Xian ATTRACTIONS See all

Xian City Wall (Chengqiang)

Xi’an has one of the most extensive and best-preserved defensive walls in the world. This colossal structure was started under the Ming Dynasty in 1370, a few years before the Drum and Bell Towers, and replaced an earlier wall which encompassed a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cate C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Small group, knowledgeable and friendly guide -- it was a great, well-organized tour. Thanks all of you!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I initially thought about getting a taxi to see the Terracotta Army and get a guide there. So glad I opted for this tour instead. Our guide, Xin was very good and knowledgeable. The 6000 year old village was fascinating. The tour to the factory was good and a great opportunity to buy a momento of the day. Seeing the Terracotta Army is impressive and going to the Emperors Tomb topped off a perfect day.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the day and my guide, Rosemary was excellent. This trip is also a great way, if you are short of time in X'ian, to get to see some stunning big highlights all in one day. We even added in a lovely tea ceremony too. A long but thoroughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rosemary was an excellent guide, extremely knowledgeable of the city's history and culture and flexible to adjust the itinerary and accomodate requests. This tour was the ideal way to see all the highlights of Xi'an if you only have one day.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

plubarsky

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a great day. I got very lucky and there was only 1 other person on the trip and he was a lovely and interesting man so all went smoothly and quickly. We did everything that I signed up for with no muss or fuss.
The guide KImmie ws extremely knowledgeable and he went out of his way to take us to a restaurant for lunch that was actually good. If you want to know about the Terra Cotta Warriors and the 2 other sites definitely take this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

leona.tooley

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! We first stopped at the Banpo ruins. This was a very quick, but interesting, site. Next, we visited the factory where they are making terracotta warrior statue replicas. This was a great stopover! Here, you have the chance to buy a terracotta statue made from clay that is actually excavated from the terracotta warrior site. They are very reasonably priced, although much more expensive than the 'fake' clay replicas you can buy in the tourist markets. The visit to the terracotta warrior site was great. Very busy though and I felt we were rushed for time a little. All up, a great tour and I would highly recommend it :

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

CLAYTON F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Long long day, but the tour of the site was great, I did not realize it was so massive, well worth the trip

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Gina C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

i took this trip to see the terracotta warriors and was very happy to visit. the mosque was also a great site to visit. the wall can be done on your own...i only had a day so packed it all in...would have been nice to spend more time at the teracotta warrior site.

Doing what: Private Tour of Xi’an City Wall, Great Mosque and Terracotta Warriors

Gwen J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Seeing the terracotta warriors is an absolute must, but I would not recommend this particular tour. Much of the day was designed to get us to spend money at touristy places. I would have preferred just seeing the warriors.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Penelope J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic day trip, plenty of time to see everything. Kemi was a great guide, excellent English and very passionate and knowledgable. Bus was comfortable, small group of 8 people

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour and thoroughly recommended - given the time needed to travel from central Xi'an to the site of the Terracotta Warriors, the full day experience is definitely recommended. Our guide was great and even arranged a traditional dumpling meal for us in the evening and to experience a local opera

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing. Great day again with a great guide.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Xian is a fascinating city. The Terra Cotta warriors are stunning and well worth visiting. The highlight of my trip to China. The city of Xian was very beautiful and still has the 13th Century walls intact and a number of other interesting buildings from the 13th Century. A long day but very worthwhile. Air delays into and out of Shanghai Airport make the day even longer

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Day Trip from Shanghai by Air

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The terracotta warriors are well worth seeing. It's a real pity that so many of them have been destroyed beyond restoration. These are 2000 years old. We also visited the 6000 year old site of an ancient village and the terracotta warrior factory. A delicious Chinese lunch was also provided. There were just 3 people on this tour so we had a good chance to chat with the guide, Lucia, who was also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. This trip was well worth going on.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

hk4332

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although booked a group tour, we were the only one's on it so very happy for the guaranteed trip. Our guide Michelle was very knowledgeable and helpful in navigating the crazy crowds on the May 1st Holiday and was patient as we took thousands of photos. The Warriors are magnificent and the archeological work and restoration facisnating. Biking along the city wall was also a wonderful way to end the day.

Doing what: Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Wall Bike Tour

Joseph L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Joy was an excellant guide. Very Knowledgable.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

MimiD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is truly a 5 star experience, the guide and driver were both very professional and courteous. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

ghirasaki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful tour of the Terracotta Warriors. Our guide Sally was great. We were pleased to have a small group and would work with Viator again if need a guided tour. I would recommend the company and especially the guide.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jose B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Really nice place to visit, worth the trip unto Xi an.
The guide Jenny made it much better with her clear explanations and answers.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Lourdes G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great day, really enjoyed the whole day. Our tour guide was very nice and informative.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

BA pwd

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very busy day, started at 0530 drive to airport and ended at 2200 returning to the hotel in Chengdu but thoroughly enjoyable and well worth the long day. We had our own guide and driver she was great, learnt the fascinating history of the Emperor Xin, the Terracotta warriors story etc. Excellent experience. Good local lunch. Overall, excellent trip and well organised - for one of those, just have to, trips!

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

senemsezek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thank you very much Lucia and the driver for an unforgettable day...the terracotta army and Bampo are truly a great experience and highly recommended!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

wisecrack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very well organised tour, well recommended

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Joan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour...very interesting

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message