• USD ($)
  • English
Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Top 10 Best Skylines around the World

By Viator, August 2011

We all like a city with a sky-high skyline, a spectacular geographical setting or architecturally stunning horizon. Getting a bird’s-eye view from a cool vantage point is an essential way to get your bearings on a new destination. Here’s our ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 528 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly recommended! Mornington was so beautiful and the weather was so nice that we were able to see the Melbourne city skyline from Arthurs Seat. The food and wine are truly amazing, and will definitely go on this trip again if I have the chance.

Doing what: Mornington Peninsula Cheese, Chocolate and Wine Tasting Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Having been on a San Francisco Hop-on hop-off tour before, I was a little skeptical that the Duck Tour could have anything more to offer. Big surprise! Although the tour is much shorter and there are no opportunities to get off, seeing the city skyline and AT and T park from a completely different perspective more than made up for this limitation. Also, since we were the same Captain and group for the whole tour, the Captain was able to connect with the group in a fun and entertaining way, as well as having an extensive knowledge of the area and providing a really informative commentary all along the way.

Bottom line - I'm glad the 4 of us (2 overseas visitors included) went on the Duck tour. It was different, great fun and informative and I would strongly recommend it to first-time and returning visitors to SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Duck Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We met outside the Empire State Building at 7.15 in the morning so this is not for the faint hearted. JP our tour guide was brilliant from start to finish. It was great to avoid the queues by being the first people in. JP explained where everything was and obliged taking photos of people when asked. The bus tour was informative and took us around mid Manhattan. The Intrepid and submarine tour touched on everything we wanted to see and again we avoided all the queues. The boat trip was great with good views from the water to the Manhattan skyline. The tour with JP ended at the 9/11 memorial. I can honestly say that his input made this trip even better and I even won one of his badges!!! Superb guide, superb tour. However it does not finish there, as you can then use your water taxi ticket to go back uptown. The boat crew was great giving fantastic views of the statue of liberty and hanging around enough so that you all got great pictures. Well worth the money as we saw so much of Manhattan in a condensed time. Thanks JP.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I had beautiful weather, and the boat ride around Manhatten island was amazing. Easy to take a lot of photos and viewing the Manhatten skyline from the water was great. There was also some very informative commentary which pointed out various places of interest.

Doing what: Circle Line: Complete Manhattan Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip is outstandingly good value for money! It takes in all the major sights in New York including lunch in Little Italy and a trip on the Hudson to the Statue of Liberty and the Manhattan skyline. We took the 8 hour option and were very pleased with our choice. Our tour guide, Serge and our driver, Reggie, were extremely friendly and knowledgable. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Awesome views over the Chicago skyline and surroundings.

Doing what: 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Not much to see once you've been shown the stunning skyline and the 7* Hotel, just driving around the 'suburbs' really. The ferry/boat ride lasted only 2-3 minutes. The museum was good but very small. At the Spice market, all we were shown was one small shop on the outer edge of what I presume is a bigger market and were given only 5 minutes to look around for ourselves. The Gold market, just a collection of westernized Jewellery shops looking for the next tourist. Dubai must have more to offer than this on a ½ day tour. Disappointing.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

1 stars is ONLY for the Water Taxi-great view of the NYC skyline and close-up photo op at Statue of Liberty-excellent boat guide’s commentary-Highly recommend Water Taxi. The hop-on bus part is horrible. Prior to trip thru Internet I found out the bus is by Open Tour. Called and they said you can only turn in your Viator voucher at the Water Taxi office at Pier 79 as indicated on the voucher so you must make your way there. Water Taxi employees did not recognize this combo ticket. Finally found it on their computer. They kept our vouchers and gave us a ticket for the Water Taxi but had no way to print a ticket for the bus. So they printed an extra ticket and wrote the word “bus” on it. Did not have map of the bus stops so told us to ask at one of their stops. Got a map at the 3rd stop. Map only gives cross streets-no signs at the stops. Waited at corner indicated for 45 min and no bus. During that time we saw 2-3 buses from other bus cos. go by every 15min. Took a taxi to the 9/11 Memorial and waited an hour at the corner indicated . The bus finally came but would not accept our tickets. We explained what had happened at Water Taxi office and pointed out the ad for this dual tour on their map. They said ride with us and a supervisor at the next stop might help us. After calling the home office, he said he could not help us. They let us stay on that bus but we could not get off because we couldn’t get back on. You must exit at Empire State stop and board a new one for the 2nd half. Great employee named Bernard said he would stay with us and put us on that bus so we could continue the tour and get back to the area of our hotel. Asked why they have so few buses and they said only have 15 buses for all of Manhattan. Commentary is thru earbuds and was worthless. 80 % was dreadful music and rest was a man and a woman not saying much about the sites you are seeing. Bus driver does not announce the bus stop name or mention sights near it. Also driver was not following the course on the map. On

