Mount Pilatus rises high above the city of Lucerne giving wonderful views of Lake Lucerne and the Swiss Alps. At 6,992 ft (2,132 m) high, it has 2 cable cars, the world's steepest cog-railway, hotels, restaurants and lots of outdoor activities. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour - a little bit of everything: gondola ride to the top of Mt. Pilatus, a cogwheel train ride down the mountain, then a lovely boat ride across Lake Lucerne. Everyone in our group enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was cancelled due to bad weather damaging the train tracks (and the gondola was closed), so we were upgraded to the Titlis tour at no extra charge. I highly recommend the Titlis tour, but was also sorry not to see Pilatus. Fortunately our hotel room overlooked Pilatus so we were not completely without the experience, but I would have liked to do the Golden Round Trip to and from Pilatus - perhaps another time.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our initial tour was canceled due to an early snowfall and a fallen tree on the cog-rail tracks. They were open the following day and the weather was wonderful with beautiful snow scenery. Since we went in mid October, the aerial gondola and Lake Lucerne boat ride were not available. We did get a complimentary lunch instead. The bus was clean but our guide had a difficult time speaking over the loud children on board. We was very good, just wish the parents would have been more respectful. We had lots of free time on Mt. Pilatus to enjoy the breathtaking view and lots of picture taking. Overall a very good day.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was simple but enjoyable. The amount of time spent on top of Mt Pilatus was good, and allowed us to explore all available trails and take many photos.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our tour tremendously. We were glad we booked this trip as everything was taken care of for us.
We will definitely use Viator again when booking. Our tour guide was wonderful and very informative
This was the best way to see Pilatus!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour of Mount Pilatus was everything we hoped for. Guide was very good. Views were spectacular, as were the cable car and cog railway rides. Will recommend to our friends if they ever visit Lucerne.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Viking River Cruise tour had suggested the Mount Titlis tour, but we chose Mount Pilatus instead. We were glad we did and it was a great adventure going up, coming down, the views, and we enjoyed the paddle boat ride too. Only downer was that it was a rainy day, so we mostly only saw white cloudiness up on top. We had taken warm jackets, gloves, etc, and there was no snow on Mount Pilatus, so we didn't really need them.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lucerne is a beautiful location and the trip to Mt Pilatus superb. The variety of transport methods to and from there plus the wonderful views from the summit are something we will never forget. At the height of summer it was always going to be busy so you have to expect the delays at times waiting for the gondola/cable car. I was staggered with the minimalist approach to safety barriers but anything more would have detracted from the beauty that nature provides. The guides were wonderful and generally the day was very well organised. Outstanding.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this tour. You get to see so much. First with the gondola ride up then with the views from mount Pilatus coking down with the steepest cogtrain was great to end out tour we took the boat tour on lame Lucerne which was amazing. I world highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed our trip from Zurich to Mt.Pilatus. Our guide had plenty of interesting local stories, provided cultural insight, and was quite friendly. This is a simple and a pleasant way to tour around the area.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We did enjoy our trip in spite of the weather. Our tour guide was very good. Unfortunately when we got to the top of Mt. Pilatus it was cold, windy, rainy and the clouds covered the view! We did get to see the scenery going up in the cable car and going down on the cogwheel train. The weather cleared up once we were on the boat and it was a beautifil cruise around Lake Lucerne. I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Great tour, but not as much to do on top of the mountain. The weather was not the greatest (lots of cloud cover) so our views were limited. But when the clouds cleared the views were spectacular.
The long cable car ride to the top and the train ride down was worth the visit. And the boat back to Lucerne was a great way to see the mountain and lake from a different perspective.

If you have to choose between Mt Pilatus and Jungfraujoch then I would pick Jungfraujoch.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. Easy to find the departure location which is right in the train station. Nice bus that takes you to the cable car to go up to Pilatus, and then you have time on the mountain. The train ride down is great and then you take a nice boat ride on the lake, which makes a few stops before you get back to Lucerne. I was a single traveler and it was great!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was complicated because they combined people from Zurich and Lucerne and there were two destinations (Pilatus and Titlis). The tour guides struggled to keep everyone organized. Eventually we got where we were supposed to be. Weather was poor which is not the fault of the tour company. Good value for the cost - included bus ride to the gondola, cogwheel train back down and nice boat ride on the lake.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, loved going up mount Pilatus, and the tour guide was lovely....and so was the bus driver too.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was conducted by the tour company in Zurich and they did a great job. My mum and I had an amazing time staying on the top of Mt. Pilatus, the air was so fresh and our view was breathtaking. Because we stayed the night, we were able to see the mountain later at night when most of the tourists had departed, otherwise it can get quite crowded in the general area. The three course dinner was fantastic as well with great service staff. Breakfast was also excellent. The trip down from the mountain would have been better if we could ride the steep train instead of the cable cart. We had to take the bus from the bottom of the mountain to the rail station and the walk between the bottom of the mountain and the bus station was actually quite a walk so make sure you don't have heavy luggage with you. Mt. Titlis was amazing but would have preferred if Viator told us to dress appropriately for the snow that we were not expecting during even during summer time (apparently it snows all year round, so dress appropriately to actually do the activities which are outdoors). Overall, we had an amazing time visiting the mountains and was well worth the expensive tour money that we paid.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was excellent. It gave us a true flavor of Switzerland. The cable car ride, the experience on Mount Pilatus, the cog wheel train ride and the lake cruise were all excellent. A true value for the experience. We had two days in Licerne and this activity was the highlight of our trip ther

