• USD ($)
  • English

Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Terracotta Warriors and Horses Museum

The 1974 discovery of thousands of life-sized Terracotta Warriors near Xian was one of the archeological sensations of the 20th century. The figures date from 210 BC and were meant to guard the first emperor of China in the afterlife. A huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Once again Viator has provided me with even better than I exactly wanted ! The tour guide Vicky spoke perfect English and the driver and van were excellent. She rang shortly after I arrived at my hotel in Xi'an and picked me up right on the arranged time the next day. Even though there were no other passengers they still took me on what was a most brilliant tour with a great lunch. The neolithic village Banpo from 6000 years ago is amazing as a first stop off then the Terracotta Warriors are far beyond any expectations. To sum up what Viator means to me is that I can go 20,000 kms from home and know that I will be shown the best sites in town by the best guides in town from the Colosseum to the Terracotta Warriors ! To me Viator means: "Reliability, Quality and Value !" Thank you so much for being so great !

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic.... You feel floating between history and relaxation in the spa....higly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Tour to the Terracotta Warriors and Hot Springs Spa from Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Brilliant trip to see the warriors, highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors, Dumpling Banquet and Tang Dynasty Show in Xi’an

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Mediocre tour guide and over-priced!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

from my art history/anthro classes bring this topic up in class, has always made me want to see in real life. its amazing, and our guide was amazing, tell the general facts to funny and interesting facts. its amazes me that they are still digging this stuff up after 50 years now lol.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide Lucia was absolutely fantastic. Knew her subject and communicated well.
Only 8 in our group so a nice number
Problem with sone tour members who kept others waiting.

Suggest firm time for return at meeting point or they should be left behind

.the Warriers were unbelievable - very moving. Wasn't too crowded either.
Tour guide notified hotel that they were running 10 minutes late which we appreciated.

Thanks again Laureen Walton

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

So amazing! This is a necessary stop for anyone visiting China! My guide was extremely knowledgable about the sites and very friendly as well! The level of customer service was amazing and I will definitely be going back and taking this same exact tour!!!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Recommended to your site by a casual acquaintance I met in Xi'an. Viator has lived up to the recommendation. The tour guide, Vicky, was fantastic - excellent English, great knowledge of the sites visited and a very pleasant person to be around. The Tour exceeded expectations in all respects. I saw other groups that were obviously bus tours from their numbers, and there is no way that all members of those tours could hear what their guides were saying. These small groups are the only way to see the sites. GO VIATOR.
Kevin Davis, NZ June 2014

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Trip of a lifetime. Great service from driver and previous night's guide. Jennifer was extremely concerned about our arrival at airport and successful navigation of airport. She wrote detailed directions for us and gave us her phone number in case of emergency. Very caring.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The only way to really get a feeling for this significant historic place. My guide was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Too much shopping, not very clever if they want you to actually shop to do like this. They should rethink
their strategy, this is a lose lose one. The site itself, amazing!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Oh my God! this was the reason we went to China to see the Warriors and we were not disappointed. By taking the tour it even made it better, we got filled in on all the History of how they were found and the area. We were not rushed thru the buildings and got to see everything we wanted to see. The Banquet and Show was a step back into traditional China, the food was great and the Show was amazing. Tour Guide again was exceptional.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors, Dumpling Banquet and Tang Dynasty Show in Xi’an

Josef W
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Ok but only just. Xian hotel "Skytel" great location and 5 star foyer but rooms sub-standard 2 star. Of 3 offered rooms all inadequate, Last "refurbished room" tiny, no refrigerator, airconditioning not working, no door from main room to bathroom all glass with no privacy. 6th Floor and our room smelled of smoking, given can of air freshener for this. Our requests for refrigerator and ice did not eventuate.
Guide late on our arrival (flight 10 min early) Tour varied as History Museum closed Mondays, this is ok but were given approx 30 mins at Big Wild Goose Pagoda, feel we saw nothing. Ancient City Wall a highlight, hired bikes great experience. First dinner poor, two dishes and warm beer at est cost $25AUD, staff laughed at our attempts to use chopsticks. Day one poor. Next day better Terracotta Warriors amazing, history museum good, lunch good, dumpling banquet dinner better. Our guide not impressive, did not point out anything much during time in vehicle unless we asked. Gave us "free time" at almost all sites after a short history so we wandered ourselves, we even paid to hire audio guide at history museum while our guide waited outside. Guide also made inappropriate comments about our drinking habits. Last straw was when he went through our passports on check-in at Xian airport and commented on how many countries we had visited. Emails from Beijing to confirm as per voucher to local operator ignored. Phone calls unanswered.(chinese voice message) No offer of bottled water at any stage of tour. Overall we feel poor value for money paid. Viator need to control content provided by local operators much more especially standards of hotel provided.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We absolutely loved this tour in Xi'an. We were amazed by the Terracota Warriors and the beautiful scenery at the Hua Shan mountain. The lunch at the family house was soooo delicious! The guide was always friendly and helpful. I just don't give 5 stars to this tour due to the accommodation at the foot of the mountain. The Hua Shan Hotel was a poor choice: some of the bathroom fixtures broken (e.g. toilet flush), the room was cold (this tour was in Dec), no bottles of water provided and no options for Western breakfast. For the price paid, we should have been placed in a better hotel (at least with better reviews!).

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour in Xi’an: Terracotta Warriors and Hua Shan Hike

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We absolutely loved this tour in Xi'an. We were amazed by the Terracota Warriors and the beautiful scenery at the Hua Shan mountain. The lunch at the family house was soooo delicious! The guide was always friendly and helpful. I just don't give 5 stars to this tour due to the accommodation at the foot of the mountain. The Hua Shan Hotel was a poor choice: some of the bathroom fixtures broken (e.g. toilet flush), the room was cold (this tour was in Dec), no bottles of water provided and no options for Western breakfast. For the price paid, we should have been placed in a better hotel (at least with better reviews!).

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour in Xi’an: Terracotta Warriors and Hua Shan Hike

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message