• USD ($)
  • English

Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Xian City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi’an has one of the most extensive and best-preserved defensive walls in the world. This colossal structure was started under the Ming Dynasty in 1370, a few years before the Drum and Bell Towers, and replaced an earlier wall which encompassed a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josef W
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Ok but only just. Xian hotel "Skytel" great location and 5 star foyer but rooms sub-standard 2 star. Of 3 offered rooms all inadequate, Last "refurbished room" tiny, no refrigerator, airconditioning not working, no door from main room to bathroom all glass with no privacy. 6th Floor and our room smelled of smoking, given can of air freshener for this. Our requests for refrigerator and ice did not eventuate.
Guide late on our arrival (flight 10 min early) Tour varied as History Museum closed Mondays, this is ok but were given approx 30 mins at Big Wild Goose Pagoda, feel we saw nothing. Ancient City Wall a highlight, hired bikes great experience. First dinner poor, two dishes and warm beer at est cost $25AUD, staff laughed at our attempts to use chopsticks. Day one poor. Next day better Terracotta Warriors amazing, history museum good, lunch good, dumpling banquet dinner better. Our guide not impressive, did not point out anything much during time in vehicle unless we asked. Gave us "free time" at almost all sites after a short history so we wandered ourselves, we even paid to hire audio guide at history museum while our guide waited outside. Guide also made inappropriate comments about our drinking habits. Last straw was when he went through our passports on check-in at Xian airport and commented on how many countries we had visited. Emails from Beijing to confirm as per voucher to local operator ignored. Phone calls unanswered.(chinese voice message) No offer of bottled water at any stage of tour. Overall we feel poor value for money paid. Viator need to control content provided by local operators much more especially standards of hotel provided.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Bus arrived on time, tour guide very knowledgable and friendly, a great experience

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was very good. He was a young man and tried hard to make our trip a good one. We would be pleased to have him again. The site is fantastic. Just make sure your camera battery is fully charged. We also enjoyed the surrounding businesses with the shops and restaurants.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

So amazing. This is a must see. Our tour guide, Phyliss was great, really sweet. Called the night before and left a message at my hotel the night before, picked me up promptly.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The terracotta warriors tour is a must see in Xi'an. Despite the fact of being crowded and it's not easy to get a good spot to see the warriors and other goods, the attractions are quite nice and the facilities are fair.
The tour guide had a decent english skill and she was very kind with us all the time. One bad thing about that is the "optional" attractions, such as foot massage when coming back from the museums, which doesn't worth it.
The souvenirs shops located on the museum's surroundings are overpriced. I found the same warrior dolls at the airport, with half the price I paid in one of those souvernir shops.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Sara our guide was fabulous. This was a long trip but the best one we did. The warriors are just awe inspiring. An amazing piece of history. Good driver, good lunch and highly recommend this tour even though it's quite expensive. Well worth it.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour itself was excellent and the guide was superb, the excursion to the Banpo village was excellent. My only criticism was of the coach, it was old, ramshackle and had no seat belts...and in Xi'an that's not a good thing.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Your tour was great. The most important element of the whole thing was Sarah, our tour guide. She was very thorough and kept us on time the whole day. She was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of interesting information. The bus was good, the places we visited were good (Terra Cotta Warriors being the best). Once again, Sarah made it the best it could be.

Jim Scott

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Amazing experience, Terracotta warriors is a must in China! The guide called me on the night before the tour to my hotel to tell me the pick-up time. She was very friendly, with a good attitude always with a smile in her face and responded all our questions. Her English level was good enough for keeping a good conversation with all of us, even though it was a mixed group from different countries and different English levels. In overall, it was a great experience, 100% recommended.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Julie S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Very well organised and a lovely tour guide called Wendy,to show us around. we had time to spare so went walking around all the little stalls that are nearby. the lunch was nice too.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

It was an ok trip because we did see what we want to see and the tour guide was very friendly. But I did not give the trip a better rating because I paid for two adults and one child -- but no one told the local agent about the child. The van was so jammed that I had to carry my 8 year old son on my lap the whole time. In addition, the starting time was at least 2 hours behind the promised -- quite misleading!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

I am sorry to say that we were very disappointed. Our trip was mainly a source of transportation; airline and van pick-ups. We expected our guide to narrate and share details about Xi'an, terracotta soldiers and the tour of the wall. We mainly rode in silence unless I asked questions. It was 105 degrees that day and she held her own umbrella and brought no water in the van. I thought we would melt. My husband and I have traveled the world, this was the most unprepared, uninformative and unaccommodating tour we have ever taken. I am only glad we got home safe.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company regarding the guide's service level and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an excellent tour with a very informative guide. She was really helpful, very knowledgeable and she was a great tour guide. The tour was very well planned and detailed and went to all the best parts of the museums/sites. There was plenty of time to look at each thing and there was even some free time to walk around the sites on our own. A great time in Xi'an - thank you Viator, will definitely use this website to book tours again.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very helpful tour guide, well organized tour! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message