• USD ($)
  • English
Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Top 10 Animal Encounters around the World

By Viator, September 2011

Pat, cuddle, stroke and, in some cases, hide from animals all over the world with our top 10 animal encounters. Basing our itinerary on the top unbeatable animal experiences, we’ve travelled on safari from the US to Africa, England to Australia, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 787 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic day out the elephant safari was brilliant the mahout even caught a snake for tea this really is in the rain forest what a privilege to be in there with these magnificent animals, our guide "Oi "was great too very knowledgable and easy to talk too, the raft ride was at the end was possibly a little too long but nevertheless a fantastic day out and well worth every penny, the last bit if the elephant ride is something else try it you will love it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

great way to see a safari without the extra days.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The lodge and food was great.. Our guide Daniel was awesome and was very knowledgeable. We were incrediblely close to the animals. It just didn't feel like we were really in the bush with wild animals. It felt like a larger version of Disney's Animal Kingdom.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Not exactly a jungle trek more a trek around handlers campsite situated along main road.
Not recommended for people who care about elephants as our handler repeatedly kept hitting the poor animal with metal hook. The monkey attraction consisted of 10 monkeys chained to oil drums by short leads.

Doing what: One-Hour Elephant Jungle Trek from Phuket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a great opportunity to get up close to some elephants. Really enjoyed my tour.

Doing what: Elephant Ride and Jungle Trek Half-Day Tour from Pattaya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We loved this experience! It was very well organised and in a beautiful location. Our guide was really sweet and great fun. But most importantly the Elephants looked loved and well cared for by their mahouts and are such patient and gentle animals. An experience we will treasure forever.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I had a great time. The resort was beautiful, I stayed at the A'Zambezi River Lodge. It was located right on the Zambezi River. They evening buffet is worth they price! The cruise was pleasant. I went during high season so we didn't see as much as we possible could have seen:-( We did see hippos. I was able to take great footage of them. Victoria Falls is AMAZING. You will get wet but raincoats were provided. I elected to participate in additional activities. 3 nights were not enough. I could have used at least one more day. There are many adventure activities to do there. One additional activity that I did, was the elephant walk. Afterwards they brought out a cheetah. (Raised domestically, couldn't go back into the wild). We were able to take pictures and pet him. He even licked my wrist/arm without thinking I am breakfast!!! I had an awesome time. I would definitely go back!!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Victoria Falls Tour with Round-Trip Flight from Johannesburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour and the guide An (?) was excellent! We got to see and touch a series of animals, learn about the history of Malaysia, and enjoyed the afternoon bathing baby elephants. An was very active in getting front position at the queue. Thumbs up!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

More than expected! Out tour guide Au Au (Oo Oo) nickname. Was exceptional, explaining all aspects of Thai culture, the introduction of the elephant, traditional methods of rice growing, life cycle through to separation of the different grains and how it is used. Thai traditional coffee - not to be missed, rubber harvesting and coconut harvesting and uses for the whole of the coconut as well as Thai traditional meal made with the freshly grinded spices. If you are on a budget you will not be disappointed spending your money here! Tip:Go early morning in the cool of the day.

Doing what: Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome and friendly guide men will definitely do this.

Doing what: Elephant Trekking in Pattaya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My Husband (30) and I (24) from Germany had a wonderful day in the Hluhluwe Game Reserve. In the park we saw crocodiles, giraffes, elephants, warthogs, rhinos, buffalos, zebras, several species of monkeys, spiders, snakes and birds. The guide knew exactly where to find the animals, it was great. Also the driver from Durban to the game reserve was very nice. He was a zulu man and told us so much about the zulu culture. The Lunch at the Lodge was also very nice, we were able to choose from the whole card of the restaurant.
We had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful views of hippos at play. Sunset beautiful.

Doing what: Sunset Zambezi River Cruise with Transport from Victoria Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver/guide was very knowledgeable. We saw all of the big five except lions during our game drive. There were plenty of animals to see and also time to rest along the way. I was very happy with the game drive and tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Big Five Game Drive in Kruger National Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing! The elephant tour was excellent and one of the elephants even painted a picture of a tree. The elephants walk trought the jungle streams which was a real adventure! They added the tiger kingdom on at the end of the tour which was also one of my favorite parts of Thailand

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

After seeing the Serengeti and Masai Mara, it was a bit disappointing, but the long ride to and from Durban cuts into the best viewing time. Should be a two day trip. The Driver did his very best and can only be commended.

Doing what: Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message