Once you’ve walked around the famous City Walls, climbed Clifford’s Tower and snapped your picture at The Shambles, you might think you’ve seen all of York’s top attractions, but there are plenty of off the beaten path spots to discover in the city. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A worthwhile way to see York as it went to all the main attractions and gave us a chance to see places of interest. We were able to use it as transport to our pre-booked York Dungeons experience. We were able to visit York Minster and the Chocolate Story.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We went around several times as the guides changed and there was so much information to take in. We loved the convenience of being able to get on and off as we wished.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Guide was very knowledgable and had a terrific sense of humor. We enjoyed learning about the historiacal siginifcance of York, and it was presented in a very entertaining and informative manner

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We really enjoyed taking this tour, saw all the major attractions and were able to situate ourselves in London, thus being able to walk to the many attractions. Also included a Thames river cruise, which was unexpected.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I'm a fan of City Hop-on Hop-off Tours while travelling, especially internationally. Not being familiar with these cities, and trying not to miss any important sites, this is a fantastic opportunity to see the best of what each city has to offer. This particular tour had an extremely knowledgeable guide, Lisa, who was local from York. Not only did she provide interesting facts about the city, but was also able to add funny trivia and folk lore as well. It was very easy to book this tour online. I printed off my voucher, signed it, surrendered it to the driver of the tour, and was on my way. A very reasonable price for a lifetime of memories.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

A great way to see York.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I was very happy with this tour. I only had half a day before I needed to travel elsewhere by train, but I was still able to see many of the great sites I wanted to see, there was a live guide on board, rather than an audio commentary, which allowed for questions we might have had. This is a fantastic way to get a valuable introduction to the city, even if you have limited time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

On my fist trip to York, I was able to get an overview of the city and then concentrate on the specific places where the bus stopped for more touring. WHAT A FASCINATING CITY!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The tour provides the visitor with a good overview of the city. The live guides are knowledgeable and share their information with great humour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent tour guide. Lots of interesting information about buildings, history, digs, etc. The tour was able to show you parts of York you would not see just walking - especially from the top deck!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

the bus had finished for the day the driver seen me waiting he took me back to where i needed to go and also gave me the tour talk well done

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great way to get an overview of the city!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Very comprehensive. Perfect for the first-timer.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

VERA R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Just the job the best way to see York. Brilliant.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We love the hop on, hop off bus tour to familiarize ourselves with the main attractions and the lay out of a new city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

First time to York and we found the tour very informative. Enjoyed the fact that you can get on and off the bus as often as you like. Would have liked the bus to go a little slower so that I could absorb the history better although I appreciate that's not so easy in the traffic.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We started our vacation in Oxford. It sure helped when we had just left the train station and found the Hop on Hop off bus awaiting as we did. The driver was very friendly and polite. We enjoyed the commentary as well as the incredible history of the town. We HIGHLY recommend taking the tour to anyone planning to visit the town of Oxford.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great way of seeing the city and getting your bearings. Very useful to be able to come back to places you want to spend more time seeing. Commentary interesting and helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

a good tour with some great history and facts well worth it !

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Really fantastic bus tour of York because instead of stop start audio we were lucky to have a lovely lady telling us not only about the history and landmarks but also lots of other interesting stories about York. Would be a much better experience for everyone if this was the norm. I can also remember this in Liverpool and that was fantastic to.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Really informative, very convenient pick -up from the station. Set down points extremely convenient.Loved it!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very interesting tour...but microphones could fit a bit better!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Good way to see an overview of a city and decide what and what not you want to see. Bus starting point not easy to find. Otherwise excellent.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Althougt York was just great, we were dissapointed in the busdriver that drove too fast for any-one to enjoy the sightseeing from the bus. This seem to be a problem throughout this industry.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message