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Pilatus and Lake Lucern were extremely beautiful, and our guides were very informative and knowledgable!!!

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful scenery at Mt. Pilatus and Lake Luzern. The tour guide is very nice and took care of everyone.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tour was ok. However a toll free number for viator is must. You should also inform that how many remaining passengers left for booking. In my case I was only one member who stayed at pilatus. Even guide did not stayed back with me. I was asked to return till lucern alone next day. I did it but thought I wasted money by booking through viator .i could have booked directly with agency would have given more choice and control and clarity of the arrangements.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We thought the trip was great, the staff were helpful and courteous, comfy bus, great cuise on Lake Lucerne, ride on cable cars and cog train really good. We were surprised that the 9 hours went quite quickly!!. Only problem was that Mt Pilatus was in the cloud so we missed the view, no fault there Viatour;
Thanks for a great day

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Went on this tour with my two teenagers.
Positives: Great scenery, fun adventure park half way up, amazing views from the top of Mt. Pilatus.
Negatives: The guide didn't want us stopping half way up the mountain to go to the adventure park. She kept warning me that if we were late, they would leave without us. We did the bobsleds half way up and still had time to get to the top, have lunch and re-meet the group. BUT, a group of people on our tour made the entire group wait while they shopped and we didn't "leave without them". The cogwheel train was fun, my kids liked it more than I did. The "cruise" around Lake Lucerne is God-awful. It was hot that day, and there aren't enough seats for everyone on the trip, unless you want to sit inside. Which has no air conditioning. So you're on a crowded boat, hot and miserable, standing for over an hour. Yuck.
The tour guides didn't seem very knowledgable or organized, or able to keep control of the group.
I'd go again, but mostly for the scenery.

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The locations are amazing but you shopuld do this trip yourself - un guided as that is pretty much what you end up doing. You go on a bus with a nice guide- who departs at the hotel at Mt Pilatus. You are then given train tickets to validate the next day where you get yourself down from Mt Pilatus- .8km walk with bags etc catch what you hope is the right train, then get off and go and a new tour for that day. This takes about 2hrs; plus leaving 30min to ensure your there on time so about 2.5hr to 3hrs as your not to sure where your going and on what bus etc. The next tour starts and the FIRST PLACE it stops is at the bottom of MT PILATUS to drop the nect over nighters of! This was very gutting as I could have had more time on the MT and been picked up from there with a lot less stress and luggage lugging! The actual things you do are amazing but this was very disappointing; I should have brought the tickets and found the bus myself as that is what acturally happened. It would be a much better '"TOUR"' if you were meet at the bottom of the Mt pilatus.
Thanks :-(

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The views at Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis were awesome and staying on top of Mt Pilatus was wonderful indeed. However, my biggest disappointment was that this tour wasn't a tour at all! Only three people stayed overnight at Mt Pilatus and we all felt that we were just transported to Mt Pilatus and left there on our own. The following day we had to make our own way down the mountain and walk to a bus stop in order to catch a public bus to Luzern where the "tour" apparently continues to Mt Titlis. Although we were given directions to find the bus stop we gave ourselves time in case we get lost so we left Mt Pilatus at 930am. Little did we know that the "tour" bus from Luzern stopped via Mt Pilatus at 1pm to drop off other tourists. WE could have waited for them at 1pm at Mt Pilatus! It was a frustratingly waste of 3.5hrs which we could have used to spend more time at Mt Pilatus. Overall this "tour" was just a bus ride from Zurich to Mt Pilatus and another bus ride from Luzern to Mt Titlis then back to Zurich.

Doing what: 2-Day Alps Tour from Zurich: Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlis

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

There were 4 of us that signed up for the Mt. Pilatus package .......the experience was great.... No regrets ... We were disappointed that it was so foggy ....but that was no ones fault. And we would have enjoyed the boat trip (we were on a van) ..... Not sure why, there were other sightseeing boats on the lake......And the guide was both knowledgeable and attentive to our needs ..... We would recommend your company to our friends.......

Doing what: Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Lucerne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message