• USD ($)
  • English
Mount Pilatus rises high above the city of Lucerne giving wonderful views of Lake Lucerne and the Swiss Alps. At 6,992 ft (2,132 m) high, it has 2 cable cars, the world's steepest cog-railway, hotels, restaurants and lots of outdoor activities. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. Easy to find the departure location which is right in the train station. Nice bus that takes you to the cable car to go up to Pilatus, and then you have time on the mountain. The train ride down is great and then you take a nice boat ride on the lake, which makes a few stops before you get back to Lucerne. I was a single traveler and it was great!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was complicated because they combined people from Zurich and Lucerne and there were two destinations (Pilatus and Titlis). The tour guides struggled to keep everyone organized. Eventually we got where we were supposed to be. Weather was poor which is not the fault of the tour company. Good value for the cost - included bus ride to the gondola, cogwheel train back down and nice boat ride on the lake.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, loved going up mount Pilatus, and the tour guide was lovely....and so was the bus driver too.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was conducted by the tour company in Zurich and they did a great job. My mum and I had an amazing time staying on the top of Mt. Pilatus, the air was so fresh and our view was breathtaking. Because we stayed the night, we were able to see the mountain later at night when most of the tourists had departed, otherwise it can get quite crowded in the general area. The three course dinner was fantastic as well with great service staff. Breakfast was also excellent. The trip down from the mountain would have been better if we could ride the steep train instead of the cable cart. We had to take the bus from the bottom of the mountain to the rail station and the walk between the bottom of the mountain and the bus station was actually quite a walk so make sure you don't have heavy luggage with you. Mt. Titlis was amazing but would have preferred if Viator told us to dress appropriately for the snow that we were not expecting during even during summer time (apparently it snows all year round, so dress appropriately to actually do the activities which are outdoors). Overall, we had an amazing time visiting the mountains and was well worth the expensive tour money that we paid.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was excellent. It gave us a true flavor of Switzerland. The cable car ride, the experience on Mount Pilatus, the cog wheel train ride and the lake cruise were all excellent. A true value for the experience. We had two days in Licerne and this activity was the highlight of our trip ther

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We thought the trip was great, the staff were helpful and courteous, comfy bus, great cuise on Lake Lucerne, ride on cable cars and cog train really good. We were surprised that the 9 hours went quite quickly!!. Only problem was that Mt Pilatus was in the cloud so we missed the view, no fault there Viatour;
Thanks for a great day

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Went on this tour with my two teenagers.
Positives: Great scenery, fun adventure park half way up, amazing views from the top of Mt. Pilatus.
Negatives: The guide didn't want us stopping half way up the mountain to go to the adventure park. She kept warning me that if we were late, they would leave without us. We did the bobsleds half way up and still had time to get to the top, have lunch and re-meet the group. BUT, a group of people on our tour made the entire group wait while they shopped and we didn't "leave without them". The cogwheel train was fun, my kids liked it more than I did. The "cruise" around Lake Lucerne is God-awful. It was hot that day, and there aren't enough seats for everyone on the trip, unless you want to sit inside. Which has no air conditioning. So you're on a crowded boat, hot and miserable, standing for over an hour. Yuck.
The tour guides didn't seem very knowledgable or organized, or able to keep control of the group.
I'd go again, but mostly for the scenery.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The locations are amazing but you shopuld do this trip yourself - un guided as that is pretty much what you end up doing. You go on a bus with a nice guide- who departs at the hotel at Mt Pilatus. You are then given train tickets to validate the next day where you get yourself down from Mt Pilatus- .8km walk with bags etc catch what you hope is the right train, then get off and go and a new tour for that day. This takes about 2hrs; plus leaving 30min to ensure your there on time so about 2.5hr to 3hrs as your not to sure where your going and on what bus etc. The next tour starts and the FIRST PLACE it stops is at the bottom of MT PILATUS to drop the nect over nighters of! This was very gutting as I could have had more time on the MT and been picked up from there with a lot less stress and luggage lugging! The actual things you do are amazing but this was very disappointing; I should have brought the tickets and found the bus myself as that is what acturally happened. It would be a much better '"TOUR"' if you were meet at the bottom of the Mt pilatus.
Thanks :-(

