In 1974, local farmers digging a well near Xi’an, China made one of the most important archeological discoveries in history. What started as one life-sized statue of a clay warrior soon became an entire army of thousands, making Xi’an one of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MICHAEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Of all the tours in China this was the one we were looking forward to the most! And it didn't disappoint!
We were picked up from our hotel at 9am, taken to a terracotta warrior factory - where I must say the sell wasn't as pushy as other factory tours. We then visited Banpo, an ancient village settlement followed by lunch. Then onto the Terracotta Warriors....breathtaking! More than enough time to visit and explore, our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer any questions that we had.
When we visit China again Xi'an is a definite must for a second visit.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I initially thought about getting a taxi to see the Terracotta Army and get a guide there. So glad I opted for this tour instead. Our guide, Xin was very good and knowledgeable. The 6000 year old village was fascinating. The tour to the factory was good and a great opportunity to buy a momento of the day. Seeing the Terracotta Army is impressive and going to the Emperors Tomb topped off a perfect day.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour and thoroughly recommended - given the time needed to travel from central Xi'an to the site of the Terracotta Warriors, the full day experience is definitely recommended. Our guide was great and even arranged a traditional dumpling meal for us in the evening and to experience a local opera

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The terracotta warriors are well worth seeing. It's a real pity that so many of them have been destroyed beyond restoration. These are 2000 years old. We also visited the 6000 year old site of an ancient village and the terracotta warrior factory. A delicious Chinese lunch was also provided. There were just 3 people on this tour so we had a good chance to chat with the guide, Lucia, who was also very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. This trip was well worth going on.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Danielle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our group was small - just my three family members - so it was a very comfortable personal tour. We were picked up from our hotel at 1pm by our guide Michelle, a local. Her English was very understandable, despite not being her first language, and she was perfectly capable of conveying lots of interesting information about the surrounding area and the Terracotta Warriors themselves.
The Terracotta Warriors was crowded at 2pm that Tuesday, but not so crowded that we felt uncomfortable. We just had to be a bit patient and wait for the people to move away from the railings to get a nice clear view of the humungous viewing areas in all 3 pits.
The dumpling banquet was more for the fun of trying dumplings of different flavours and shapes, but not so much filling. Also, we were supposed to arrive by 6.30pm, even though the show which is in the same location only starts at 8pm. So, eat your dumplings slowly otherwise be sure to let a hostess know to save your table if you want to walk around outside.
The show itself was very nice, with a mix of dancing and music but bear in mind that this was all performed as if for the Emperor, i.e. a ONE person audience. So sitting dead centre tends to be better for viewing the dances. We especially enjoyed the two instrumental solos - the performers were really good and added a touch of humour.
Overall we had a really good time, and would most definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors, Dumpling Banquet and Tang Dynasty Show in Xi’an

Emel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I happened to be the only person who signed up for this tour so I ended up getting a private tour without really signing up for one. The Terracotta Warriors were great and the guides estimate of spending 2.5 hours there was the perfect amount of time. I saw everything I wanted to see. I mentioned for lunch that I had a few dietary restrictions and they had no issues accommodating them. There was so much food and I definitely left full! The Hot Springs were relaxing but the English at the spa isn't great. You just have to be willing to get into a pool and see what happens. Most were hot and had plants floating in them but I did find one pool that had the fish that nibble at your feet. It was unexpected but a fun memory! I would have loved to stay there longer but I was there for 2 hours so I can't really complain. They were sticking to the schedule of having me back around 5pm.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour to the Terracotta Warriors and Hot Springs Spa from Xi’an

ghirasaki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful tour of the Terracotta Warriors. Our guide Sally was great. We were pleased to have a small group and would work with Viator again if need a guided tour. I would recommend the company and especially the guide.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

senemsezek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thank you very much Lucia and the driver for an unforgettable day...the terracotta army and Bampo are truly a great experience and highly recommended!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this tour from Viator, it was easy, safe and value for money.
In China the company that ran the tour, Hangtang Tours was amazing.
We enjoyed this tour, the warriors were wonderful a must see site in Xi'an.
Our tour guide Lucia was friendly, informative and welcoming.
This tour included a visit to the Banpo Village, a great bonus for those who love archaeological sites. A visit to the traditional terracotta museum where they make life size warriors. Then to the Warriors site where after view Pit 1 we had a nice buffet lunch.
This tour was great and one of our top picks for China.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

