• USD ($)
  • English
Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Sandboarding

By Viator, February 2011

Did you know you can surf a sand dune? Thrill-seekers of all ages will want to try sandboarding in the desert or by the beach for a unique dune adventure. Sandboarding is similar to snowboarding, but you do it on sand dunes rather than snow. Strap ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great fun! I had never been to the desert before, and it was a great experience. You get to do a lot in an evening! Sand bashing, camel riding and sand boarding! And dinner at the camp was very nice too.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic. Very animated and discussed the city Dubai on our way to the dunes. When on the dunes his skills on the 4x4 was exciting and exhilarating. Then with the sand boarding he found us a very clean area and we went down it as many times as we wanted. Don't worry about falling cause its soft sand. Of course going back up for another run was the hard part. We had a great time and would recommend it highly!

Doing what: Dubai 4x4 Sandboarding Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Totally recommend this tour! The service is excellent! Our driver was really nice! They pick you up at the hotel right on time and take you sand bashing, camel riding, sand boarding. It was so much fun. The food was Delicious and the camp site was awesome! This is a must do in Dubai!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was fun and it was great to get out of the city for a bit. I was most looking forward to sandboarding, which unfortunately was a big let down. The highlights of the tour was 4-wheeling over the dunes and dinner. dinner was great, tons of food and good variety. Everyone was very polite and friendly.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great morning.
Pick on time - very friendly guide/driver - very safe.
We were just the 2 of us so it was amazing. First time sandboarding also well explained and good equipment

Doing what: Dubai 4x4 Sandboarding Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This tour should get both 5 stars and 2 stars at the same time. Some portions of the trip were great while others were a bit disappointing. The good: The drive through the dunes in 4x4 was so much fun and very exciting. Our driver was really adventurous and made the drive really fun. Also, the food at the BBQ was delicious and filling. However, the rest of the tour was a bit disappointing. The camel ride lasted for less than three minutes. We were rushed around by the leader and walked around in a very small circle. Sand boarding was also a let down. Each person got to go once down a small hill. It was the part I was looking forward to most, but it did not live up to my expectations. Overall I had a good time, but I think my expectations were too high for the trip.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Getting both the desert safari and the sightseeing tour for this price was incredible. The desert safari was just fun. Doing those sand dunes, getting to ride a camel and do some sandboarding, and the bbq wasn't half bad either. For the sightseeing tour, great tour and explanation of everything. It dragged on a little bit and lasted more than an hour beyond what was advertised. But great sights, great picture ops, and water taxi was nice. Totally worth it!!

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I would have given this 5 stars if my friend and I weren't too cold. That was our fault for not bringing 2 jackets, having said that, how you feel during the expedition/trip will always affect the experience. But overall a great experience. I liked the henna, safari ride, quick camel ride, bunny sand dune sandboarding, food (5 stars). Also the hookah was unavailable for us and it was unfortunate. The guy in charge decided not to give us the time of day, BTW, viator please let him know to be fair to all customers.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Excellent experience, recommended. Timely pick-up at the hotel, nice driver and by exception Arabic. The camel ride is minimal, 25 metres round-trip, yes 25 metres. Sand boarding equally overrated, the slope is less than 25 metres long but everyone seemed to enjoy it still.
The Arabic BBQ was in fact an Indian one, chicken tandoori, yellow rice, onion badji etc. Very, very nice! There was also a belly dancer show, and a male dancer doing a million pirouettes while juggling with several baskets, nice to watch and impressive to see,. As I said, the trip is certainly recommended.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Picked up from hotel in 4x4, approx 45 mins drive to start of safari. Family of 4 in own vechile but in convoy of around 100 people. Gradual increase in intensity of dunes driving over, incredible experience! So glad I made family take a Kwell beforehand though, as saw some struggling with motion sickness- wouldn't have liked to be sat in 3rd row. Frequent stops meant we could rotate seats. Camel farm interesting to see en route to BBQ. Arrived as getting dark, big queue for camel rides so had henna done first, then rode camel 1/2 hour later. Great experience but photos not good as too dark. Sand boarding was only available for short time so only got 1 run in - would have liked another go, so if you're keen get in there quickly. Two shows both dancers very good. Food was excellent, plentiful in volume and variety - very tasty Christmas day dinner! All family greatly enjoyed this trip - ages 19 and 16.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good one. Our driver was so informative and so skilled. This company provides the drive that includes and camel riding and sand boarding and can take pics with falcon. You don't have to pay for these separately as other company require, it is all included. They have own camels and own sand boards and own falcons. Food was really good and plenty. Setting in desert was welcoming and cultural. Entertainment was good as well. Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

My mother and booked the 5 hour desert safari on our trip to Dubai on 30th Dec 2013. After booking the trip we called the number given on the confirmation ticket. They gave us the time that someone was going to pick us up from the hotel lobby, sadly we waited in the lobby for over an hour and had to make several calls to them. When the driver finally arrived he said there had been a bad traffic jam. Arriving in the desert late, the sun was almost down and it was really really cold. We managed to do the 4 camel ride in the sunset but the sandboarding was quite in the dark.
The experience itself was great though, theres a little village in the desert where you can eat, smoke sisha, get a henna and there is some live entertainment. Perhaps it was because of the cold weather, but we didnt get much time in there. You can also purchase a disc with all the pictures and videos taken on the day, in case you dont have your camera on you, which will only cost 90 aed.
So our recommendation is definitely to go and try, as its an experience not to be missed when in dubai, but take warm clothes with you as the desert can get very chilly at night.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

OK
all it is is pick up at hotel, drive for an hour, sandboard for an hour, and drive back. Driver did not say much during hour drive. While the sandboarding is fun keep in mind you have to climb back up the hill - very tiring - ultimately unlikely you will go down more than 3-4 times because of this.
worth doing but only 3 hours and really it is just a drive to do sandboarding. I am still looking for the adventure safari!

Doing what: Private 4x4 Adventurer Safari including Sandboarding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely superb and exhilarating experience. Our driver - Sheriff was accommodating, caring and safe at all times as we had 2 children in the car. The camel rides and sand boarding was a real hit with the kids. The food was excellent. The set up at the camp site was clean and staff were excellent. Plenty of food and drinks on offer. We were so glad we chose to do this experience.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Desert Safari. Our transport pick up was on time and we were very comfortable in our 4x4! After a short drive, we were joined by around 20 other vehicles for an exciting cross-country desert drive that had exactly the right balance of excitement and fun. There were lots of photo opportunities and several pauses to enjoy the desert sunset. After viewing the camel farm, we them arrived at the desert village. We could then have a short ride on a camel (hold on tight when the camel stands up and sits down!) and have a go at sand boarding (like snow boarding but without the steering). There was then plenty of seating around the 'stage' area where we could enjoy soft drinks or a beer before a lovely BBQ dinner and a couple of dancing displays. All in all a very enjoyable afternoon/evening delivered by a professional and well organised company - Orient Tours. I recommend the trip for adults and children alike.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message