Mount Pilatus rises high above the city of Lucerne giving wonderful views of Lake Lucerne and the Swiss Alps. At 6,992 ft (2,132 m) high, it has 2 cable cars, the world's steepest cog-railway, hotels, restaurants and lots of outdoor activities. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a stand out tour we had an amazing time the views from the top of Mt Pilatus are spectacular the ride up in the Gondola's are superb we had a great lunch and then went down in the steep decline train 50 degrees amazing then on to lake Lucerne what can you say highly recommended

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Timothy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good tour. Monica, our guide, was very informative! Beautiful day above the clouds on Mt. Pilatus via a cog railway! Nice restaurant with German style buffet! Good food, great chance to hike with beaut
I full camera shots of snow covered Alps! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

BRIAN W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful experience. The top of Mount Pilatus was outstanding and one of the greatest natural places I have been. The cog wheel rail journey was comfortable and enjoyable. On the downside the trip on the lake was cancelled and replaced with a set lunch not great at the restaurant at the peak. We did not receive an explanation for this the weather was good, and returned to Lucerne by public transport train instead. Would have been a 5 star experience only for that.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Travelling up to Mount Pilatus was a fun experience. LOVED the gondola ride. Unfortunately it was a foggy day so we didn't see much until the end of the tour when the fog lifted. The boat cruise of Lake Lucerne was a lovely ending to a great day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Christopher P N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was excellent, with the cable car rides to the top of Mt Pilatus, the cog train descent, and then the boat trip back to Lucerne. All good experiences, magnificent views, and a great day all round.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was our only tour that we had booked when visiting Lucerne, we thought it would be great to see this attraction, having never been to Lucerne. We met our guide at the information center and I'm sorry to say, I cant remember her name, but she was very very good, very friendly and was full of knowledge on what we would be seeing today. On the bus we went to where we would be catching the cable car to most of the way to the top of Mt. Pilatus. We loved the cable car ride, seeing the lush green fields below and was fun hearing those cow bells which one associates with Switzerland. We arrived to where we would be getting onto the new 'Dragon car' this sounded so exciting to us, took some photos, always taking photos, this ride was amazing, loved it even though my partner was holding on to the pole with clenched hands. The view from the top of this Mt. Pilatus was something to behold, the stunning views of these high mountains this just made our day. The clouds were rolling in on one side but the other side was so clear, great for photo taking. My partner stayed behind to have a look through the shop, getting some souvenirs while i ventured out along the walkways up to the lookout area, We were there for a good 1 1/2 hours, there are pathways for the more adventureous to take, it was just great to sit back and to take in the magnificent view. We would highly recommend this tour to all who visit Lucerne. Our stay in Lucerne was something else, loved it all and yes, we would love to come back again one day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

MARY L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I really enjoyed this all day tour. Beautiful views from Mt. Pilatus.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Carrie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was very nice and well paced. When we were able to walk around Lucerne the tour guide was very helpful in explaining the points of interest and to walk around the old town section. I met a wonderful Indian couple on the trip and we enjoyed the gondola ride up the mountain. Mount Pilatus had a few trails to take that were very nice and some places to eat lunch or for a quick snack. The cog train ride down the mountain was exciting since it is the steepest cog railroad. The boat ride to Lucerne was wonderful as well.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Jojo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

all of it was fantastic..the cable going up and down Mt. Pilatus was exciting..it was just unfortunate that the weather was not good during the ascent so we practically did not see the expected awesome view from the top when we got there almost zero visibility..the weather went back to normal when we got back and went for the cruise at lake luzern..it was mesmerizing...we were so lucky we saw a full view of a rainbow and was able to take a photo...Luzern is a place to stay... We would love to go back!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

Loganathan A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Had a good trip overall to Mt Pilatus via Gondola up and cog wheel down with return journey in scenic boat ride enjoying most beautiful Lake Lucerne.

The chartered bus couldn't turn up to Lucerne central on time, however they got our groups s in 3 Taxi's to be on time. Recommend to take this guided trip

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

duvvurifam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip up to Mt Pilatus and highly recommend this day trip the view was amazing. At first when we learned that the cable cars were being maintained we were concerned that maybe it wasn't going to be a good trip but we were wrong the cog wheel train up was a pleasant experience. The only thing is that the boat ride was no long available due to the change in the weather. This is still an amazing trip but if you want to do the boat ride you will need to book this trip by the first week of Octobel.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Jelena P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

