Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Xian City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi’an has one of the most extensive and best-preserved defensive walls in the world. This colossal structure was started under the Ming Dynasty in 1370, a few years before the Drum and Bell Towers, and replaced an earlier wall which encompassed a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had trouble working a visit to the warriors in our itinerary so took advantage of this one day trek. It was a very long day and expensive but we would not have missed the opportunity to see the site. It was breathtaking to say the least. Pictures cannot convey the magnitude of the pits. The fact that each warrior is different is mind boggling and the exacting detail of each warrior is truly spectacular. We also were very impressed with the tour of the city walls of XI'an.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great tour. Our guide was well informed and friendly. He provided great history on the creation and discovery of the warriors. The included lunch was buffet style so we were very full on the way home. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the warriors, my only complaint is that some of the exhibits were so big we could easily have spent 30-40 mins exploring but were usually just given 15min. I realise this is to keep a schedule, but if I could make a suggestion it would be to have a slightly earlier pick up and allow more time in the exhibits. But a great day and incredibly humbling experience.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was good. We had all the necessary information and our guide was open to questions. She was much more thorough one-on-one than in the group. I saw other groups getting information continually and our guide did not do that. I would have liked to know what the other groups were learning that we did not.

She was very patient however, my father made some off remarks and she did not get angry with him or appear to take offense. Although, maybe his behavior had to do with why we did not get a lot of specific information that other tours were getting.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good. Had as much time as I wanted with Terracotta warriors. Good meal. Car could have been a little nicer. Guide's English could be slightly better. Overall very pleased.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A must see and an easy way to do it if you only have a day. The guides made it easy - from the hotel pick up to the flights to the tour itself - and were very knowledgeable. Not even the constant rain that day took away from the experience.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip to Xian was overwhelming!! The terracotta warriors are absolutely worth to see, even it meant for us to get up at 4 a.m. to be at the airport in time and to come back to the hotel late at night :) The excavations in Xian – they are 3000 years old – are in an incredibly good shape and impressive in many ways. Our friendly and funny guide Chin took a lot of time to explain everything and to made this a day we will not forget. The cherry on the cake was the visit of the old city wall of Xian. We took a bicycle and had a wonderful ride into the sunset on top of the wall. Absolutely recommendable!

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, it was a very early start and was organised through Samtours. We booked 2 tours through this company with Viator but needed details for our visas and Sam was very helpful so we ended up using his company for the whole week. We were picked up from the airport when we arrived in Chengdu and driven to our hotel. We did this tour and had an excellent guide called Rosa who organised a wheelchair for me at The Terracotta Warriors Museum and took lots of photos of my daughter and me. We also used Samtours to do a chengdu City tour including a visit to the panda garden, to do a volunteer day at the Woolong Panda Centre, to visit the Lehsan Giant Buddha, The Chinese Opera and the irrigation system and mountain.Samtours also took us back to the airport when we returned home. We had the same driver all week Mr Cheung who was an excellent driver and we always felt safe with him even though Chengdu is very busy. We had excellent tour guides all week. I would like t say a big thank you to Sam, Mr Cheung, Lilleth, Andy, Rosa, and Carol for looking after us and giving us excelent memories of China

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fantastic day trip. There were only 3 of us and our guide was very informative. We had plenty of time to view these amazing statues and to browse the shop. I'd highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A great trip to see an amazing part of China's history. Our guide Sally was outstanding and very accommodating. Would loved to have stayed in this city longer but time was against us. Unfortunately our day ended up being extremely long ( 22hrs) as our departure from Xian back to Shanghai was delayed 4 hrs due to bad weather in Shanghai, certainly no fault of Viator.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, HOWEVER... Do not take the train to Xi'an, take a plane. The train is filthy and smells
like a bathroom. The sleeper cars are not private, there are two sets of bunk beds, so you will be sleeping with two strangers. Several of the bathrooms had no toilet paper, I had to walk through 6 cabins before I found some. There is NO private place to wash up. This train is for the peasants and the poor.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Xi’an Tour from Beijing: Terracotta Warriors, Ancient City Wall and Big Wild Goose Pagoda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I joined a group of 7 others from several countries, and totally enjoyed my day viewing the Banpo village and the Terracotta Warriors. This is the reason most people will go t Xi'an, and the knowledge of a good guide can make it much more interesting. I've wanted to see these statues since I was a little kid, and even though it was busy, if you are patient you can great some great photos. I bought 2 ten inch high statues from the pottery/workshop where you can see how they are made - these are much better quality than the 'tourist' shops stuff. They added a third for free. I fully recommend this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Guide was excellent and took great care of us. He was well informed and could communicate with us very well in English. He also arranged hot Vegetarian lunch specially for the two of us which was very enjoyable.
The downside of this trip was the condition of the vehicle which took us around the whole day. There were totally 7 of us in the tour and he had arranged an 8 seater mini van which was not maintained well. The entire ride was very uncomfortable.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thought it was great! The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. I would do a tour with this company again!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our main reason for visiting China,however forgot the camera but our tour leader Vicky had her phone took some great shots for us then emailed to my account.Vicky saved the day for us and we thank her ever so much.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Again, the guide (Lucia) was off the charts. Great tour guide who really made this tour what it was!! Strong English, knowledgable, and very kind. Highly recommend :)!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message