• USD ($)
  • English
Mount Pilatus rises high above the city of Lucerne giving wonderful views of Lake Lucerne and the Swiss Alps. At 6,992 ft (2,132 m) high, it has 2 cable cars, the world's steepest cog-railway, hotels, restaurants and lots of outdoor activities. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The scenery, views, locations and the activities were all mind blowing. The part that was not mind blowing is the tour is a partly guided tour. They leave you at the base of the mount pilatus and then you take the cable car up by your self and then go up and do your activities and then come down. I can live with this part. However the instructions given both by the guide and the written sheet were frankly pathetic. We had to ask the guide several times about various things in the schedule, pick up points...hint hint this means the written written instructions were not doing the job and the guide was getting impatient with the passenegers asking them to refer to instructions for every question. Most of the passengers were in the same boat, confused and the guide kept saying its in the written instruction. No it was not, for example after taking the cable car down, the guide told us to take a public bus to meet at Lucerne where the tour bus would depart back to Zurich. She said the bus stop was down the street from the base of the cable car and no it was not, it was a good 10 minute walk down the HILL. We followed the sign posts and that's what saved us. If we had gone by the guide's instructions then we would not have reached the bus stop. She also said take any bus and that would drop off at the railway station. Not correct, again if we followed her instructions we would have gone in the opposite direction of Lucerne and never reached the railway station. While we in the bus stop a good samaritan came back and told us to take bus #1 to get to our destination. This information was also not there in the written instruction sheet. Once we get to the railway station we have to walk back to a meeting point where the bus will take us back to Zurich. This is one of the worst and pathetic guided tours we have ever been on.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The sites on this tour were fantastic and we would highly recommend them to others. The tour itself, meanwhile, was merely satisfactory. By trying to accommodate many groups with different itineraries, the tour created logistical challenges that detracted from our experience. Most notably, we were told to descend Mt. Pilatus and take a public bus to Lucerne to meet back up with our tour group at a certain time. We later found out that the bus would later go back to Pilatus to drop other guests off. Ultimately, we lost over two hours for no real reason that we could have used to enjoy the mountains. In conclusion, we definitely appreciated having transportation and tickets pre-purchased for us, but if we did the tour again, we think we could have gotten more out of the experience on our own.

Doing what: 2-Day Winter Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Tour guide leave you alone at foot of pilatus, was told to take public transport back to your meeting point yourself athought stated transport provided to meeting point. Lunch was awful. We would have plan ourself to the pilatus if that is the case. No tour guide, No transportation. Disappointed

Doing what: Mt. Pilatus Winter Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Lucern is beautiful and fun to wonder around. Mt. Pilatus was beautiful!

Doing what: Mt. Pilatus Winter Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour is my trip of a lifetime. The arrangements made by Viator is as smooth as can be. The bus guide gentlemen speaks perfect English. Hotel Bellevue 6000 feet on top of Mt. Pilatus was clean, spacious, comfortable and warm. We were above the clouds with Luzern below us. We watched sunset and sunrise. The next day, the tour took us to Mt Titlis 10,000 ft above Luzern. We were standing at the same height as snow clad mountains around us. What a breathtaking view. The trip is every bit worth it.
Yang, Yuen and Yuen

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The stay at Mt Pilatus was relaxing and enjoyable except that we were unlucky as the weather was bad hence the fog was too thick to get any sights. However, the tour description should state clearly that after Mt Pilatus, we are expected to navigate by ourselves to a public bus stop, take a public bus to meet the tour guide at the train station for the next trip to Mt Titlis. There was an old couple who were with this tour but was confused with the unexpected requirement to travel by public transport in the middle of the tour package and was "lost" and unable to continue to Mt Titlis. Such details should be included to avoid surprises.

Doing what: 2-Day Winter Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip provided a great way to spend a day. Lucerne is a beautiful city. We really enjoyed spending time walking around observing the activity and sitting around the pristine lake. The gondola ride up to the top of Mount Pilatus was fun and the rail car ride down was steep. Make sure to get a seat on the window of the rail car, as opposed to getting stuck in the middle like we did. The ferry ride was a great way to see all the shoreline of the lake. Great day! Well worth the $.

One piece of advice... Our tour guide gave us the option to ride the toboggan sled track down a portion of the mountain at the point where you make the switch from one gondola car to a second to get to the summit of the mountain. My wife and I decided to do it, while the rest of the group went straight to the summit. We took the sled ride, which was fun (supposedly the longest in the Alps) and then took the second gondola ride up after and met the rest of the group at the Summit later. While the sled was a good time, it was a longer than expected line to get a sled and took a about an hour out of our time that we had to view all the breathtaking views from the top of the mountain when we finally got there. Therefore, we felt rushed and only had about 20 minutes to hike around and see all the views at the top, which is not near enough time. It was our decision to do the sled, so we had no one to blame but ourselves for feeling rushed at the top. So if you are a thrill seeker that enjoys sleds and speed, etc. you can attempt the toboggan sled ride. However, if you want to be sure to have ample time to view all the sites from the top of the mountain then skip it. We wish we would've in this case, but overall, the trip was still a blast!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A memorable and wonderful trip up to Mount Pilatus that should not be missed when you are in Zurich. The whole journey to Mount Pilatus was very scenic, starting from a comfortable bus ride from Zurich to Lucene, one hour tour in beautiful Lucene city and cable car and train ride to and from Mount Pilatus. The boat ride back to Lucene was just fantastic with spectacular and breathtaking scenic mountain and lake views.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My family of 2 adult and 2 kids loved this day out in stunning weather conditions. It was hot on top of Mt Pilatus. You could have organised the day yourself by buying a "golden ticket", but the bus connect from central Lucerne to the first cable car station was convenient and easy. The tour guide was bright and chirpy and effectively connected the group to the different modes of transport (bus, cable car, gondola, cog wheel railway and boat), so did not provide her opportunities for commentary. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour was very well organized and tour guide was knowledgable about the sights around and on Mt Pilatus. It would have been very difficult to see all of the sights on our own in one day without the benefit of the tour. The views from Mt Pilatus were beautiful although clouds prevented us from enjoying the scenery even more. Would highly recommend for those with a limited amout of time in Switzerland.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful tour. It was a positively dreary day when we took the tour which was a bummer, but even so we had a great time. I can only imagine how incredible it would have been on a bright sunny day. The only adjustment I can think of to make this tour better is to include more time in Lucerne and less on the top of Mt. Pilatus. We were in Lucerne right around lunch time, and the hour that we were there did not allow enough time to find and eat lunch and enjoy the city. The mountain top was neat and again would have been much more incredible on a sunny day I'm sure, but I thought 1 hour would have been more than adequate up there. The tour guides were nice and informative and all the different modes of transportation made for a fun and exciting day!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The weather was misty and foggy the day we climbed Mt. Pilatus. Nevertheless, it was great fun taking a gondola up the mountain, a cogwheel train down the mountain and a steamer boat on Lake Lucerne to return to the city. Adult Disneyland!!!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Beautiful Pilatus!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

On a nice day I would rate the trip with four stars. I have done the trip in 2013 three times, my groups and I where never able to see anything because Mt. Pilatus was in the clouds. Most travelers rated the trip, not worth the money.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Mt. Pilatus portion including the overnight at the Hotel was great, however the combination leaves a lot to be desired. Mt. Titlis was a waste of money.
Would give 5 stars for a Mt.Pilatus with hotel stay as a stand alone Tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message