Tumbling from a height of 75 feet over a 450-foot stretch of rock, the mighty Rhine Falls are the largest waterfalls in Europe. Located just outside the medieval town of Schaffhausen, the Rhine Falls make a popular day trip from Zurich and standing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pabasari G Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is one of my favourites! The tour covers the old town of Zurich before reaching the Rhine Falls and there were beautiful old houses well preserved with beautiful gardens, something worth seeing. Rhine falls was beautiful with a panoramic view and one could either take a lift and go down or take the stairs. After getting down, those who wish to go on the boat ride can pay and join the group. There are many view-points at the falls and they are as close as one can get near a water fall. You really feel the strength and the power of the water gushing towards you! Our tour guide was Earl who was an elderly gentlemen. He was informative and was able to relate how Zurich transformed from his generation to the city that it is now. But we were travelling with our 11 month old baby and he did not give clear direction on from where to take the stroller to the falls so we faced a lot of trouble with it. He was too busy selling tickets for the boat ride! The tour also took us to the German border and we had a quick ride in a small German village as well, which was a bonus and a surprise!

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

GENIUS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rhine falls...Excellent trip with superb tour guide. Highly recommended.
Best of Zurich city tour..... Very informative and our guide Andreas was the best.
The 3rd part. The Trip to the chocolate outlet shop was short and in a rush because of the traffic. It happened because the first part was obnoxious. Walking through those old buildings and factories was really a total waste of our time. We could just spend it going straight to the outlet choco store. Obviosly, the tour guide named Urs knows the traffic situation in Zurich, BUT he did nothing but stayed longer to the coffee shop and burnt our time. We only stayed in the outlet store for 10 mins as the store is about to close. In fairness to him, he did his best for this tour to be better BUT we were disappointed because of poor time management. This trip to chocolate outlet store and old factories of Zurich is to be avoided. It's a total waste unless you have loads of patience, and plenty of time to waste!

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Vikram

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We started this tour at Zurich and realised on the way that it is ideal for people who have either just landed or will depart from Zurich in few hours as it directly picks up and drops off people from/to the airport which we felt is a great option for people travelling on the same day.This tour has loads of beautiful sights to witness throughout as it passes through Schaffhausen which has peculiar old houses and a cosy village which makes you feel as if you are in a wonderland as such sights are hard to find in today's fast paced world.The Rhine falls is europe's biggest waterfall and a sight which you certainly cannot miss while in Zurich.It is majestic and wonderful,taking a boat ride is highly recommended as it takes you to the center at the rock drops you safely wherein you climb the stairs to the top and enjoy breathtaking views from the top and picks you back after giving you ample time to enjoy this wonder.As this tour is guided it made the whole experience a lot easier and informative,Our guide was very nice who later guided us towards vineyards,farming village and some parts of a German village.Me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Rhine Falls are a must. The rainbow created through the mist generated by the falls is a sight not to be missed. The Black Forest and the beautiful Swiss countryside were also impressive. The guide was very informative and friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Yash A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had nice time at Rhine Falls and Best of Zurich City Tour. We highly recommend these tours.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Perri W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour guide Ana was great and informative. The views on the way too and from Titisee through the Black Forest were awesome. Cuckoo clock demonstration was interesting and do yourself a favor and get a piece of Black Forest Cake while there. Boat ride at the Rhine falls got you up close and personal with the falls.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour with a great guide. Rhine Falls was such a treat.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Kim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was fantastic and allowed us plenty of time to be able to walk around the edge of the falls and take photos, we were also given the opition to go out to the middle, which we chose not to do, but several people did do this. The bus was clean and tidy and the tour guide was really informative and made the journey really interesting. The tour of the city itself was not as fun as the tour to the Rhine Falls but we still totally enjoyed the time we had with both of these tours.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

VENKAT GIRIDHAR V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was excellent. Rhine Falls was amazing. The tour also goes to villages and the guide explains interesting information on the culture in Switzerland. We also went to the German side across the border for 10 to 15 minutes.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was nice. Our guide explained everything in detail. Liked boating near Rhine falls and also enjoyed Blackforest trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Daryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing , we had a great day , my only criticism would be by the time we arrived at Rhine falls all the shops and cafe's were closed so we couldn't even buy a drink.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

jliao

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

it was a great tour, i enjoyed going to the rhine falls rock very much!