We had high expectations but the weather ruined them all. We couldn't see a thing from the top so the entire tour didn't make much sense. I wouldn't give again that much money since it is not worth it. Boat ride is quite boring so I assume it is better if you just go to Pilatus when the weather is nice on your own.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Wayne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to spend an afternoon. Great thrill to venture to the top of Mt Pilatus and experience the unbelievable views from 7000 feet.
You cannot go to Lucerne and not do this tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Kim/Kimberli H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Guide was good - he had a good sense of humor and kept us all on track. Although weather was cloudy and visibility rather poor, tour was great. Lake cruise at the end of the afternoon tour was serene and beautiful. Only negative was no opportunity or option to take alpine sled / luge ride although it was advertised as a possibility on the tour description...since we couldn't see any views from top of Mount Pilatus, we would have liked to take luge ride. As we passed it going up the mountain, many were taking the ride...looked like great fun. Having said that, would still highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Kathryn Z

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great tour. Made the day fun and relaxing with everything planned. Highly recommend seeing Mt. Pilatus this way!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

jamarwood

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

My daughter and I did this tour together and the main reason we chose this tour was to see snow for the very first time! The countryside in Switzerland is just beautiful - very pretty and pristine. This is where I conquered my fear of heights. The cable car ride up to Mt Pilatus was really nice - peaceful and you could even hear cow bells when you passed the cows below. Unfortunately, for everyone on the tour Mt Pilatus itself was covered in very thick fog, so no-one got to see the scenery from the mountain. We were the only people in the group to stay on the mountain that night. The room was nice and by dinner time we discovered the fog had lifted. Dinner was just ok - not much choice, but served in a grand room. Breakfast was also adequate. When we woke in the morning the fog was back - so we didn't get to see much in the way of views or go on any of the walks. The next morning we followed instructions to get off the mountain to meet the next tour group at the train station below easy enough. This was what we were waiting for - all tour groups and people visiting Mt Titlis were geared up in clothing to visit the snow. Once again heavy fog, you could not even see anything in the cable car rides up the mountain. Once you got there you discovered the snow was indeed just slushy ice. I know this is all up to mother nature, but with all the fog and lack of snow we both felt really disappointed. Can't justify what we spent on this tour - quite unimpressed by it all and Switzerland is one of the most expensive places we visited on our trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Benjamin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, very much enjoyed it and was worth the price! Got to view Lucerne from the top of Pilatus and the lake by boat. Great way to spend a day with beautiful sights all around!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Paula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip to Mount Pilatus. Gondola, Cogwheel and boat ride were amazing. Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Rich S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a great experience! If you have a day to spare, this is a great way to see some great sights. The bus got off the main highway for the trip down to see some of the countryside, we had a short stay in Lucerne but enough time to walk around the old town and the trip to Pilatus was just stunning. Got lucky with a fairly clear day. You have a lot of time to see the sights and get some lunch on the mountaintop. You'll never forget the gondola ride up nor the cogwheel train ride down. An hour on the boat back to Lucerne was a pleasant end to the day. The highlight of the trip, though, was our tour guide Daniel. He was the perfect guide -- knowledgeable, friendly and had the perfect touch to keep us together and on time. Thanks for a memory of a lifetime!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

John Skylar M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Experience! There was no rush. The trip up was broken up by a stop at a half-way point for pictures and the view. We had plenty of time at the top to eat lunch and explore the Dragon Caves. There happened to be some paragliders jumping off the side of the mountain on the day we were there. The trip down was an opportunity to see Lake Lucerne and take pictures. Our boat ride back to Lucerne was a nice change from being on top of Mount Pilatus. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Errol M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful. The only fault I found was that there was too much time at the top of Mt Pilatus.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

FloridaPete United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our trip wife and I ended with the boat ride back to Lucerne after visiting Mount Pilatus. This tour is essentially transportation to/from Lucerne or Zurich and taking us to Mount Pilatus using the various means of transportation. Our particular day was cloudy, so we didn't have the great views of the surrounding area, but still highly enjoyable. While there is a tour guide, her function seemed to be just making sure everyone knew where to go on the various rides.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Divyesh J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We were bit unlucky because the top of pilatus was conpletely covered with cloud. But the cable car and the steepst cogwheel train journey was awesome.
The tour was organised by a local tour company and it was nicely done.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

August Raymond K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour gives you time to do and explore while on Mt Pilatus and see some incredible sites. We explored and mountain goats incredibly on high cliffs which you could actually touch . The experience of the cog rail way with the boat trip was also great. Make sure to take the boat to see the whole Lake Lucerne

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

raymondriggens United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fun tour by taxi our bus was stuck in traffic from Lucerne train station to get cable car up Mount Pilatus. We spent an hour and half on the top looking around, a bite to eat in the restaurant then headed down the other side on the venicular train which took 40 mins. From there we picked up a paddle steamer which took an hour to take us back to Lucerne and stopped just by the train station. We set off at 12.30 and were back in Lucerne by 6pm.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message