semaj USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour exceeded my expectations. Great driver and clean van with heat. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Touring the Terracotta Warriors was something Ive always wanted to experience and it was exceptional. Also, the lunch provided included a buffet with different types of noodles and a set menu. It was more than enough for us. Perfect end to a great tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I joined a group of 7 others from several countries, and totally enjoyed my day viewing the Banpo village and the Terracotta Warriors. This is the reason most people will go t Xi'an, and the knowledge of a good guide can make it much more interesting. I've wanted to see these statues since I was a little kid, and even though it was busy, if you are patient you can great some great photos. I bought 2 ten inch high statues from the pottery/workshop where you can see how they are made - these are much better quality than the 'tourist' shops stuff. They added a third for free. I fully recommend this tour.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

JOHN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Once again Viator has provided me with even better than I exactly wanted ! The tour guide Vicky spoke perfect English and the driver and van were excellent. She rang shortly after I arrived at my hotel in Xi'an and picked me up right on the arranged time the next day. Even though there were no other passengers they still took me on what was a most brilliant tour with a great lunch. The neolithic village Banpo from 6000 years ago is amazing as a first stop off then the Terracotta Warriors are far beyond any expectations. To sum up what Viator means to me is that I can go 20,000 kms from home and know that I will be shown the best sites in town by the best guides in town from the Colosseum to the Terracotta Warriors ! To me Viator means: "Reliability, Quality and Value !" Thank you so much for being so great !

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Galo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Amazing experience, Terracotta warriors is a must in China! The guide called me on the night before the tour to my hotel to tell me the pick-up time. She was very friendly, with a good attitude always with a smile in her face and responded all our questions. Her English level was good enough for keeping a good conversation with all of us, even though it was a mixed group from different countries and different English levels. In overall, it was a great experience, 100% recommended.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The best way to see Xi'an! We really had so much fun on this tour, from start to finish! Our primary objective was to see and learn about the Terracotta Warriors and we were so happy we did this in a small group. Our guide was amazing and explained to us about the significance the warriors had to Emperor Qin. The bike tour around the Xi'an city wall was great as well - such a cool way to sight see!

Doing what: Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Wall Bike Tour

Charles S. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

I was picked up on time and was called the night before to get the time. I was with a couple so only 3 on tour. This included a trip to Banpo village; a 6000 year old village that was found and excavated. This was really cool to see. The Terracotta Warriors far exceeded my expectations and was just awe inspiring. I even bought a book and had it signed by the farmer that discovered them. Definitely a trip well worth the time and price.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Jason L Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I was lucky enough to get a private tour since no one else booked the tour on that day! My guide was extremely accommodating and knowledgeable, and a lady driver who was highly skilled on the roads! It also helped that the guide was able to converse in both English and Mandarin. The whole tour was really a big history lesson of Xi'an. First, we went to the Big Goose Pagoda for a walkabout. Then we went to the Banpo Museum, which I rather enjoyed! It was akin to seeing the Roman ruins, except the Banpo version is a matriarchal Chinese settlement thousands of years ago. After the museum, we went to this factory where they make the terracotta warriors. Admittedly, while it was interesting to see, prices here are way higher than what you can get at the street markets in town. Unless you want to purchase a life size warrior, you are better off getting them at 10 yuan a set somewhere else. Of course, the highlight was after lunch, the Terracotta Warriors Bing Ma Yong. My guide took great effort to explain in detail what was going on. We went to all the pits and the museum. Even though it was absolutely freezing there's no heating nor doors, I enjoyed the visit very much! Our last stop was the South Gate of the city walls, which was a good hour back into town. I imagine that if the tour was in summer, it would be brilliant, but as I was the only one on the wall, there's really nothing much to see with the pollution and fog surrounding us. Overall, I felt that this tour was comprehensive and absolutely worth going for.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Shirley T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

We travelled with a small group-only five- and the program was excellent. Our tour guide was most informative and pleasant and I would thoroughly recommend him. The terracotta warriors surpassed expectations and the other sites we visited were well worth the trip.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

leona.tooley

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! We first stopped at the Banpo ruins. This was a very quick, but interesting, site. Next, we visited the factory where they are making terracotta warrior statue replicas. This was a great stopover! Here, you have the chance to buy a terracotta statue made from clay that is actually excavated from the terracotta warrior site. They are very reasonably priced, although much more expensive than the 'fake' clay replicas you can buy in the tourist markets. The visit to the terracotta warrior site was great. Very busy though and I felt we were rushed for time a little. All up, a great tour and I would highly recommend it :

