In 1974, local farmers digging a well near Xi’an, China made one of the most important archeological discoveries in history. What started as one life-sized statue of a clay warrior soon became an entire army of thousands, making Xi’an one of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The terracotta warriors are well worth seeing. It's a real pity that so many of them have been destroyed beyond restoration. These are 2000 years old. We also visited the 6000 year old site of an ancient village and the terracotta warrior factory. A delicious Chinese lunch was also provided. There were just 3 people on this tour so we had a good chance to chat with the guide, Lucia, who was also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. This trip was well worth going on.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our group was small - just my three family members - so it was a very comfortable personal tour. We were picked up from our hotel at 1pm by our guide Michelle, a local. Her English was very understandable, despite not being her first language, and she was perfectly capable of conveying lots of interesting information about the surrounding area and the Terracotta Warriors themselves.
The Terracotta Warriors was crowded at 2pm that Tuesday, but not so crowded that we felt uncomfortable. We just had to be a bit patient and wait for the people to move away from the railings to get a nice clear view of the humungous viewing areas in all 3 pits.
The dumpling banquet was more for the fun of trying dumplings of different flavours and shapes, but not so much filling. Also, we were supposed to arrive by 6.30pm, even though the show which is in the same location only starts at 8pm. So, eat your dumplings slowly otherwise be sure to let a hostess know to save your table if you want to walk around outside.
The show itself was very nice, with a mix of dancing and music but bear in mind that this was all performed as if for the Emperor, i.e. a ONE person audience. So sitting dead centre tends to be better for viewing the dances. We especially enjoyed the two instrumental solos - the performers were really good and added a touch of humour.
Overall we had a really good time, and would most definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors, Dumpling Banquet and Tang Dynasty Show in Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were unable to do the Panda portion of the tour due to the Park being closed but instead we added a visit to the City Wall, and Big Wild Goose Pagoda. Rosemary was amazing, in addition to having excellent language skills she was well versed in the history of the sites we visited and added to the overall experience by sharing her personal experience of growing up in Xi'An. The Terracotta Warriors are not to be missed but all of Xi'An is well worth the time. Our driver was safe and efficient and it truly was a day to be remembered.

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I happened to be the only person who signed up for this tour so I ended up getting a private tour without really signing up for one. The Terracotta Warriors were great and the guides estimate of spending 2.5 hours there was the perfect amount of time. I saw everything I wanted to see. I mentioned for lunch that I had a few dietary restrictions and they had no issues accommodating them. There was so much food and I definitely left full! The Hot Springs were relaxing but the English at the spa isn't great. You just have to be willing to get into a pool and see what happens. Most were hot and had plants floating in them but I did find one pool that had the fish that nibble at your feet. It was unexpected but a fun memory! I would have loved to stay there longer but I was there for 2 hours so I can't really complain. They were sticking to the schedule of having me back around 5pm.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour to the Terracotta Warriors and Hot Springs Spa from Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful tour of the Terracotta Warriors. Our guide Sally was great. We were pleased to have a small group and would work with Viator again if need a guided tour. I would recommend the company and especially the guide.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thank you very much Lucia and the driver for an unforgettable day...the terracotta army and Bampo are truly a great experience and highly recommended!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Terracotta Warriors were amazing. Once in a lifetime dream come true. Our Tour Guide Jing Jing was the best. Fluent in English and very knowledgable. I wish she could have been our tour guide for the the whole trip. Unfortunately the Panda tour got canceled because the place was closed so we were able to go see a Tang Dynasty music show and have dumplings. It was great!!! Highly Recommend

