top picks for China.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We saw all the wonders of the Warriors. Transport and guide were very good, on time and friendly/informative. Perhaps the only slight disappointment was the many opportunities to buy things we were subjected to, but thats a purely personnal opinion.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. The warriors are magnificent

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing! Every detail was accounted for! From picking me up from my hotel, help checking me in on my flights! Worth every penny as I was a single female traveling alone. I felt safe! The tour guides Sonny in Zi'an and Daniel in Beijing were friendly and very knowledgable. A+++

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Xi'an and Beijing from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour exceeded my expectations. Great driver and clean van with heat. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Touring the Terracotta Warriors was something Ive always wanted to experience and it was exceptional. Also, the lunch provided included a buffet with different types of noodles and a set menu. It was more than enough for us. Perfect end to a great tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great way to see the Terracotta army and Xian. Train, hotel and flight were fine. Excellent guide. We made a 1.5 hour cycle tour on top of the city's ancient wall. Great fun.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

The tour guide is so desperate to have a tip, making a lot of pressure to me as a tourist.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had trouble working a visit to the warriors in our itinerary so took advantage of this one day trek. It was a very long day and expensive but we would not have missed the opportunity to see the site. It was breathtaking to say the least. Pictures cannot convey the magnitude of the pits. The fact that each warrior is different is mind boggling and the exacting detail of each warrior is truly spectacular. We also were very impressed with the tour of the city walls of XI'an.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We write to tell you what an excellent guide Robert was to us. Of the guides that we had while in China and in India, he was easily the best. He interested in us, he talked to us frequently, he knew plenty of historical information. He knew when to let us take our take and when to move us along. He made sure that all of our needs were taken care of and offered exceptional customer service. We would recommend him wholeheartedly to any person looking for a great tour guide in Beijing.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Xi'an and Beijing from Shanghai by Air

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a very good experience over the three days. We got to see all of the sites and we found our guides to be very accommodating. We did not think that the driver who picked us up in Shanghai to the airport knew what he was doing, he took us on a long back route and simply left us at the airport terminal with little or no direction. Mr. Dong (Allan), in Xi'an was good and took us to all the sites, but he was distracted by his phone and seemingly disinterested. He also took us to a Terra Cotta factory were we felt very pressured to buy at. We bought a figure which we later saw at the airport for 1/5th of the price at the factory. In comparison, Robert (in Beijing) was an exceptional guide. He took great interest in us and was always eager to engage in conversation. He adjusted our schedule as necessary because of a delayed flight, but still made sure that we got to see everything that we wanted to see. He also asked us in advance weather we wanted to do any shopping and when we told him "no" he adjusted the tour so that we could spend more time in the sites that we wanted to see. We cannot recommend him highly enough to others who might take this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Xi'an and Beijing from Shanghai by Air

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great tour. Our guide was well informed and friendly. He provided great history on the creation and discovery of the warriors. The included lunch was buffet style so we were very full on the way home. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the warriors, my only complaint is that some of the exhibits were so big we could easily have spent 30-40 mins exploring but were usually just given 15min. I realise this is to keep a schedule, but if I could make a suggestion it would be to have a slightly earlier pick up and allow more time in the exhibits. But a great day and incredibly humbling experience.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was good. We had all the necessary information and our guide was open to questions. She was much more thorough one-on-one than in the group. I saw other groups getting information continually and our guide did not do that. I would have liked to know what the other groups were learning that we did not.

She was very patient however, my father made some off remarks and she did not get angry with him or appear to take offense. Although, maybe his behavior had to do with why we did not get a lot of specific information that other tours were getting.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I are both interested in Easten culture, therefore, we choose China for our honeymoon. I’d like to say that it’s the best choice I have ever made. We had a great time in this trip. We visited the top attractions in China. All of them are terrific. The Great Wall is magnificent, the Forbidden City is spectacular, the life-sized Terracotta Warriors are gorgeous. Each attraction in my mind possesses it’s own unique beauty. Sorry for the short list. We took a lot of photos for a good memory. And I’m sure that we will cherish them forever. At last, I want to give my great thanks to our nice guide David who is very considerate and helped us a lot during this pleasant period.

Doing what: 11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Chongqing with Yangtze River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message