4.5 star rating: Recommended 34 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 34 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We absolutely love the elephant trekking and rafting but opted to skip the hill tribe villages later in the afternoon. It was too much for one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great trip, loved the elephant trek and bamboo rafting. Easy too, took my 14 year old daughter and 71 year old mom. Great English speaking guide. Lunch at the elephant camp was excellent.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Awesome day trip. I created a montage of our trip, please check out the link. As well as the elephant trekking and bamboo rafting, we also went to see the hill tribes on this trip and were invited into their hut (home) for a chat, a humbling experience. Unfortunately I did not film our time with the hill tribes. Anyway, hope you enjoy the video of the elephant camp. I very highly recommend this trip.

Denver A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Painting elephant was fantastic and elephant show very good. The elephant ride was an experience.

Elmarie Magda D
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

What an awesome excursion to have! We had an absolute fantastic day trip. The elephant trekking was a wonderful and unforgettable experience. Although it was drizzling, the bamboo rafting was a peaceful and enjoyable ride down the river. We looked like real Thais with the straw hats similar to the picture. Our lunch was a real treat with delicious and tasty Thai food. The visits to the different Hill tribes were fascinating and really an eye opener for us to see how these people are living far away from civilization. We were a small group of only four people which meant that we were never rushed and have more than enough time to enjoy everything. A must do when visiting Chiang Mai. A real Thai experience. Thumbs up for this outing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We were picked up at the hotel in Chiang Mai promptly and taken to a beautiful orchid farm and to the Chiang Dao elephant camp north of Chiang Mai for a trek atop an elephant, a visit to a Karen village, lunch and a rafting trip down the Mae Ping. Our guide was very friendly and familiar with the area and even knew the elephant names in the camp. The guide and the driver even stopped along the way to satisfy our craving for local desserts in the market.

Helene A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Fantastic day out. Rafting was peaceful and provided an opportunity to sit back and really take in the surroundings. The elephants were beautiful and the ride was well worthwhile through the jungle. Not just a 15 minute treck - more like 1 1/2 hours! The Hilltribe experience was disappointing, really just a few stalls selling their wares and no real opportunity to see what life is like for them in their villages. All in all though a fantastic day!

Susan N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

What a fantastic experience all round. We thoroughly enjoyed the elephant show, trekking through the lush green countryside on our elephant and experiencing the hill tribe village. The lunch was beautiful and plentyful though we did have to pay for our own water and the rafting peaceful and serene. All in all a memorable day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Piew was our group tour guide for this tour, and he was excellent. We first visited an orchid farm which was really interesting to see. Next we went on to the Chiang Dao Elephant Camp which was such an amazing experience. The camp seemed to take very good care of the elephants and was much less commercial than many of the other elephant camps in the area. We watched a show by the elephants with demonstrations and elephant painting, and then took a long jungle trek through the jungle riding the elephant. After returning, we took a bamboo raft ride down the Ping River which was so relaxing. Great experience overall.

Wassan was also a great driver. Wassan and Piew went out of their way to take us back to the elephant camp when we forgot to buy an elephant painting, which we really appreciated. Highly recommended tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This was a fantastic day tour from Chiang Mai that was well organised and gave a good blend of different activities. Our guide also knew exactly where to sit during the elephant shows. Our family loved this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great trip overall, our guide, Meow was very attentive, clear spoken and always smiling.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It was a great experience.Pick up from our hotel,the guide was (at last!!!) speaking english very good,the elephant trek amazing and the rafting incredible..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great tour with informative staff!

Fiona F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

An amazing day; best trip of our holiday - fantastic time with the elephants, the hilltribe tour and the rafting was so relaxing and beautiful. Lunch was brilliant. We even managed a visit to Tiger Kingdom on the way back - awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This is was the best excursion we did in Bangkok, Phuket or Chiang Mai. Our guide was Khun Roong who spoke great English, she was very knowledgeable and friendly. This is a must do if you go to Chiang Mai.

From USD $ 98.40

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX20C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message