With an abundance of medieval architecture and historic landmarks to admire during the day and a lively bar and restaurant scene to enjoy once the sun goes down, there’s plenty to keep you busy in York. Here are a few ideas for how to spend 3 days ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fantastic our tour guide/driver Mark was full of interesting information. We were so glad we did this tour as it was so full of deverse landscapes and Mark made sure we had time to see everthing.

Doing what: Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York

mmortonuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Right off the train and onto the bus outside. York is not a big city so it takes about one hour to complete the ring road tour seeing and being pointed towards the main sites. Good commentary on board with regular stops to visit the attractions.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Docia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome way to see the city! Totally do this!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Ian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We did the tour twice, once on Saturday, with the recorded commentary,and then a repeat on Sunday morning with a live guide who was brilliant, both informative and funny.
Would highly recommend the trip

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ANDREA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the bus tour, entertaining commentary as we travelled. gave us ideas of parts of city to visit.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great day was had by all. The attraction gives you a brief history of the City of York from the Romans to present day. The actors get the crowd involved which adds to a great experience that will not be forgotten.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Huzefa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is helpful for checking out the city quickly, specially if you have about 1.5 hours to spare in the city. Quickly takes you to places around the downtown York area. It was also USD 19, so it is cheaper to take this bus for a day pass instead of paying the same to a cab to go everywhere. Alternatively, one could walk the city, but this is a nice ride if you wanna take it easy and not walk.

Commentary is in english and it gives a decent idea about the layout and some basic history of the place.

Overall, I would say 'not bad' in British terms, but 'fabulous' in American terms...:

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

nod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent place to visit lots of history. Many statues going back to BC period. Garden good to walk around. Used the tripadvisor voucher. Interesting reception staff said had not seen one of these before. But no trouble getting in.

Doing what: Castle Howard Entrance Ticket

Joanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alot cheaper than on the door, very funny. Worth a visit!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Jane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative and funny!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Beverley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Funny, jumpy, good entertainment, crowd involving and thoroughly enjoyed it

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

wally

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Not really a dungeon. Actors were wonderful. Really involved the audience. learned all about torture.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

lucybel56

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A worthwhile way to see York as it went to all the main attractions and gave us a chance to see places of interest. We were able to use it as transport to our pre-booked York Dungeons experience. We were able to visit York Minster and the Chocolate Story.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ricky B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An audience participation trip back to ye olde York. Great trip back in time. Cant say anything else without spoiling it. You will laugh and you will get the odd scare. I give this 5 stars :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We went around several times as the guides changed and there was so much information to take in. We loved the convenience of being able to get on and off as we wished.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Beth Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Guide was very knowledgable and had a terrific sense of humor. We enjoyed learning about the historiacal siginifcance of York, and it was presented in a very entertaining and informative manner

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Denis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We really enjoyed taking this tour, saw all the major attractions and were able to situate ourselves in London, thus being able to walk to the many attractions. Also included a Thames river cruise, which was unexpected.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Brian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I'm a fan of City Hop-on Hop-off Tours while travelling, especially internationally. Not being familiar with these cities, and trying not to miss any important sites, this is a fantastic opportunity to see the best of what each city has to offer. This particular tour had an extremely knowledgeable guide, Lisa, who was local from York. Not only did she provide interesting facts about the city, but was also able to add funny trivia and folk lore as well. It was very easy to book this tour online. I printed off my voucher, signed it, surrendered it to the driver of the tour, and was on my way. A very reasonable price for a lifetime of memories.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kayec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

A great way to see York.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Graham C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I was very happy with this tour. I only had half a day before I needed to travel elsewhere by train, but I was still able to see many of the great sites I wanted to see, there was a live guide on board, rather than an audio commentary, which allowed for questions we might have had. This is a fantastic way to get a valuable introduction to the city, even if you have limited time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marie A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

On my fist trip to York, I was able to get an overview of the city and then concentrate on the specific places where the bus stopped for more touring. WHAT A FASCINATING CITY!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The tour provides the visitor with a good overview of the city. The live guides are knowledgeable and share their information with great humour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent tour guide. Lots of interesting information about buildings, history, digs, etc. The tour was able to show you parts of York you would not see just walking - especially from the top deck!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message