Mount Pilatus rises high above the city of Lucerne giving wonderful views of Lake Lucerne and the Swiss Alps. At 6,992 ft (2,132 m) high, it has 2 cable cars, the world's steepest cog-railway, hotels, restaurants and lots of outdoor activities. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was cancelled due to bad weather damaging the train tracks (and the gondola was closed), so we were upgraded to the Titlis tour at no extra charge. I highly recommend the Titlis tour, but was also sorry not to see Pilatus. Fortunately our hotel room overlooked Pilatus so we were not completely without the experience, but I would have liked to do the Golden Round Trip to and from Pilatus - perhaps another time.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our initial tour was canceled due to an early snowfall and a fallen tree on the cog-rail tracks. They were open the following day and the weather was wonderful with beautiful snow scenery. Since we went in mid October, the aerial gondola and Lake Lucerne boat ride were not available. We did get a complimentary lunch instead. The bus was clean but our guide had a difficult time speaking over the loud children on board. We was very good, just wish the parents would have been more respectful. We had lots of free time on Mt. Pilatus to enjoy the breathtaking view and lots of picture taking. Overall a very good day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was simple but enjoyable. The amount of time spent on top of Mt Pilatus was good, and allowed us to explore all available trails and take many photos.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our tour tremendously. We were glad we booked this trip as everything was taken care of for us.
We will definitely use Viator again when booking. Our tour guide was wonderful and very informative
This was the best way to see Pilatus!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour of Mount Pilatus was everything we hoped for. Guide was very good. Views were spectacular, as were the cable car and cog railway rides. Will recommend to our friends if they ever visit Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Viking River Cruise tour had suggested the Mount Titlis tour, but we chose Mount Pilatus instead. We were glad we did and it was a great adventure going up, coming down, the views, and we enjoyed the paddle boat ride too. Only downer was that it was a rainy day, so we mostly only saw white cloudiness up on top. We had taken warm jackets, gloves, etc, and there was no snow on Mount Pilatus, so we didn't really need them.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lucerne is a beautiful location and the trip to Mt Pilatus superb. The variety of transport methods to and from there plus the wonderful views from the summit are something we will never forget. At the height of summer it was always going to be busy so you have to expect the delays at times waiting for the gondola/cable car. I was staggered with the minimalist approach to safety barriers but anything more would have detracted from the beauty that nature provides. The guides were wonderful and generally the day was very well organised. Outstanding.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this tour. You get to see so much. First with the gondola ride up then with the views from mount Pilatus coking down with the steepest cogtrain was great to end out tour we took the boat tour on lame Lucerne which was amazing. I world highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed our trip from Zurich to Mt.Pilatus. Our guide had plenty of interesting local stories, provided cultural insight, and was quite friendly. This is a simple and a pleasant way to tour around the area.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We did enjoy our trip in spite of the weather. Our tour guide was very good. Unfortunately when we got to the top of Mt. Pilatus it was cold, windy, rainy and the clouds covered the view! We did get to see the scenery going up in the cable car and going down on the cogwheel train. The weather cleared up once we were on the boat and it was a beautifil cruise around Lake Lucerne. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Great tour, but not as much to do on top of the mountain. The weather was not the greatest (lots of cloud cover) so our views were limited. But when the clouds cleared the views were spectacular.
The long cable car ride to the top and the train ride down was worth the visit. And the boat back to Lucerne was a great way to see the mountain and lake from a different perspective.

If you have to choose between Mt Pilatus and Jungfraujoch then I would pick Jungfraujoch.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. Easy to find the departure location which is right in the train station. Nice bus that takes you to the cable car to go up to Pilatus, and then you have time on the mountain. The train ride down is great and then you take a nice boat ride on the lake, which makes a few stops before you get back to Lucerne. I was a single traveler and it was great!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was complicated because they combined people from Zurich and Lucerne and there were two destinations (Pilatus and Titlis). The tour guides struggled to keep everyone organized. Eventually we got where we were supposed to be. Weather was poor which is not the fault of the tour company. Good value for the cost - included bus ride to the gondola, cogwheel train back down and nice boat ride on the lake.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, loved going up mount Pilatus, and the tour guide was lovely....and so was the bus driver too.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was conducted by the tour company in Zurich and they did a great job. My mum and I had an amazing time staying on the top of Mt. Pilatus, the air was so fresh and our view was breathtaking. Because we stayed the night, we were able to see the mountain later at night when most of the tourists had departed, otherwise it can get quite crowded in the general area. The three course dinner was fantastic as well with great service staff. Breakfast was also excellent. The trip down from the mountain would have been better if we could ride the steep train instead of the cable cart. We had to take the bus from the bottom of the mountain to the rail station and the walk between the bottom of the mountain and the bus station was actually quite a walk so make sure you don't have heavy luggage with you. Mt. Titlis was amazing but would have preferred if Viator told us to dress appropriately for the snow that we were not expecting during even during summer time (apparently it snows all year round, so dress appropriately to actually do the activities which are outdoors). Overall, we had an amazing time visiting the mountains and was well worth the expensive tour money that we paid.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message