• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 41 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amman, Jordan
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 41 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day trip to Petra, amazing driver Jemal, and very informative guide on site too - definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver from Amman to Petra was awesome. Probably one of the nicest people we met during the entire trip. His name was Hassan and if you're there I highly recommend him. He's very knowledgable about everything Jordan. Amazing experience overall. DO IT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour!!! totally a "no miss" if you come to Jordan! the tour guide was excellent! take a hat becasue the sun can be very tough at noon!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great tour, excellent and cooperative driver, great and knowledgeable tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had the driver Munir he was excellent!!! I would recommend paying the additional $ to have him met you before the visa entry since the line was so slow the first time and so long the 2nd time. He drove us to Petra which was perfect, he is the BEST driver in Jordan we had several to compare him to. I would also recommend you plan to ride a horse when you get to Petra NOT the horse buggie which is NOT included in the price but dress appropriately for a short horse back ride and have good hiking shoes. I was not really prepared. I would also suggest you go for the candle lite night that is held 3 nights a week from 8.30-10.30 where they light hundreds of candles to see Petra by night. I would also recommend 3 days to see the entire thing or 6 hours for the short version of it. We had the BEST guide who was a professional photographer his name was Adnan Al Farajat. He was INCREDIBLE! The best hotel is the lower Movenpick since there are 2 properties a lower and an upper. We wish we had more time to drive by ways of the dead sea which is a 4 hour drive through the resort area and the mountains and had possibly spent some time there we were just so short on time. We should have planned more time in Jordan since it is clean, safe, incredible. The Four Seasons in Amann was Perfect too! I'd like to go back and stay when we have more time!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Easily a 3 - 3 1/2 hour drive from Amman. An awesome site to see and not miss. Again Basel (driver) was a great asset to have during the drive, our stay, and our education. Provided key knowledge of key sights, things to do, and helped us to get around in Jordan. The tour was awesome and worth the money. The entry into Petra is (50 JD per person), so the trip and the costs associated with hiring through Viator makes the trip instead of relying on public transportation. (April 2014) (* Beware of the taxi drivers)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Way too expensive. Driver was nice but made stop on way to Petra and way back to Amman at a tourist trap that hounded me incessant antsy to buy things! And the driver ate meals each time while I sat there.
Tour guide in Petra was knowledgable but tour was so expensive I had no money left to tip him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an absolute magical experience! For anyone whom thinks this is a bit much to complete in one day, don't think that! Its definitely worth the time spent. In addition ask if you could have Muneer as driver. He is amazing, shares details you need info on. He is very knowledgeable yet never is intruding and really reads his customers and their needs well. Thanks Muneer for an absolutely amazing time and the ease of the trip which you made possible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My driver picked us up promptly and we had a very comfortable ride from Amman to Petra. Our driver was very conversational and we learned a lot about the country and the region on the way there. On the way back, we were exhausted and fell asleep for part of the ride. We were handed off to a local guide at Petra and he was equally interesting.

I'm glad we made these arrangements. We had limited time and limited knowledge about this part of the world. I feel we had a great experience and would recommend it.

Thirty years ago, I would have been more adventurous and would have done this for less money. For two women (one middle aged, one senior) travelling alone, this was ideal.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggfcnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour driver Muneer was great. He was very informative, punctual and always asked us what we wish to do and was flexible to accommodate our requests. Thanks Muneer for making our tour interesting, pleasant and safe. Shoukran my friend.

Rababa
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Absolutely amazing! Couldn't recommend this trip enough. If you are planning to visit Petra from Amman in one day, then this is the most convenient way. Our driver (who was amazing) picked us up and headed for Petra. We stopped for breakfast/coffee on the way, then got to Petra where he helped us get tickets and a tour guide (included in the price). He then left us to our own devices for a few hours before we headed back. You'll be exhausted by the end!

Note: Bring money for tipping the tour guide and for drinks (water...etc. is readily available at the entrance). Wear comfortable shoes and bring a hat because it gets VERY sunny. On the way in, you are descending therefore walking is easier - the further you go, the harder your ascent back to the entrance will be!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Highly recommend! This is a long trip to do in a day but is definitely possible. Our driver arrived promptly at the hotel and stopped to get us coffee at our request on the way. He introduced us to our guide upon arrival. Note, the guide is included in the trip as is the horse ride to the entrance but the tip for the horse guide is not (he told us our tip was insufficient and that most people give something like 10JD for the 5 minute ride, although this person is not affiliated with Viator, just letting you know). The tour guide was very knowledgable and nice and provied great detail. We had 5 hours at Petra before meeting our driver in the afternoon. There is a lot to see and we didn't get to see everything but if this is all the time you have it is certainly sufficient. Great experience, definitely a must see in Jordan and recommend the tour company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Our driver was a very competent individual. He arrived at the hotel on time, the car was a clean recent model Nissan 4 door. The driver was fluent in English and also had vast knowledge of history and current events. The driver battled both rain and snow to get us to Petra safely. The driver was very helpful in advising do's and don'ts while in Petra and introducing us to our guide. A job well done!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

A local guide was chosen by the driver when we arrived in Petra.The guide wasn't very good.

Special Offer
$243.75 Save $21.63

From USD $ 222.12

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2268ZT005

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message