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The views at Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis were awesome and staying on top of Mt Pilatus was wonderful indeed. However, my biggest disappointment was that this tour wasn't a tour at all! Only three people stayed overnight at Mt Pilatus and we all felt that we were just transported to Mt Pilatus and left there on our own. The following day we had to make our own way down the mountain and walk to a bus stop in order to catch a public bus to Luzern where the "tour" apparently continues to Mt Titlis. Although we were given directions to find the bus stop we gave ourselves time in case we get lost so we left Mt Pilatus at 930am. Little did we know that the "tour" bus from Luzern stopped via Mt Pilatus at 1pm to drop off other tourists. WE could have waited for them at 1pm at Mt Pilatus! It was a frustratingly waste of 3.5hrs which we could have used to spend more time at Mt Pilatus. Overall this "tour" was just a bus ride from Zurich to Mt Pilatus and another bus ride from Luzern to Mt Titlis then back to Zurich.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

There were 4 of us that signed up for the Mt. Pilatus package .......the experience was great.... No regrets ... We were disappointed that it was so foggy ....but that was no ones fault. And we would have enjoyed the boat trip (we were on a van) ..... Not sure why, there were other sightseeing boats on the lake......And the guide was both knowledgeable and attentive to our needs ..... We would recommend your company to our friends.......

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful overnight stay on Mt Pilatus. We were very lucky as it started snowing again on the night we were there (it was not suppose to be snowing anymore in April). The hospitality of the staff from Mt Pilatus was great. Lunch, dinner and breakfast were provided and it was delicious. Highly recommended if you are visiting Switzerland. It was an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were so blessed to have perfect weather for our trip to Mount Pilatus! On the top it wasn't windy and it was relatively warm. The views were spectacular! A man in Swiss garb even yodeled upon request! The ski lift and cable car rides up were thrilling.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The scenery, views, locations and the activities were all mind blowing. The part that was not mind blowing is the tour is a partly guided tour. They leave you at the base of the mount pilatus and then you take the cable car up by your self and then go up and do your activities and then come down. I can live with this part. However the instructions given both by the guide and the written sheet were frankly pathetic. We had to ask the guide several times about various things in the schedule, pick up points...hint hint this means the written written instructions were not doing the job and the guide was getting impatient with the passenegers asking them to refer to instructions for every question. Most of the passengers were in the same boat, confused and the guide kept saying its in the written instruction. No it was not, for example after taking the cable car down, the guide told us to take a public bus to meet at Lucerne where the tour bus would depart back to Zurich. She said the bus stop was down the street from the base of the cable car and no it was not, it was a good 10 minute walk down the HILL. We followed the sign posts and that's what saved us. If we had gone by the guide's instructions then we would not have reached the bus stop. She also said take any bus and that would drop off at the railway station. Not correct, again if we followed her instructions we would have gone in the opposite direction of Lucerne and never reached the railway station. While we in the bus stop a good samaritan came back and told us to take bus #1 to get to our destination. This information was also not there in the written instruction sheet. Once we get to the railway station we have to walk back to a meeting point where the bus will take us back to Zurich. This is one of the worst and pathetic guided tours we have ever been on.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The sites on this tour were fantastic and we would highly recommend them to others. The tour itself, meanwhile, was merely satisfactory. By trying to accommodate many groups with different itineraries, the tour created logistical challenges that detracted from our experience. Most notably, we were told to descend Mt. Pilatus and take a public bus to Lucerne to meet back up with our tour group at a certain time. We later found out that the bus would later go back to Pilatus to drop other guests off. Ultimately, we lost over two hours for no real reason that we could have used to enjoy the mountains. In conclusion, we definitely appreciated having transportation and tickets pre-purchased for us, but if we did the tour again, we think we could have gotten more out of the experience on our own.

Doing what: 2-Day Winter Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Tour guide leave you alone at foot of pilatus, was told to take public transport back to your meeting point yourself athought stated transport provided to meeting point. Lunch was awful. We would have plan ourself to the pilatus if that is the case. No tour guide, No transportation. Disappointed

Doing what: Mt. Pilatus Winter Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message