• USD ($)
  • English
Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Sandboarding

By Viator, February 2011

Did you know you can surf a sand dune? Thrill-seekers of all ages will want to try sandboarding in the desert or by the beach for a unique dune adventure. Sandboarding is similar to snowboarding, but you do it on sand dunes rather than snow. Strap ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was great fun. 4x4 driving and dinner was the most exciting thing. Camel ride was a 2 min walkabout, sandboarding was maybe 2 meters down. It's a good experience but do it once and that's it

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was very pleased with both tours that were operated in Dubai. Communication regarding pick-up times was excellent for both tours and we received messages via our hotel once we had confirmed our room number with the tour company.
Our tour guide for the City Sightseeing Tour was excellent and we left the tour with a greater understanding of Dubai. The Burj Al Arab and Mosque photo stops, Dubai Museum, Spice and Gold souks and water taxi were all great and we had enough time at each stop.
The Desert Safari was better than I imagined! The 4x4 sand dune ride was such a thrill! The camel ride was a short lap and I had one go of the sandboarding but it was enough to say I'd done it. The rest of the evening was fantastic. The restroom facilities were above expectations, I got a beautiful henna tatoo, we had Arab coffee and shisha and watched the entertainers (traditional dancer and belly dancer). The BBQ dinner was also very good with a variety of meat, vegetables, rice etc.
I would highly recommend both of these tours!

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Picked up and taken out to the sand dunes where we were taken around for a good 20 minutes. Then taken to where we were to spend the evening. Could choose between a camel ride, sandboarding, henna tatoo, drinking tea and smoking the pipe. Dinner was a bbq comprising of marintaed lamb...which was great, a choice of salads and breads. Had a double performance of a guy that span around for a good five minutes and his costume lit up, and a belly dancer. Was a memorable evening.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed the trip with my wife as part of our honeymoon. 4x4 ride over the sand dunes was great fun for someone who enjoys a bit of adventure (me), but not great for someone who gets travel sick and is a bit of a scaredy cat (my wife). Our driver was great and good fun though and he tried to slow down a bit for her (but not much :-) ). Highly recommend this trip as its good value for money and you can't do this anywhere else really. Food was good and they have lots to do like sandboarding, camel rides and henna tatoos. Only thing we didn't really enjoy was the belly dancing/traditional dancing, but appreciate it's a bit of their culture as overall it was excellent.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our friends recommended this tour for us and we had a fantastic experience. We were picked up from our hotel (although he arrived 15 minutes early and we weren't ready- he waited for us). The 4x4 driving through the desert was more than we expected and very memorable. It got pretty crazy at times but was so fun, everybody in the car was laughing. The food was fantastic and the performers were entertaining. I had beautiful Hennah done on my hand, tried a Hookah (the arabic smoking thing- I think this is what it's called) and tried out sand boarding. A camel ride was also part of this tour, but this was the one part that was a bit disappointing. There were four camels for everyone- close to 100 people. The camel ride consisted of walking in a small circle and then disembarking. This was still fun, but we thought this was going to be a longer part of the tour. But overall, we loved this experience and we're so glad we did it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Dune ride is excellent, can have a few more sand boarding rides would be prefect.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great fun! I had never been to the desert before, and it was a great experience. You get to do a lot in an evening! Sand bashing, camel riding and sand boarding! And dinner at the camp was very nice too.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Not a bad trip, good if you want to do all the touristy things in a short amount of time. The pick up was on time and the car was new and clean. The dune bashing was good fun and there was plenty of it, but the camel ride was short and the sand boarding was on a very small dune. The food and entertainment were very good though. When I was dropped back off I wasn't even taken all the way back to my hotel and had to get out on a busy road, I don't think the driver even stopped the car fully for me to get out!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Fun experience!

The Tanoura dance was superb though the Belly Dancing was strictly okay.
The dune bashing and camel ride was fun, though we couldn't do the sand boarding after all that! Food was good and the entire evening was very well planned.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic. Very animated and discussed the city Dubai on our way to the dunes. When on the dunes his skills on the 4x4 was exciting and exhilarating. Then with the sand boarding he found us a very clean area and we went down it as many times as we wanted. Don't worry about falling cause its soft sand. Of course going back up for another run was the hard part. We had a great time and would recommend it highly!

Doing what: Dubai 4x4 Sandboarding Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Totally recommend this tour! The service is excellent! Our driver was really nice! They pick you up at the hotel right on time and take you sand bashing, camel riding, sand boarding. It was so much fun. The food was Delicious and the camp site was awesome! This is a must do in Dubai!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was fun and it was great to get out of the city for a bit. I was most looking forward to sandboarding, which unfortunately was a big let down. The highlights of the tour was 4-wheeling over the dunes and dinner. dinner was great, tons of food and good variety. Everyone was very polite and friendly.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great morning.
Pick on time - very friendly guide/driver - very safe.
We were just the 2 of us so it was amazing. First time sandboarding also well explained and good equipment

Doing what: Dubai 4x4 Sandboarding Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This tour should get both 5 stars and 2 stars at the same time. Some portions of the trip were great while others were a bit disappointing. The good: The drive through the dunes in 4x4 was so much fun and very exciting. Our driver was really adventurous and made the drive really fun. Also, the food at the BBQ was delicious and filling. However, the rest of the tour was a bit disappointing. The camel ride lasted for less than three minutes. We were rushed around by the leader and walked around in a very small circle. Sand boarding was also a let down. Each person got to go once down a small hill. It was the part I was looking forward to most, but it did not live up to my expectations. Overall I had a good time, but I think my expectations were too high for the trip.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Getting both the desert safari and the sightseeing tour for this price was incredible. The desert safari was just fun. Doing those sand dunes, getting to ride a camel and do some sandboarding, and the bbq wasn't half bad either. For the sightseeing tour, great tour and explanation of everything. It dragged on a little bit and lasted more than an hour beyond what was advertised. But great sights, great picture ops, and water taxi was nice. Totally worth it!!

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message