Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Xian City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi’an has one of the most extensive and best-preserved defensive walls in the world. This colossal structure was started under the Ming Dynasty in 1370, a few years before the Drum and Bell Towers, and replaced an earlier wall which encompassed a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Aaron W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The best of the tours we took. Our tour guide was great she really explained everything to us and really looked for questions and feedback. Unlike the other tours we took this guide even gave us time to explore and even buy water or a snack when needed. The only reason this wasn't rated higher is because you're forced to shop which is dumb. I know that not one person in my tour group bought anything we all just stood around waiting to leave. Also, while this says it's a full day tour keep in mind it takes about two hours one way to get there so four hours of your day is spent traveling and that doesn't include pick ups and drop offs. So this is really a half day tour of the actual tour site.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent! The tour covered a lot of ground, but it was conducted at a comfortable pace.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Tamineh F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Lovely day, though stupidly we didn't realise we booked on a national holiday and the place was incredibly busy. Well cared for and informed throughout and would use again and recommend. Well worth the money rather than a cheaper tour with a large group.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

VINAY J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

this tor was very good . The tour guide was very good . He was very communicative and with clear English. We enjoyed our time

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Ian B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The guide was knowledgeable, but his English was not good and he spoke too softly. He also did not spend enough time at various locations to let us get decent photos

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Angie Koh Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Our guides., Michael and Chelsea were friendly, informative and helpful. Though Michael speaks with accented English, we were able to understand him. However, Chelsea is more articulate. They were on time to pick us up from our hotel. There was 3 other male tourist 1 Italian and 2 Germans with me and my 2 friends, from Malaysia.
Overall, the tour seemed rushing to us, from places to places. At the Terracotta factory, we were not give enough time to browse and shop for other products. We did not get to see the other display items on sale except for the area where the Terracotta warriors are. Maybe because the other 3 male tourists are not keen to shop. We were not encouraged to stop and browse the shops along the way from the Terracotta Warriors museum site to Emperor QinShihHuang's Mausoleum.
Lunch is provided on this tour. Though the dishes are plentiful, most of it were bland. The fried chicken dish was pitiful. Upon inspection, it was just chicken necks, skins and a piece of wings. We even had to pay for our own drinks. It is not included in the lunch.
When Chelsea asked if we are interested to see the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance show and dinner, we jumped at the chance. We were grateful that the van waited for us to finish the dance show to take us back to the hotel. However, the dinner before the show was a great disappointment. We were served 12 pieces of dim sum, each piece the size of a thumb. Though we were given a bowl of chives dumpling soup 11 pieces inside and 4 ice-cube size fruits. Even the drinks served were limited to one glass. We feel that for CNY100, this dinner is not worth it. Suggestion would be to just watch the dance performance.
We did enjoyed the dance performance. The costumes were extravagant and music beautiful. Dancers were professionals and good.
Over, this tour was good. Thank you to Viator.com and the local tour operator.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

waferworld USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

great tour. worth every minute a MUST

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Randall A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing, our tour guide Chin was very knowledgeable and spoke clear english. Chin explained amy details bout the Soldiers and their history for us. Our Lunch was fantastic in the Historic restaurant, the selection of foods was plentiful and very tasty. The local wine is a bit strong so be careful 57 alcohol... deceiving by taste...
When returning to Xi'an sometime in the future we will be sure to Hire Viator again.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Cate C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Small group, knowledgeable and friendly guide -- it was a great, well-organized tour. Thanks all of you!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I initially thought about getting a taxi to see the Terracotta Army and get a guide there. So glad I opted for this tour instead. Our guide, Xin was very good and knowledgeable. The 6000 year old village was fascinating. The tour to the factory was good and a great opportunity to buy a momento of the day. Seeing the Terracotta Army is impressive and going to the Emperors Tomb topped off a perfect day.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the day and my guide, Rosemary was excellent. This trip is also a great way, if you are short of time in X'ian, to get to see some stunning big highlights all in one day. We even added in a lovely tea ceremony too. A long but thoroughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rosemary was an excellent guide, extremely knowledgeable of the city's history and culture and flexible to adjust the itinerary and accomodate requests. This tour was the ideal way to see all the highlights of Xi'an if you only have one day.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

plubarsky

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a great day. I got very lucky and there was only 1 other person on the trip and he was a lovely and interesting man so all went smoothly and quickly. We did everything that I signed up for with no muss or fuss.
The guide KImmie ws extremely knowledgeable and he went out of his way to take us to a restaurant for lunch that was actually good. If you want to know about the Terra Cotta Warriors and the 2 other sites definitely take this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

leona.tooley

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! We first stopped at the Banpo ruins. This was a very quick, but interesting, site. Next, we visited the factory where they are making terracotta warrior statue replicas. This was a great stopover! Here, you have the chance to buy a terracotta statue made from clay that is actually excavated from the terracotta warrior site. They are very reasonably priced, although much more expensive than the 'fake' clay replicas you can buy in the tourist markets. The visit to the terracotta warrior site was great. Very busy though and I felt we were rushed for time a little. All up, a great tour and I would highly recommend it :

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

CLAYTON F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Long long day, but the tour of the site was great, I did not realize it was so massive, well worth the trip

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Gina C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

i took this trip to see the terracotta warriors and was very happy to visit. the mosque was also a great site to visit. the wall can be done on your own...i only had a day so packed it all in...would have been nice to spend more time at the teracotta warrior site.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

Gwen J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Seeing the terracotta warriors is an absolute must, but I would not recommend this particular tour. Much of the day was designed to get us to spend money at touristy places. I would have preferred just seeing the warriors.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Penelope J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic day trip, plenty of time to see everything. Kemi was a great guide, excellent English and very passionate and knowledgable. Bus was comfortable, small group of 8 people

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour and thoroughly recommended - given the time needed to travel from central Xi'an to the site of the Terracotta Warriors, the full day experience is definitely recommended. Our guide was great and even arranged a traditional dumpling meal for us in the evening and to experience a local opera

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing. Great day again with a great guide.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Xian is a fascinating city. The Terra Cotta warriors are stunning and well worth visiting. The highlight of my trip to China. The city of Xian was very beautiful and still has the 13th Century walls intact and a number of other interesting buildings from the 13th Century. A long day but very worthwhile. Air delays into and out of Shanghai Airport make the day even longer

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The terracotta warriors are well worth seeing. It's a real pity that so many of them have been destroyed beyond restoration. These are 2000 years old. We also visited the 6000 year old site of an ancient village and the terracotta warrior factory. A delicious Chinese lunch was also provided. There were just 3 people on this tour so we had a good chance to chat with the guide, Lucia, who was also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. This trip was well worth going on.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message