Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Sitka has the interesting distinction of having been continuously settled for thousands of years, and thus, for being the oldest city in the Northwest. The city itself is a rich cultural blend of local Native Tlingits and American life, sprinkled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

susanna.barto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was wonderful. The black and brown bears were wonderful to watch them playing and eating. It was also good to know that they are safe, being feed, and have good care.

Doing what: Sitka Super Saver: Whale-Watching Cruise and City Sightseeing Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time! Had a great guide who had lived in Sitka all his life. We saw a whale, sea lions, and otters. The whale sighting was most exciting!

Doing what: Sitka Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour

V A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This family-owned business treated you like family. If we had more time, we would have taken the boat trip, also.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our pilot was awesome and informative. The views are spectacular. This is a must do!

Doing what: Sitka Seaplane Tour

Brenda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Maria our guide was very knowledge on the nature surrounding. Sitka. We had many stops for photo's and visited places we just would not have know about on our own. Maria spotted several Bald Eagles and took us through woodland and showed us a river where the salmon go to spawn. The Fortress of the Bears was the highlight for me to see the Bears close and playing.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour of the area prior to checking out the Fortress of the bear...wonderful experience...tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly...would recommend this to everyone...

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Ruth E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip is all about the Fortress of the Bear, and our guide was savvy enough to know that and spend lots of time there. The rest of the tour was forgetable, as I don't much remember what it was.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Kay S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Marginal weather decreased visibility.

Doing what: Sitka Seaplane Tour

RICHARD B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our Guide, Bruce, made the day for us--his knowledge and general help was fantastic.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

sjokeefe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was wonderful! We had been to Sitka before, and had seen the Russian influences on this town. But this time we were given a tour of the native culture and wildlife in the area. The Fortress of the bear was a great way to see bears up close, and learn how they were being saved when they became orphaned.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Yvonne M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour started late and we had a limited time at Sitka (from cruise ship). The tour guide was way to chatty about personal information and he did this while stopped at no place that was interesting wasting more time. He was not concerned about our time frame saying he it was okay as we were his last tour for the day. We ended up getting back about 40 minutes late and didn't have time left to finish touring the town. Very disappointing!

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message