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Arlene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip to Rhine Falls was great. We took the boat to the rock then walked up. It was a great excursion the guide was great and very knowledgable.
. The Best of city tour was just okay. A new guide who talked too fast and I did not feel what was on the tour was that interesting.
Skip city tour and domRhine tour.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Diana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perfect cheap little excursion to start/end a holiday, we stayed at a hotel near the Zurich airport and the tour company picked us up, we took our suitcases and once the tour was over they dropped us off at the airport so we could catch our flight (not to mention the Rhine Falls are beautiful), no complaints at all.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Guergana T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

That is one excellent trip. The first part of the tour is in the morning. For about an hour from Zurich you are in the heart of the mighty waters. Generally is a small place and not many things to do, but is well organized. You don't have time to walk around a lot. The guide from Viator tells you about the options on the bus. And even sells tickest for the boat ride to the Rock to be quicker, which is great. Our tour guide to the waterfall was a lady called Minu, wonderful guide and person. You will be lucky to you have her. Extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Once you are there it is worth it to go to the top of the rock, the feeling is AMAZING. There are some steep steps to consider but nothing too bad. You take your time because there are many people wanting to go to the top and not too much space. So, you climb slowly and carefully. You need comfortable, flat shoes for the ladies, and good camera. Worth visiting.
The second part of this trip is around Zurich. You arrive back to the bus terminal, switch buses and guides. It takes about 2 -3 hours. It takes you the most popular places in Zurich. It is ok if you have limited time in Zurich. But otherwise Zurich is a small city so the best way to see it is walking around on foot.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Montasser A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Rhine Falls, the Place which I will not forget in my live. No pics can reflect the beauty of nature there.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

cyvera

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience. Very nice trip. The boat ride at the Rhine falls is a must. Very good tour guide who answered all questions and was very informative. A must do trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

newfoundamusementonl ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very experienced guide. Best lunch in the black forest and beautiful Rhine falls on the way back.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

NITESH N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour to Rhine falls was very good. The entire tour was well managed and we were right on time everywhere. Even though we had a driver who was coming to work with this group for the first time. The tour operator kept us engaged through out our journey with some good talk:-) However the guide on the city tour was not much entertaining:-(

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

Amit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

hello, i would like to share experience of rhine falls. me and my family really had very nice time it was something diffrent than our daily routine life. and zurich city is one of the best in the world. we really enjoyede in zurich city , nice climate as well for tour . buses were also very comfortable. and i would like to thanks all guide s who gave us so many information about the rhine falls and zurich city tour. and looking after everyone .. and i will recommend my friends too to go through the viator for tours. thank you

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

George T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

One of the most impressive waterfalls we have ever seen. Excellent value for monet touy with the bonus of the City Sights Zurich Tour as well.

Doing what: Zurich Super Saver 2: Rhine Falls including Best of Zurich City Tour

JOSEPH Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

During my short visit to Zurich, I felt I must see the Rhine Falls. The drive to Schaffhausen was quite interesting. The trip by boat to the waterfall was spectacular. It definitely shouldn't be missed.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Rajendra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour left almost on time (10 min late). But we reached on time in Black forest. It is nice. Time to see everything is a little less. Then we reached Rhine Falls. on time. Nice view. Time to see is little less.
We reached back on time. The printout of the voucher was promptly accepted. Everything went smoothly.
Although we did buy the cookoo clock from the store which had the demo as a part of the tour, there were many other shops that also sell the cookoo clock. Wish we had known that so we would have compared prices. Overall, very nice trip.

Doing what: Black Forest and Rhine Falls Day Trip from Zurich

Melanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I thought the trip to Rhine Falls was quite nice. The Rhine Falls were quite scenic and the ride up was beautiful. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable! He gave us great insight into the history of the area as well as a nice summary about Switzerland.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Evelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Well organised, very knowledgeable guide. A great way to see the Rhine Falls.

Doing what: Rhine Falls Tour from Zurich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message