Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Xian City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi’an has one of the most extensive and best-preserved defensive walls in the world. This colossal structure was started under the Ming Dynasty in 1370, a few years before the Drum and Bell Towers, and replaced an earlier wall which encompassed a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Xian is a fascinating city. The Terra Cotta warriors are stunning and well worth visiting. The highlight of my trip to China. The city of Xian was very beautiful and still has the 13th Century walls intact and a number of other interesting buildings from the 13th Century. A long day but very worthwhile. Air delays into and out of Shanghai Airport make the day even longer

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The terracotta warriors are well worth seeing. It's a real pity that so many of them have been destroyed beyond restoration. These are 2000 years old. We also visited the 6000 year old site of an ancient village and the terracotta warrior factory. A delicious Chinese lunch was also provided. There were just 3 people on this tour so we had a good chance to chat with the guide, Lucia, who was also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. This trip was well worth going on.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although booked a group tour, we were the only one's on it so very happy for the guaranteed trip. Our guide Michelle was very knowledgeable and helpful in navigating the crazy crowds on the May 1st Holiday and was patient as we took thousands of photos. The Warriors are magnificent and the archeological work and restoration facisnating. Biking along the city wall was also a wonderful way to end the day.

Doing what: Best Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Wall Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Joy was an excellant guide. Very Knowledgable.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is truly a 5 star experience, the guide and driver were both very professional and courteous. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful tour of the Terracotta Warriors. Our guide Sally was great. We were pleased to have a small group and would work with Viator again if need a guided tour. I would recommend the company and especially the guide.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Really nice place to visit, worth the trip unto Xi an.
The guide Jenny made it much better with her clear explanations and answers.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great day, really enjoyed the whole day. Our tour guide was very nice and informative.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very busy day, started at 0530 drive to airport and ended at 2200 returning to the hotel in Chengdu but thoroughly enjoyable and well worth the long day. We had our own guide and driver she was great, learnt the fascinating history of the Emperor Xin, the Terracotta warriors story etc. Excellent experience. Good local lunch. Overall, excellent trip and well organised - for one of those, just have to, trips!

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thank you very much Lucia and the driver for an unforgettable day...the terracotta army and Bampo are truly a great experience and highly recommended!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very well organised tour, well recommended

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour...very interesting

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you're looking for an easy, no-hassle tour of the Terra Cotta warriors, look no further! I was thoroughly impressed with my guide Cheng who spoke excellent English, and great sense of humor. Picked me up, took me everywhere and dropped me at my hotel. Very knowledgeable tour! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide arrived on time and did a good job explaining the history of the site. She was patient and helpful. The tour was well worth the day in Xi'an. The Warriors are not to be missed. The lunch was the best of all of the tours.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Well, this is the first time I have ever taken a tour anywhere, where I wasn't at least 80 happy with. I am just going to state what the issues were:
1. The tour information stated it would start at 8am however, my pick up time was to be at 9:15am.
2. My pick up time was 9:15am however, wasn't picked up until 10am.
3. I have a Chinese number but no one called to confirm nor did they call to inform me they would be late.
4. I had to have to have the hotel to call the number provided then the tour guide called and said they were running late.
5. Tour was nice however, when anyone asked a specific question, no answers were given. I do not believe she understood English well enough to reply other than her scripted responses.
6. Driver refused to turn on the aircon until LATE afternoon and the back of the van was bloody hot!

Good things:
1. She was very sweet!
2. Lunch was nice.
3. What we saw was awesome!
4. She knew her script

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

driver pick up got us to airport at boarding time. Risky pick up time, too long at factory decreased time at warriors. flight back slightly delay but 30 minutes looking for driver back to ship could have been better organized.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was a fabulous experience. Tour coordinator - Michael was excellent. The 2 tour guides - Sunny in Xian and Cris in Beijing were amazing. Viator should give tourists a heads up that China tour guides and drivers should be tipped, due to which I missed tipping Sunny and the driver. Feel v bad now

Doing what: Private 3-Day Classic Northern China Tour: Xi'an and Beijing from Guangzhou by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this tour from Viator, it was easy, safe and value for money.
In China the company that ran the tour, Hangtang Tours was amazing.
We enjoyed this tour, the warriors were wonderful a must see site in Xi'an.
Our tour guide Lucia was friendly, informative and welcoming.
This tour included a visit to the Banpo Village, a great bonus for those who love archaeological sites. A visit to the traditional terracotta museum where they make life size warriors. Then to the Warriors site where after view Pit 1 we had a nice buffet lunch.
This tour was great and one of our top picks for China.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We saw all the wonders of the Warriors. Transport and guide were very good, on time and friendly/informative. Perhaps the only slight disappointment was the many opportunities to buy things we were subjected to, but thats a purely personnal opinion.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great but very short on time to get to airport. Bit stressful! Also we had a factory visit and had no time to visit old walls of X'ian

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. The warriors are magnificent

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour exceeded my expectations. Great driver and clean van with heat. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Touring the Terracotta Warriors was something Ive always wanted to experience and it was exceptional. Also, the lunch provided included a buffet with different types of noodles and a set menu. It was more than enough for us. Perfect end to a great tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great way to see the Terracotta army and Xian. Train, hotel and flight were fine. Excellent guide. We made a 1.5 hour cycle tour on top of the city's ancient wall. Great fun.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

The tour guide is so desperate to have a tip, making a lot of pressure to me as a tourist.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had trouble working a visit to the warriors in our itinerary so took advantage of this one day trek. It was a very long day and expensive but we would not have missed the opportunity to see the site. It was breathtaking to say the least. Pictures cannot convey the magnitude of the pits. The fact that each warrior is different is mind boggling and the exacting detail of each warrior is truly spectacular. We also were very impressed with the tour of the city walls of XI'an.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message