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Belmont United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The day trip was excellently organised. The Travel Guide arrived on time, albeit we were only a small party.
We went to the Banpo site first which was interesting although something that I couuld have easily left out of the tour. The Terracotta Warriors were brilliant although we went during the National China Holiday week so all the locals were on holiday so the queues were incredibly long and the crowds overwhelming. Due to the high volume of people it was difficult to see everything at a leisurely pace. We went into the Gift/Souvenir shop afterwards to purchase a book, which was signed by the Farmer who had discovered the treasures!
Overall, well worth a visit.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

KEITH R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great day and informative and pleasant guide Lucia. Enjoyed having a private tour as we were the only passengers Advantage of travelling at quiet time of the year. Terracotta warriors are amazing. Trip did not include the advertised "After lunch, you will travel to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, a symbol of the city. Step on the Xi'an's city wall. It is the most complete and best preserved city wall in all of China, dating back some 600 years" but did include an unexpected shopping stop at Terracotta Warrior reproduction shop. We would have preferred to see the other sights as advertised if given a choice.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

01parkerd

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Overall a very good tour, I had expected a group tour but (I guess due to no-one else paying) it was a private tour. Guide had excellent English and was very knowledgeable.

Didn't really need the tour of the Terracotta Warrior workshop, 2 minutes of how they make reproductions then left to 'browse' the shopping area. Overly expensive and once we had left the guide told us that's not the best place to purchase reproductions anyway!

The rest of the day was excellent though, meal was pretty good, plenty of food. The warriors were amazing. Would highly recommend the tour, just don't waste money at the workshop.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Sarah F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

great tour. we covered 3 major sites. the wild goose pagoda, the original ancient settlement and the terracotta warriors. it was national week when i was there so i actually got to meet the farmer who discovered the site which was cool. the trip had the right pace. the guide was excellent, great English, took time to ensure we managed to see each area of the site and took photos for everyone and pointed out the best spots for you.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Carole N Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Overall, we were very happy with this tour. It was a little more expensive than local tours, but it was worth it to have a tour group of only 8, instead of the groups of 30 that we saw all around us. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and sincere. The bus was comfortable and air-conditioned, and the itinerary covered all of the important sights we wanted to see in our brief visit to Xian. The only disappointment was the lunch provided, it was designed for tourists, and was quite bland compared to the wonderful, flavorful, authentic local cuisine we were expecting to try. And one more piece of advice - they will take you to a "factory" where they make little terracotta warriors replicas. It's a great place to take pictures, but try to avoid buying anything - the prices were about 10 times more expensive then buying the exact same figures in the Muslim Quarter!

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Angie Koh Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Our guides., Michael and Chelsea were friendly, informative and helpful. Though Michael speaks with accented English, we were able to understand him. However, Chelsea is more articulate. They were on time to pick us up from our hotel. There was 3 other male tourist 1 Italian and 2 Germans with me and my 2 friends, from Malaysia.
Overall, the tour seemed rushing to us, from places to places. At the Terracotta factory, we were not give enough time to browse and shop for other products. We did not get to see the other display items on sale except for the area where the Terracotta warriors are. Maybe because the other 3 male tourists are not keen to shop. We were not encouraged to stop and browse the shops along the way from the Terracotta Warriors museum site to Emperor QinShihHuang's Mausoleum.
Lunch is provided on this tour. Though the dishes are plentiful, most of it were bland. The fried chicken dish was pitiful. Upon inspection, it was just chicken necks, skins and a piece of wings. We even had to pay for our own drinks. It is not included in the lunch.
When Chelsea asked if we are interested to see the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance show and dinner, we jumped at the chance. We were grateful that the van waited for us to finish the dance show to take us back to the hotel. However, the dinner before the show was a great disappointment. We were served 12 pieces of dim sum, each piece the size of a thumb. Though we were given a bowl of chives dumpling soup 11 pieces inside and 4 ice-cube size fruits. Even the drinks served were limited to one glass. We feel that for CNY100, this dinner is not worth it. Suggestion would be to just watch the dance performance.
We did enjoyed the dance performance. The costumes were extravagant and music beautiful. Dancers were professionals and good.
Over, this tour was good. Thank you to Viator.com and the local tour operator.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Gwen J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Seeing the terracotta warriors is an absolute must, but I would not recommend this particular tour. Much of the day was designed to get us to spend money at touristy places. I would have preferred just seeing the warriors.

Doing what: Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message