The Yangtze River winds through Hubei Province in the heart of China and through some of the country’s most spectacular scenery. Along a 75 mile (120.7 kilometer) stretch of the river sits the Three Gorges: an area famous not only for its stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It's my first time visiting China. Overall I had a great time and am enjoyed my stay. I booked mine around Chinese New Year and received a 20 discount. I booked as a solo traveler and got the option of sharing a room with a traveler or pay more for solo-with-own-room. I chose the former and received the latter without paying more for it when I arrived in China. I was happy with that.

The tour has touched all the highlights shown in the itinerary.

Pros:
1 An inexpensive tour to catch the key highlights of Beijing, Xian, Shanghai, Chongquing and the Yangtze river
2 English speaking tour guides
3 Small group, around 10 people. The travelers in my group are from: US, Canada, Sweden and Britain

Cons:
1 Don't expect to have great food choices
2 Will take you to visit shops that you might not like
3 Transfer from one tour guide to another between one city to the next was poorly done it might be wise to take down your tour guide's name and phone from the get-go
4 Tour guides and bus operators should not be charging the customer for bottle water
5 Not all tour guides speak clear English

Doing what: 11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Chongqing with Yangtze River Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I are both interested in Easten culture, therefore, we choose China for our honeymoon. I’d like to say that it’s the best choice I have ever made. We had a great time in this trip. We visited the top attractions in China. All of them are terrific. The Great Wall is magnificent, the Forbidden City is spectacular, the life-sized Terracotta Warriors are gorgeous. Each attraction in my mind possesses it’s own unique beauty. Sorry for the short list. We took a lot of photos for a good memory. And I’m sure that we will cherish them forever. At last, I want to give my great thanks to our nice guide David who is very considerate and helped us a lot during this pleasant period.

Doing what: 11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Chongqing with Yangtze River Cruise

Bing
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I had a great time in China. I visited many interesting places during this trip. Besides, I appreciated many wonderful performance in each attraction. Our tour guide is very passionate and considerate. With her help, my trip became more pleasant and memorable. Those well know scenic spots like the Great Wall, the Fobidden City, the Summer Palace never fail to stir my excitement.

Doing what: 11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Chongqing with Yangtze River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour through the cradle of China, with majestic awe inspiring views of the 3 gorges and the little gorges.

The only drawback, I was the ONLY non-Chinese in a boat carrying more than 200 people and the language problems were severe, even though the staff on the boat were most helpful.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Pros: wonderful landscapes, the included excursions were also nice, the boat (Goddess) and the room (standard) were very nice, the food was acceptable.
Cons: you need to pay for every form of entertainment while on the boat- 20 yuan to sing a song at the karaoke night or watch a movie. The whole experience although very nice was overpriced.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

We booked the 5 star Gold cruise ship but instead the agency gave us a room on the president 1 ship. The room was ok but the bathroom not very clean. On top of that the agency told us that we had to pay for the fengdu tour excursion as it was optional. The staff onboard however was very kind.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Boat fantastic. Rooms clean/comfy. Tours/guides highly recommended especially mini gorges. This is Chinese tour few westerners but meeting your fellow passengers is half the fun and you will be looked after amazingly by Snow who deserves special praise. Even of you know no Chinese (me) still go here

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The most important comments are positives:
1. Very interesting cruise.
2. Caring staff
3. There were only a few non Chinese speakers on the cruise. The staff went out of their way to make certain we were cared for.
Unfortunately, a number of negatives:
1.Too many items were considered an upgrade which required an extra fee.
2. Food quality needs to improve especially for western tastes.
3. Bed should be more comfortable.
4. The option we chose was 5 star plus. This is a gross exaggeration.
5. My gut feeling is that the price for Chinese tourists was lower than the price paid by Westerners.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It would be good to let prospective passengers know that a river cruiser (boat)
is NOT the same as an international ocean cruiser. I wonder how you managed
to get wheel-chair bound passengers up to the fifth-floor cabins and the sixth-floor
open deck without proper ramps or lifts.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very comprehensive coverage of the relevant sights that should not be missed along the Yangtze. Hassle-free check-in onboard the ship on the first day. Spacious and pleasant ship interior. There are no elevators though. Good and substantial meals onboard.

Doing what: 4-Day Yangtze River Cruise from Chongqing to Yichang including the Three Gorges Dam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message