Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Xian City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi’an has one of the most extensive and best-preserved defensive walls in the world. This colossal structure was started under the Ming Dynasty in 1370, a few years before the Drum and Bell Towers, and replaced an earlier wall which encompassed a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nhatha3432

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I were picked up from the hotel promptly at the appointed hour of 9am by our tour guide 'Susan'. First stop was the Wild Goose Pagoda where are tour guide gave a marvellous briefing about what we would see and why, and while there gave full and excellent explanations of what we were looking, explaining the importance of what had taken place there. Fascinating place! Next stop was the museum. Again our guide gave us very good advice about how to get around the place, mainly to focus upon what interested us directly rather than aimlessly wondering around. It was a little busy and we were grateful that the weather was cool as the press of people in the museum could have been quite oppressive otherwise. Next stop was lunch. We were taken to a genuine, local Chinese restaurant where we had an excellent, substantial and tasty meal that comprised of two dishes that we chose with advice! We were very surprised at just how good the food was as we had never had those dishes in Chinese restaurants anywhere else in the world. Following our lunch we were taken to the City Wall just breath-taking! After taking a stroll in both directions to view the ramparts and sentry buildings we vowed to return and circumnavigate it! Our last destination was the Great Mosque. Now, what was surprising upon our arrival there was that we realised that in complete ignorance, that we had walked right passed the entrance two days previously not knowing it was there. Indeed, I would sum up this excellent private tour with that fact in mind. We would never have seen the sights that we saw if we had not booked this tour, I really mean that we would not have made it on our own we would never have had the very erudite explanations of what we were looking at if we had not taken this tour we would have been stressed out for sure trying to get to these sights on our own. It was an excellent tour, the guide was excellent, and it was exceptional value for money. I recommend it!

Doing what: Xi'an Private Day Tour: City Wall, Great Mosque, Shaanxi History Museum and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

MICHAEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Of all the tours in China this was the one we were looking forward to the most! And it didn't disappoint!
We were picked up from our hotel at 9am, taken to a terracotta warrior factory - where I must say the sell wasn't as pushy as other factory tours. We then visited Banpo, an ancient village settlement followed by lunch. Then onto the Terracotta Warriors....breathtaking! More than enough time to visit and explore, our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer any questions that we had.
When we visit China again Xi'an is a definite must for a second visit.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Barrie C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Tour content was very good including the courier. We were, however, quite disturbed by the manner of the driver whose aggresive driving certainly unnerved us

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Stephen M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nana was a great guide, the only comment we would make is regarding the order of the day, start with the Warriors and the digs finish with the shop.

Do you do tours in Athens?

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Aaron W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The best of the tours we took. Our tour guide was great she really explained everything to us and really looked for questions and feedback. Unlike the other tours we took this guide even gave us time to explore and even buy water or a snack when needed. The only reason this wasn't rated higher is because you're forced to shop which is dumb. I know that not one person in my tour group bought anything we all just stood around waiting to leave. Also, while this says it's a full day tour keep in mind it takes about two hours one way to get there so four hours of your day is spent traveling and that doesn't include pick ups and drop offs. So this is really a half day tour of the actual tour site.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent! The tour covered a lot of ground, but it was conducted at a comfortable pace.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Tamineh F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day, though stupidly we didn't realise we booked on a national holiday and the place was incredibly busy. Well cared for and informed throughout and would use again and recommend. Well worth the money rather than a cheaper tour with a large group.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

VINAY J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

this tor was very good . The tour guide was very good . He was very communicative and with clear English. We enjoyed our time

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Ian B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The guide was knowledgeable, but his English was not good and he spoke too softly. He also did not spend enough time at various locations to let us get decent photos

