• USD ($)
  • English
Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Top 10 Animal Encounters around the World

By Viator, September 2011

Pat, cuddle, stroke and, in some cases, hide from animals all over the world with our top 10 animal encounters. Basing our itinerary on the top unbeatable animal experiences, we’ve travelled on safari from the US to Africa, England to Australia, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 825 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This experience could not have been better. We have done a lot of these types of outings and would rate this among the best. It starts with Dwayne, our guide. He was informative without being overbearing. His knowledge of so many aspects of the wildlife, geology, history was simply fantastic. His stories were great as well. He was so helpful to my wife Elaine with her photography which she is still learning. The other part that was great was the vehicle. Being able to sit in the open was similar to what we experienced in Africa and the Amazon and it helped us find as many animals as Dwayne who rightfully is paying attention to driving. The reason I mention this is that we saw a number of safaris in Grand Tetons in vans with people squeezed up against windows. Being out in the open with the ability to move around was better by far. In summary, this was just a great experience and well worth what we paid. Thank you. Rick and Elaine Barton

Doing what: Grand Teton Small-Group Wildlife Safari by Jeep

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The four tours we took were all very good. The driver were informative. My wife and I enjoyed our self very much thank you. Regard Vic

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

very nice tour, nice friendly guide, varied activities, riding elephants, nice buffet lunch on the boat, they showed us how to break a coconut, how to grow rice, how to prepare Thai food - varied and interesting

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fabulous. We did it about 7 years ago when we were in Bali and did it again now in July 2014, when we returned with our 10yo daughter. Our daughter just loved it. White water rafting was so exciting, scenery was beautiful and we always felt safe and guides are fantastic. Elephants were fabulous, you are allowed to interact with them, cuddle, feed and workers will happily take photos with your camera without seeking money. All staff are chatty and happy and love their jobs. Buffet lunch was also very nice and scenic up on Canopy. Highly recommend. Only problem was our daughters seat in raft kept deflating but our guide was constantly doing his best to keep pumping it up for her whilst navigating the river. You should do this!

Doing what: Elephant Safari Park and White-Water Rafting Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a fantastic trip.
The info given by staff, the show and then the ride-a great way to introduce kids and adults to these magnificent animals

Doing what: One-Hour Elephant Jungle Trek from Phuket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was by far the best activity I did in Thailand during my trip. Elephants are such majestic animals, and it felt better knowing that we went to a company that takes great care of them and is supported by the Thailand government. I enjoyed this activity because it gave me a better insight of the Thai culture/ lifestyle.. from harvesting rice, making different coconut products (oil, juice, etc.), thai tea/ coffee. I also enjoyed the safari ride.. great views and a wonderful moment to take in! It was definitely an enriching experience!

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Grand Teton Small-Group Wildlife Safari by Jeep

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very nice tour. And our guide Tien was fantasctic, very knowledgable and a loveley person.

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour did not live up to expectations. The pictures make you believe you will be in a thick jungle when in reality half of the elephant trek is on city roads. The raft portion is a joke. There is a small lake with the raft at one end when you get on. Then two men guide you across the lake on a pulley system that spans the length of the lake - a complete waste of time. The ox cart ride was a return to the start of the trek. Our main guide told us that the elephant guide expected a tip, and the ox cart driver told us with the universal sign of rubbing thumb and forefinger to give him one. There was a tip jar on the raft. Our main guide on the walking portion was excellent - very knowledgeable with funny anecdotes. The lunch that followed the tour was great - plenty of food and something for everyone. All that said, it was still a fun day, and if you've never been on an elephant give it a try. If you have great expectations of being in a dense jungle - lower them.

Doing what: Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from Pattaya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour- the guide was well informed and entertained us with great stories and facts about the area as we toured the Grand Teton area and saw moose, bison, antelope, elk, and even a coyote.

Doing what: Grand Teton Small-Group Wildlife Safari by Jeep

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fabulous- it hit all of the key features of Yellowstone. The guide was quite an expert on the geology and, animals; he kept us entertained with great stories and facts about the area as we toured Yellowstone. We also saw tons of wildlife including bison, elk, antelope, a moose, bear, bald eagle and sand hill crane as well.

Doing what: Yellowstone National Park Small-Group Wildlife Safari by Jeep

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very special day out and we were well looked after by our personal guide who knew the Sanctuary well and made sure we had the best vantage points for viewing and photos at the correct times.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice tour and the guide was very informative. We saw a lot of animals and had perfect weather.

Doing what: Eco-Safari at Forever Florida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great and me and my husband absolutely LOVED our tour guide, Phinneas. He was very professional and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message