The Yangtze River winds through Hubei Province in the heart of China and through some of the country’s most spectacular scenery. Along a 75 mile (120.7 kilometer) stretch of the river sits the Three Gorges: an area famous not only for its stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The included tours were very good as well as interesting. We were the only two Australians on board 18 Germans and the rest chinese, so we had our own guides for the included tours. These were very good. The Three Gorges Dam tour was interesting, the side tour up a river valley ending in a ride on a wooden boat rowed by boatmen using wooden oars was fascinating, and the last tour to a wooden pagado again was excellent. The boat itself was adequate, faded and in need if an upgrade, however it served our needs. The staff were faultless, always smiling and very helpful. However waiting for a cocktail took all my patience and it wasn't the fault of the bar staff ,rather a poorly organised system.
I recommend the cruise on the president 1 if you want to see chinese culture and views other than cities but aren't looking for a five star accommodation.

Doing what: 5-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Yichang to Chongqing Including the Three Gorges Dam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour through the cradle of China, with majestic awe inspiring views of the 3 gorges and the little gorges.

The only drawback, I was the ONLY non-Chinese in a boat carrying more than 200 people and the language problems were severe, even though the staff on the boat were most helpful.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Pros: wonderful landscapes, the included excursions were also nice, the boat (Goddess) and the room (standard) were very nice, the food was acceptable.
Cons: you need to pay for every form of entertainment while on the boat- 20 yuan to sing a song at the karaoke night or watch a movie. The whole experience although very nice was overpriced.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

We booked the 5 star Gold cruise ship but instead the agency gave us a room on the president 1 ship. The room was ok but the bathroom not very clean. On top of that the agency told us that we had to pay for the fengdu tour excursion as it was optional. The staff onboard however was very kind.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Boat fantastic. Rooms clean/comfy. Tours/guides highly recommended especially mini gorges. This is Chinese tour few westerners but meeting your fellow passengers is half the fun and you will be looked after amazingly by Snow who deserves special praise. Even of you know no Chinese (me) still go here

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The most important comments are positives:
1. Very interesting cruise.
2. Caring staff
3. There were only a few non Chinese speakers on the cruise. The staff went out of their way to make certain we were cared for.
Unfortunately, a number of negatives:
1.Too many items were considered an upgrade which required an extra fee.
2. Food quality needs to improve especially for western tastes.
3. Bed should be more comfortable.
4. The option we chose was 5 star plus. This is a gross exaggeration.
5. My gut feeling is that the price for Chinese tourists was lower than the price paid by Westerners.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It would be good to let prospective passengers know that a river cruiser (boat)
is NOT the same as an international ocean cruiser. I wonder how you managed
to get wheel-chair bound passengers up to the fifth-floor cabins and the sixth-floor
open deck without proper ramps or lifts.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very comprehensive coverage of the relevant sights that should not be missed along the Yangtze. Hassle-free check-in onboard the ship on the first day. Spacious and pleasant ship interior. There are no elevators though. Good and substantial meals onboard.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message