Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Wine Tasting

By Viator, December 2010

Want to know the best way to get inside a country’s culture? By sampling its wine and food, that’s how! Whether it’s French Champagne, Italian Chianti or Californian Zinfandel, a wine-tasting tour reveals the traditions and history of both people ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10568 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic.... plenty of great information that my wife and I never realized. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, great driver! He shared lots of information.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour - thoroughly enjoyed the wine tasting and lunch, and Chenonceau was definitely the highlight.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent all-day tour starting with a hotel pick-up at 0800 and drop off at 1900; the drive to and from the Douro Valley taking approximately 1.5 hours each way with scheduled stop in a good local Douro café. The minibus/minivan was comfortable and our guide ensured the air conditioning met everyone's needs. José David from Cooltour Oporto, was an excellent guide and he made the tour interesting and engaging.

Terrific scenery along the route on a beautiful hot day; temperatures reaching mid 30s Celsius I'm sure but a dry heat with minimal humidity so very bearable. The boat trip was a welcome retreat from the sun and was an opportunity for a different view of the valley and the steep hillsides covered in vines and olive trees.

The Portuguese lunch - the group could not do justice to the huge amounts of fabulous hearty food. The dishes alluded to Portuguese history and included both meat and sweet dishes that beautifully incorporated local port/wine. Traditional field worker stew (everything in the pot for this), marinated pork ribs cooked so the meat was falling off the bones, stewed goat in a not too spicy sauce, salad etc. Nobody in our group had any food preferences however our guide was careful to check before and during the meal for any food preferences or allergies.

We visited D'Origem where we tasted their red wine, white wine, honey and olive oil all of which were delicious. At D'Origem we also had the opportunity of seeing an olive oil press and taken through the production process. At Quinta de Santa Eufemia we were given a very generous tasting of eight ports, including white port, and olive oil and a tour of the winery. Both businesses are family run and it was evident that those involved were enthusiastic about and proud of their products.

We would recommend the tour because the experience allows an insight into the love and hard work that is necessary to create these products, particularly with regard to the smaller and medium-sized businesses.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Definitely a "must do" if you love wine. Violette was an excellent guide and provided great education as well as being entertaining.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even my teenage boys loved Montserrat. It is an amazing sight and we loved the walking trail. We enjoyed the wine tasting very much and they even allowed my boys to have a taste of the wine. They were very excited to try it and thankfully they didn't like it but the education behind wine making was fantastic. This full day was our favorite experience while visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I thought the portion of the tour that included lunch on a Tuscan farm was going to include a little more wine tasting. We did taste four different bottles of wine throughout the lunch. It was a mere three sips each pour.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We finished off our Paris trip with this tour on the last day. It was a highlight of our trip. Adam, the guide, was great. The wine tasting was awesome; it was really nice to have a regular folksie meal over Parisian restraunt fare. Our biggest complaint is that you pack a lot into one day, and so you don't get to spend a lot of time at the castles. Chenonceau was pretty packed. When we go back to Paris, we want to go back to the Loire Valley. Out of all the things we did, this tour was the most memorable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Super efficient and timesaving day tour to Muir Woods (early in the morning) and a visit to 3 wineries in the Sonoma/Napa valleys. Nice pickup and dropoff at the hotel.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome day. Well organised. Stunning scenery and good food. What else is there to ask for?!

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a must do tour. Adam is a great host/guide. Very amusing and informative. The bike riding part is very gentle and you get to taste I guess 8 wines or so, mainly white, with some schnapps thrown in for good measure. The optional BBQ is good value and very tasty. I cannot rate the tour highly enough. As Nike would say "Just do it"

Doing what: Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was worth doing and we really enjoyed our guide Neil and the two other couples that made up the party of seven. Neil was very knowledgeable, had a good understanding of English, explained how the day would work, was clear in his instructions about meeting points and time to be there. We had plenty of time to look around Montserrat, take the cable car to the lookout point and soak up the atmosphere. The Cava Trail exceeded my expectations. I didn't realise that so many kilometres of tunnels had been created to store the wine of this family business. The whole presentation was very professional and the price of the Cava catered for all budgets. We really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great day and the highlight was the French meal at the winery, Chateau de Nitray. The huge crowds at Chateau de Chenonceau was a spoiler for what was otherwise a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic day in Douro Valley. Very skilled guides, excellent visits at the vineyards, and very nice lunch.
All my hopes for the day was fulfilled, and I will recommend it to everybody.
Thank you for a lovely day.

Doing what: Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Portuguese Lunch and Optional River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message