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Ultimate New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour by Bus and Boat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was booked as a surprise 50th birthday present. It was amazing, from start to finish, the weather was perfect, the food and service were excellent, along with a great selection of songs. The boat even waited for a party of people who had got lost! A great time of year to take the trip as, we sailed off in sunlight, which then became a beautiful sunset, then returned in the dark to see the London skyline lit up. I would highly recommend using Viator, easy to use website, you even get a reminder before you travel to check your tickets!

Doing what: The London Showboat Dinner Cruise on the Thames River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Good food, romantic ambiance, wonderful NY skyline, my wife and I had a memorable experience!

Doing what: New York Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

From start to Finnish it was Fantastic. We were well looked after. The food was delish .plenty of time between courses. Live band, on the upstairs viewing deck. Seen the Manhattan skyline by day and by night on the way back, breathtaking. The pilot takes his time so there is plenty of time for everyone to take photos.
Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: New York Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was unbelievable - pure luxury and perfection from beginning to end! After being picked up from our hotel, we were driven across the Golden Gate Bridge where our helicopter awaited us. The helicopter was beautiful and brand new. Then we were whisked away for a flight over the beautiful Sonoma Valley and Napa Valley where we then landed right in the vineyards of the winery! It was amazing! The winery tour host met us right upon landing, gave us a private vineyard and crush pad tour, followed by a private, sit-down wine tasting. Lunch was delicious and provided by the famous Oakville Grocery - there was so much food that we actually ended taking some back with us. Then on the way back, we did a great city tour in the helicopter, seeing Alcatraz and the skyline. Plus, they actually flew us UNDER the Golden Gate Bridge! Amazing! Overall, this tour was A+ and was an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Napa by Helicopter with Wine Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very nice cruise that gave me a much better appreciation of the Chicago skyline. The docent was absolutely outstanding. His knowledge on each and every building with regards to when it was built, who designed it, what's it being used for, the back story of the building itself, and what future buildings are going in was way beyond impressive. I would say he was easily the best docent on any guided tour that I have ever taken. The views alone from the Chicago River are well worth it alone. If you have the time, and it's not much at 75 minutes, it's definitely worth taking in.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

FANTASTIC NIGHT!!
We did this cruise dinner on the evening of my husband’s 50th birthday on 12 June 2014 and it was a truly memorable experience we will never forget. We arrived early on the yacht at around 5.30pm and we were allowed on the yacht and the waiters started serving, they didn’t wait until we sailed. I bought a drinks package which was well worth it as the champagne flowed all night and you could order soda, wine etc... I didn’t book a window table but we were lucky enough to get a free upgrade and the food was very nice. The waiters were very polite and made the night very special. The Manhattan skyline was just breath-taking especially when the sunset and it was just the best way to see it at night. Once it got dark we went outside to the top of the yacht and sat on the comfy sofas and enjoyed the sights as we sailed. I am so glad after reading the comments of other people on Viator that a made a right decision to do this dinner cruise. Ladies be careful if you’ve got high heels on you have to walk on a steep gangway to get on and off the yacht, I found it a bit tricky. Thank you to all the staff and waiters who made this night so special and I highly recommend this dinner cruise. If I ever come back to NYC I will definitely do this again. There was also no problems booking with Viator.com.

Doing what: New York Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a special evening to celebrate my Birthday.
A great experience from start to finish. The Dinner Cruise was first class. We were well looked after by Rosa who was highly attentive.
I would recommend the Gold Premier Package Four Course Dinner and an open bar of beers wines and sodas. The food was amazing and the candle in my dessert was a nice touch. Although we didnt have a window seat we stil had good views.
Remember to take your camera as the skyline is breathtaking and been so close to the Statue of Liberty you get some amazing photos.
Fantastic way to start our New York trip.
First time booking with Viator they did a great job very simple and efficient. Will highly recomend this Dinner Cruise.

Doing what: New York Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message