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this tour from Viator, it was easy, safe and value for money.
In China the company that ran the tour, Hangtang Tours was amazing.
We enjoyed this tour, the warriors were wonderful a must see site in Xi'an.
Our tour guide Lucia was friendly, informative and welcoming.
This tour included a visit to the Banpo Village, a great bonus for those who love archaeological sites. A visit to the traditional terracotta museum where they make life size warriors. Then to the Warriors site where after view Pit 1 we had a nice buffet lunch.
This tour was great and one of our top picks for China.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Michelle was very knowledgeable in the history of Xi’an, the terracotta warriors and the whole history of china. Timing was very good. There was enough time to see the exhibits, take pictures, and learn, without feeling rushed. Michelle knows paths that were less crowded and optimized time. Our driver was very safe. We highly recommend this tour. Lunch was delicious, one of our favorite meals in china.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour to the Terracotta Warriors and Hot Springs Spa from Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour exceeded my expectations. Great driver and clean van with heat. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Touring the Terracotta Warriors was something Ive always wanted to experience and it was exceptional. Also, the lunch provided included a buffet with different types of noodles and a set menu. It was more than enough for us. Perfect end to a great tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing day with Willow and Mr. Wang in Xi'an! The day was perfect - Willow knew all about the pandas and when we needed to arrive. We were super lucky and got to see a bunch up close. Lunch was great too - we ate with Willow and Mr. Wang so they had great suggestions we would not have known about. And then the experience at the terracottas was just fantastic. Really such a great day - Willow even set up dinner at one of the Tung dynasty shows for us. Willow and Mr. Wang, the driver, went above and beyond for us. We had many tour guides on out trip and Willow was one of, if not, the best.

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Just a note to let you know I have a 5* rating to your National Treasures Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors Tour that we took on 7th September 2014 with tour guide Sunny. The tour had a real quality feel and Sunny was a wonderful guide keeping things moving along on track without ever making us feel as if we had to keep up with the schedule. She was a knowledgable but fun addition to our party. The lunch was really good and added to the special feel of the day.

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I joined a group of 7 others from several countries, and totally enjoyed my day viewing the Banpo village and the Terracotta Warriors. This is the reason most people will go t Xi'an, and the knowledge of a good guide can make it much more interesting. I've wanted to see these statues since I was a little kid, and even though it was busy, if you are patient you can great some great photos. I bought 2 ten inch high statues from the pottery/workshop where you can see how they are made - these are much better quality than the 'tourist' shops stuff. They added a third for free. I fully recommend this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Sunny rang and introduced herself the day before the tour and suggested an earlier start time because of the Moon festival traffic - a wise choice! The Pandas were adorable and came out in the rain to see us. The terracotta warriors were stupendous and made all the more real by Sunny's engaging stories and factual information. Sunny was a joy and a flexible guide, keeping to tour timescales but without ever making us feel rushed. We enjoyed the best meal we have ever had as part of a tour and it made the whole day seem high quality and special. A long day but a fabulous tour - do it!

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Once again Viator has provided me with even better than I exactly wanted ! The tour guide Vicky spoke perfect English and the driver and van were excellent. She rang shortly after I arrived at my hotel in Xi'an and picked me up right on the arranged time the next day. Even though there were no other passengers they still took me on what was a most brilliant tour with a great lunch. The neolithic village Banpo from 6000 years ago is amazing as a first stop off then the Terracotta Warriors are far beyond any expectations. To sum up what Viator means to me is that I can go 20,000 kms from home and know that I will be shown the best sites in town by the best guides in town from the Colosseum to the Terracotta Warriors ! To me Viator means: "Reliability, Quality and Value !" Thank you so much for being so great !

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We completed our tour of China's National Treasures - Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors as arranged today. We'd like to thank our Tour Guide, Jade & our driver. They were both very professional, friendly and helpful. Jade was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our driver was very polite and professional and his car clean and safe. Thanks again.

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Amazing experience, Terracotta warriors is a must in China! The guide called me on the night before the tour to my hotel to tell me the pick-up time. She was very friendly, with a good attitude always with a smile in her face and responded all our questions. Her English level was good enough for keeping a good conversation with all of us, even though it was a mixed group from different countries and different English levels. In overall, it was a great experience, 100% recommended.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The guide was brilliant. He was very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. The terracotta warriors were amazing!!! Had a great lunch tasting some delicious Chinese cuisine and the tour guide went over and above to make our day worthwhile.

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The best way to see Xi'an! We really had so much fun on this tour, from start to finish! Our primary objective was to see and learn about the Terracotta Warriors and we were so happy we did this in a small group. Our guide was amazing and explained to us about the significance the warriors had to Emperor Qin. The bike tour around the Xi'an city wall was great as well - such a cool way to sight see!