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Angie Koh Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Our guides., Michael and Chelsea were friendly, informative and helpful. Though Michael speaks with accented English, we were able to understand him. However, Chelsea is more articulate. They were on time to pick us up from our hotel. There was 3 other male tourist 1 Italian and 2 Germans with me and my 2 friends, from Malaysia.
Overall, the tour seemed rushing to us, from places to places. At the Terracotta factory, we were not give enough time to browse and shop for other products. We did not get to see the other display items on sale except for the area where the Terracotta warriors are. Maybe because the other 3 male tourists are not keen to shop. We were not encouraged to stop and browse the shops along the way from the Terracotta Warriors museum site to Emperor QinShihHuang's Mausoleum.
Lunch is provided on this tour. Though the dishes are plentiful, most of it were bland. The fried chicken dish was pitiful. Upon inspection, it was just chicken necks, skins and a piece of wings. We even had to pay for our own drinks. It is not included in the lunch.
When Chelsea asked if we are interested to see the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance show and dinner, we jumped at the chance. We were grateful that the van waited for us to finish the dance show to take us back to the hotel. However, the dinner before the show was a great disappointment. We were served 12 pieces of dim sum, each piece the size of a thumb. Though we were given a bowl of chives dumpling soup 11 pieces inside and 4 ice-cube size fruits. Even the drinks served were limited to one glass. We feel that for CNY100, this dinner is not worth it. Suggestion would be to just watch the dance performance.
We did enjoyed the dance performance. The costumes were extravagant and music beautiful. Dancers were professionals and good.
Over, this tour was good. Thank you to Viator.com and the local tour operator.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

waferworld USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

great tour. worth every minute a MUST

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Randall A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing, our tour guide Chin was very knowledgeable and spoke clear english. Chin explained amy details bout the Soldiers and their history for us. Our Lunch was fantastic in the Historic restaurant, the selection of foods was plentiful and very tasty. The local wine is a bit strong so be careful 57 alcohol... deceiving by taste...
When returning to Xi'an sometime in the future we will be sure to Hire Viator again.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Cate C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Small group, knowledgeable and friendly guide -- it was a great, well-organized tour. Thanks all of you!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I initially thought about getting a taxi to see the Terracotta Army and get a guide there. So glad I opted for this tour instead. Our guide, Xin was very good and knowledgeable. The 6000 year old village was fascinating. The tour to the factory was good and a great opportunity to buy a momento of the day. Seeing the Terracotta Army is impressive and going to the Emperors Tomb topped off a perfect day.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the day and my guide, Rosemary was excellent. This trip is also a great way, if you are short of time in X'ian, to get to see some stunning big highlights all in one day. We even added in a lovely tea ceremony too. A long but thoroughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rosemary was an excellent guide, extremely knowledgeable of the city's history and culture and flexible to adjust the itinerary and accomodate requests. This tour was the ideal way to see all the highlights of Xi'an if you only have one day.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

plubarsky

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a great day. I got very lucky and there was only 1 other person on the trip and he was a lovely and interesting man so all went smoothly and quickly. We did everything that I signed up for with no muss or fuss.
The guide KImmie ws extremely knowledgeable and he went out of his way to take us to a restaurant for lunch that was actually good. If you want to know about the Terra Cotta Warriors and the 2 other sites definitely take this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

leona.tooley

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! We first stopped at the Banpo ruins. This was a very quick, but interesting, site. Next, we visited the factory where they are making terracotta warrior statue replicas. This was a great stopover! Here, you have the chance to buy a terracotta statue made from clay that is actually excavated from the terracotta warrior site. They are very reasonably priced, although much more expensive than the 'fake' clay replicas you can buy in the tourist markets. The visit to the terracotta warrior site was great. Very busy though and I felt we were rushed for time a little. All up, a great tour and I would highly recommend it :

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

CLAYTON F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Long long day, but the tour of the site was great, I did not realize it was so massive, well worth the trip

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Gina C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

i took this trip to see the terracotta warriors and was very happy to visit. the mosque was also a great site to visit. the wall can be done on your own...i only had a day so packed it all in...would have been nice to spend more time at the teracotta warrior site.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

Gwen J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Seeing the terracotta warriors is an absolute must, but I would not recommend this particular tour. Much of the day was designed to get us to spend money at touristy places. I would have preferred just seeing the warriors.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message