Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Glass Bottom Boat Tours

By Viator, December 2010

Want to view coral and tropical fish without getting your feet wet? Then step aboard a glass-bottom boat tour for the closest thing to snorkeling, while staying dry. Comfortable, entertaining and educational, glass-bottom boat tours are ideal for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was so much fun!! The people were so nice and helped me (I have new knees) navigate the semi submersible and the glass bottomed boat!! Amazing trip!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Whow! As stated in the details of this package, if you're not an advanced swimmer, then this is the package you should select! On the boat ride to the Island, a large percentage of the passengers actually got sea sick during transit to the Island, which can be expedited if the weather is, as on this day, cloudy or raining. Expect to get or feel sick is the water is rough! Upon arrival at Green Island, I was able to snorkle to the dept of water I felt comfortable in, and, I really enjoyed the view of the corral in the glass bottom boat. Great view of the corral reef/ fishes. I had chosen the package which didn't include the lunch, so I was glad to see that there is a couple of little restuaurants on the Green Island to purchase food. Exciting day in which my only regret was that I didn't have MORE TIME on the Island. This was my 1st time snorkeling, seeing the corral reef, and believe it or not, I actually got to see a Turtle while I was snorkeling. I highly recommend this package and everyone should either rent a underwater camera or, as I did, purchase a waterproof camera, which usually costs around $150-$200 to capture what you will see underwater! Although it rained alittle while I was at Green Island, the view underwater is the same regardless if the sun is shining or if it happens to rain. Great Memory!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Worth making the long trip. My glass bottom boat cruise was cancelled due to winds. So were most other activities. Keep in mind when booking. The transport was good. The guide could have provided more information I think.

Doing what: Key West Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Worth making the long trip. My glass bottom boat cruise was cancelled due to winds. So were most other activities. Keep in mind when booking. The transport was good. The guide could have provided more information I think.

Doing what: Key West Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A trip to Cairns would not be complete without experiencing the Great Barrier Reef. This trip to Green Island did the trick for two mature travellers not up to snorkelling. The semi-sub was better than the glass-bottom-boat. The buffet was good value. A good day out.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

A nice trip to see a barrier island with a chance to snorkel. Glass bottom boat trip enhanced the experience. High winds created muddy water so that we did not see the colors and variety of fish that we would have liked.

Doing what: Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

very nice should be better at crowd control. too many lines in a very small area to get from the glass bottom boat to the submarine.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was an excellent tour, much better than the Outer Reef tour that I had done a few days before.
It helped that it was a beautiful day and that there weren't many of us on it.
John, the marine biologist, was very helpful with his instruction .
Snorkeling over the reef was absolutely amazing, I couldn't believe the beautiful live
coral I saw as well as many angel and clown fish and others.
The glass bottom boat and the island tour were great.
This tour was the highlight of my visit in Australia.

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The mini sub was shabby and the windows had green moss around the windows.
More effort could have been made to make the fish to both sides of the vessel.
Glass bottom boat experience was better.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Definitely the highlight of my holiday! The information provided during the trip was interesting and the coach itself was comfortable for the journey. Although I wish we'd had more time in Key West itself, the length of the journey to/from Key West means that it wouldn't really be possible. Key West itself was gorgeous, very quirky and plenty of things to see. We did the glass bottom boat ride, as much as I enjoyed it I think I would have preferred the extra couple of hours on land. That said, it was an enjoyable ride and we saw plenty of fish and coral to make it worth the extra money.

Doing what: Key West Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

This was my last day in Cairns and I wanted a shorter tour, not an all day one. We arrived at the big boat just in time for lunch and it was jammed. Finding a seat was very difficult and the crew had trouble keeping up with the amount of people with getting the food out and cleaning the tables. The food itself was limited as there were not many choices. One Indian lady complained there was nothing she could eat. If you are vegetarian, be warned. Because the line was so long, I really did not feel I had enough. I booked two tours--the semi submersible and the glass bottom boat. I got off one and on the other. They cover almost the same ground but the fish in both cases were spectacular. Plus I saw giant clams, jellyfish, manta rays. and turtles. In both cases the drivers/guides did a good job with the commentary. The rest of the time was free so I just wandered down to the beach and along the walking path. I do not feel the snorkeling activity was well organized or very safe so I decided not to do it as I do travel by myself. The return catamaran left on time but was very crowded--even more so than the morning run. A good day but not as good as the previous day with a different company.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This tour was absolutely beautiful. Our tour was the 1pm and we had hotel pick up, staff very nice and helpfull. When arriving at Green island we had approximately 15mins to wait for Glass bottom boat tour which was fantastic lovely look at the different types of coral and fish. The boat conductor was very informative and funny, and gave us plenty of time to take photos throughout the tour and fish feeding. We purchased the Lycra suits for snorkeling, we had about an hour of snorkeling before we had to be back on board to come back to mainland. Would highly recommend tour for any age group and level of fitness, can take the day at your own pace.

Doing what: Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns

HammerDhai
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Schedule is a bit tight as only one hour is available for snorkeling and you have to get ready for the glass bottom boat tour. Life jacket is rented at an extra cost of AUS$8, which is not included in the package cost. That was included in other full day reef trip, a little disappointed though. Other than these, a wonderful snorkelling experience at Green Island. My husband and I saw a huge turtle, tons of small and large fish. A very memorable experience at Green Island.

Doing what: Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything was lovely. We were picked up on time and the boat left on time. We were lucky that the sea was lovely and calm and the weather perfect. Our time on Green Island was excellent and we could easily have spent more time there but we did have sufficient time to do all we really wanted to do. The semi-submersible and glass bottom boat tours gave us a wonderful overview of the Great Barrier Reef without us having to get wet! Super for people who do not want to snorkel. The included lunch was very good - lots of choices and plenty of it. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We absolutely loved this excursion! The ride to the island was very enjoyable. We took advantage of both the semi-submersible as well as the glass-bottomed boats since neither of us are snorkeling or diving fans. There was enough time to enjoy a visit to the island and spend some time enjoying the beach areas.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message