Insider's Guide to Amman

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 45 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amman, Jordan
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 45 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Franky66
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. Everybody should have seen it. Unbelievable beautiful and huge. We spend almost 5 hours there, because we wanted to see all, even the biggest building "The Monastery" 800 steps up and back down. Unforgettable experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! The local guide was excellent, and very knowledgeable. A must when in Jordan!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! The local guide was excellent, and very knowledgeable. A must when in Jordan!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

To start we had a great guide/driver who picked us up from the air port and drove us around to take care of some business matters before heading to the hotel , Kempinski, with out any fuss, by the way what a great hotel.
The tour to Petra from the Dead Sea took about 3 hours by road with a couple of breaks on the way.
Once there be ready for a bit of walking and it can be hot and dusty but what a place and worth the time, about 4 hours. The guide once there is not your driver but a local guide, good but they really don't know much about the place and ditch you at the end to make your own way back which is pretty easy.
Look out for the guys who will take you back to the entrance once you finished by horse and cart, they should only charge $20 per couple, they try and charge each.
The return trip, another 3 hours by a different route, gave us the chance to see more of the country
Be ready to tip every one as part of the deal here but what a great place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day trip to Petra, amazing driver Jemal, and very informative guide on site too - definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver from Amman to Petra was awesome. Probably one of the nicest people we met during the entire trip. His name was Hassan and if you're there I highly recommend him. He's very knowledgable about everything Jordan. Amazing experience overall. DO IT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour!!! totally a "no miss" if you come to Jordan! the tour guide was excellent! take a hat becasue the sun can be very tough at noon!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had the driver Munir he was excellent!!! I would recommend paying the additional $ to have him met you before the visa entry since the line was so slow the first time and so long the 2nd time. He drove us to Petra which was perfect, he is the BEST driver in Jordan we had several to compare him to. I would also recommend you plan to ride a horse when you get to Petra NOT the horse buggie which is NOT included in the price but dress appropriately for a short horse back ride and have good hiking shoes. I was not really prepared. I would also suggest you go for the candle lite night that is held 3 nights a week from 8.30-10.30 where they light hundreds of candles to see Petra by night. I would also recommend 3 days to see the entire thing or 6 hours for the short version of it. We had the BEST guide who was a professional photographer his name was Adnan Al Farajat. He was INCREDIBLE! The best hotel is the lower Movenpick since there are 2 properties a lower and an upper. We wish we had more time to drive by ways of the dead sea which is a 4 hour drive through the resort area and the mountains and had possibly spent some time there we were just so short on time. We should have planned more time in Jordan since it is clean, safe, incredible. The Four Seasons in Amann was Perfect too! I'd like to go back and stay when we have more time!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Easily a 3 - 3 1/2 hour drive from Amman. An awesome site to see and not miss. Again Basel (driver) was a great asset to have during the drive, our stay, and our education. Provided key knowledge of key sights, things to do, and helped us to get around in Jordan. The tour was awesome and worth the money. The entry into Petra is (50 JD per person), so the trip and the costs associated with hiring through Viator makes the trip instead of relying on public transportation. (April 2014) (* Beware of the taxi drivers)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Way too expensive. Driver was nice but made stop on way to Petra and way back to Amman at a tourist trap that hounded me incessant antsy to buy things! And the driver ate meals each time while I sat there.
Tour guide in Petra was knowledgable but tour was so expensive I had no money left to tip him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an absolute magical experience! For anyone whom thinks this is a bit much to complete in one day, don't think that! Its definitely worth the time spent. In addition ask if you could have Muneer as driver. He is amazing, shares details you need info on. He is very knowledgeable yet never is intruding and really reads his customers and their needs well. Thanks Muneer for an absolutely amazing time and the ease of the trip which you made possible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My driver picked us up promptly and we had a very comfortable ride from Amman to Petra. Our driver was very conversational and we learned a lot about the country and the region on the way there. On the way back, we were exhausted and fell asleep for part of the ride. We were handed off to a local guide at Petra and he was equally interesting.

I'm glad we made these arrangements. We had limited time and limited knowledge about this part of the world. I feel we had a great experience and would recommend it.

Thirty years ago, I would have been more adventurous and would have done this for less money. For two women (one middle aged, one senior) travelling alone, this was ideal.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggfcnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour driver Muneer was great. He was very informative, punctual and always asked us what we wish to do and was flexible to accommodate our requests. Thanks Muneer for making our tour interesting, pleasant and safe. Shoukran my friend.

From USD $ 246.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2268ZT005

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message