Doing what: Best Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Wall Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

I was picked up on time and was called the night before to get the time. I was with a couple so only 3 on tour. This included a trip to Banpo village; a 6000 year old village that was found and excavated. This was really cool to see. The Terracotta Warriors far exceeded my expectations and was just awe inspiring. I even bought a book and had it signed by the farmer that discovered them. Definitely a trip well worth the time and price.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jason L
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I was lucky enough to get a private tour since no one else booked the tour on that day! My guide was extremely accommodating and knowledgeable, and a lady driver who was highly skilled on the roads! It also helped that the guide was able to converse in both English and Mandarin. The whole tour was really a big history lesson of Xi'an. First, we went to the Big Goose Pagoda for a walkabout. Then we went to the Banpo Museum, which I rather enjoyed! It was akin to seeing the Roman ruins, except the Banpo version is a matriarchal Chinese settlement thousands of years ago. After the museum, we went to this factory where they make the terracotta warriors. Admittedly, while it was interesting to see, prices here are way higher than what you can get at the street markets in town. Unless you want to purchase a life size warrior, you are better off getting them at 10 yuan a set somewhere else. Of course, the highlight was after lunch, the Terracotta Warriors Bing Ma Yong. My guide took great effort to explain in detail what was going on. We went to all the pits and the museum. Even though it was absolutely freezing there's no heating nor doors, I enjoyed the visit very much! Our last stop was the South Gate of the city walls, which was a good hour back into town. I imagine that if the tour was in summer, it would be brilliant, but as I was the only one on the wall, there's really nothing much to see with the pollution and fog surrounding us. Overall, I felt that this tour was comprehensive and absolutely worth going for.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Shirley T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

We travelled with a small group-only five- and the program was excellent. Our tour guide was most informative and pleasant and I would thoroughly recommend him. The terracotta warriors surpassed expectations and the other sites we visited were well worth the trip.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The walk in the National Park was amazing, if it was not raining, it would have been better. The lunch was great too. One would wonder how one king would built all these Terracotta Warriors? Our tour guide gave us guide whenever we need to.
One regret - in the trip, we were recommended by the tour guide and the driver to go for Tang Dynasty Dinner Show. A few times the invitation was extended to us, obviously we know we had to pay, so we ask for the price, a menu was given by the driver to choose which package of food and dance. And we were highly recommended to go for the show with dumpling dinner. At the almost end of our visit at Terracotta, we had the impression that we had to go back to the city soonest possible. So we asked the tour guide, may be we just go for the dance show, does the organizer has the package of just the show, we were told we have to stick with what we agreed earlier and rushed back to the city. Later on we found out that there is minimal package that not including dinner, and the dumpling dinner was the most expensive one. The dumplings were NOT delicious, I had a more detail comment about Tang Dynasty Dinner Show on Tripadvisor. Stick with the national park and terracotta Warriors, do not fall into getting the most expensive package of Tang Dynasty Dinner Show.

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was a surprise as there were just the four of us, the guide and our driver in the van.
The Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. The Terracotta Warriors were breathtaking and far larger and greater in number than I expected. The Museums/exposition halls housing the 3 digs are very educational and well done. Our unch was the most delicious of any we'd had in China...an excellent choice with interesting and yummy dishes. The Pandas were an hour and a half away and were so cute. We saw 5 of them...some eating lying on their backs, and some were eating or sleeping in trees. While they were impressive, the grounds were not. They seem to have fallen into some disrepair and there is quite a bit of overgrowth of vegetation...have they fallen out of favor in terms of government subsidies and support? Overall the day was wonderful...A long day with (3) hour and a half+ segments in the car, but our driver was masterful in navigating the perils of driving in Xi'an traffic!!!

Doing what: Private Tour of China’s National Treasures: Giant Pandas and Terracotta Warriors in Xi’an

Belmont
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The day trip was excellently organised. The Travel Guide arrived on time, albeit we were only a small party.
We went to the Banpo site first which was interesting although something that I couuld have easily left out of the tour. The Terracotta Warriors were brilliant although we went during the National China Holiday week so all the locals were on holiday so the queues were incredibly long and the crowds overwhelming. Due to the high volume of people it was difficult to see everything at a leisurely pace. We went into the Gift/Souvenir shop afterwards to purchase a book, which was signed by the Farmer who had discovered the treasures!
Overall, well worth a visit.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message