Zurich ATTRACTIONS See all

Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster)

The 13th-century Church of our Lady, or Fraumunster, has an elegant blue spire which soars above the Zurich skyline. Situated right next to the lake, it is one of Zurich's key sights. Founded in 853 as a Benedictine convent, around the 11th century ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Colin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent quick tour around Zurich showing us the beautiful sights and majestic buildings, with stops at Lake Zurich and the Fraumuster Church, then out of the city to the Felsenegg cable car for magnificent views over Zurich. Our guide, Bettina did a fantastic job, plenty of information and in a very friendly manner.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Happy Wanderer Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This afternoon tour was an excellent chance to receive an orientation to the city and to stay awake after arriving in the morning! I took a cab from my hotel to the bus depot but it can be reached by tram and train readily. It is always informative to have a guide explain background history of places you pass or visit and our guide was very professional and relaxed in her role. I loved strolling around the old town and admiring Marc Chagall's windows in the church. We were also entertained by a passing band taking part in a Carnivale. The cablecar ride, jaunt through the bush and afternoon tea was scenic and pleasant. Having the chance for a cruise on the lake was a bonus ... aboard our coach on the ferry! There is a lot packed into one afternoon of enjoyment and I think it is a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Merilyn Audrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Our guide for this tour was excellent and told us about the church with the Chagall windows. She was very knowledgeable and gave us detailed description of things we were to look for or see. Very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

David N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Saw most of the commercial area of Banhofstraus before the tour so that part wasn't especially interesting. Liked seeing the Lady's Church and was impressed by the excavation going on behind. The trip down the coast of the lake and ferry across was enjoyable seeing the villages. The cable car up to Felsenegg was nice but the car was crowded. Not much time up there to explore far but the view is pretty especially toward dusk. This is the same hilltop you will visit again for a meal on the Traditional Cheese Fondue Dinner tour.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Grove73

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A good way to see the city with 10 minute stops at various 'highlights'. The Fraumunster church was closed until 11am so the Chagall windows couldn't be viewed by those on the 9.30am tour.

Doing what: The Zurich Trolley Experience

Julie Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We only had a stop at one of the churches in the city, which was a pity. The guide was very good and so was the driver, it would've been better if we had more stops for photos, perhaps it was difficult to do in the city, the cable car to Felsenegg ate a bit of the tour time which in my opinion would've been better spent driving around the city. Ferry ride was very short.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

A good quick overview of Zurich. Our main objection was the number of stops, with the first stop being shortly after we boarded the bus. Also the tour director never mentioned the Chagall windows and only said we were visiting a church, which we had no interest in doing!

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

MN_CPH Japan

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The trolley bus was old, noisy and shaky rather than romantic..
The driver was friendly. We came out of the bus twice. 10 minutes each. Besides the lake and Fraumunster Church. Beautiful Chagall windows. FYI, it is not allowed to take photos in the church.
Recorded guide provides you good insight of the city. However you cannot experience the charm that an experienced guide person can give. Choose this tour if you need a quick overview of the city.

Doing what: The Zurich Trolley Experience

Patricia P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Did not get to see the gorgeous stained-glass windows of Fraumunster Church designed by artist Marc Chagall as advertised. The church was closed. Did not get a chance to take a picture of the Famous Clock Tower. Tour was ok. Was worth the money, but a little disappointing.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Susan O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

A bit disappointing as both Church's we visited were closed and it was raining so I got drenched, but otherwise OK

Doing what: Zurich Highlights Tour

Patricia M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This tour was a disappointment. There were 39 people on board. One group just got off and we were boarded. Nobaody went thru the bus to collect used cups or clean the bus. The guide translated into 3 languages so the information wa minimal. The franmunster Church wa closed so an alternative was done on the spot. Cable car would have been great but the weather didn't cooperate. Cold and cloudy.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Kenneth H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Most of the tour was driving around downtown Zurich seeing buildings of banks and investment houses. Some sights that overlooked the city were nice but unfortunately it was a rainy day and the view was not too good. The stop at the church with the Chagall stain glass windows was very nice. Although we were in Zurich, it felt like any other big city.

Doing what: Zurich Highlights Tour

Niloufar L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This tour was a disaster for us. The air condition in the bus did not work in the back. It was a very hot day in Zurich and there was almost no air in the back. The guide a lady did the tour in both English and German. First she would say on your right, there is .... and then say the same thing in German, while we are already way passed the site, by now the bus has even passed the second site and she tells you now on your left, there is the church of .... and you keep looking and there is nothing similar to a church. At some point, with the combination of the hot weather and the turning left and right to figure out where things are, I was so dizzy that I closed my eyes. If I had something to plug my ears, I would have done so in order to not hear anymore. We decided that this is the last city bus tour we will ever take in any city.

Doing what: Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message