• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 76 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 76 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Fantastic day out. Would have liked more time to explore town, but a unique tradition well worth seeing.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Loved it!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

What a great tour! Tour guide was friendly and informative, windmill fields were beautiful and there is just the right amount of time to walk around and see the cheese market and grab some amazing local food. The cheese factory tour at Edam was also particularly enjoyable. If we come back we'll go again for sure!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

I thought the Alkmaar cheese market was interesting and the town of Alkmaar well worth seeing. I wish I had more time to explore there. Also, the cheese farm was a great opportunity to try some of the cheese you see in shops before you buy, which I did!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

It was wonderful.

Ericka M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Tour was absolutely brilliant and worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Excellent tour. Guide was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Alkmaar is a beautiful village and time there was extremely short. Due to the crowds that arrived prior to our tour bus it was difficult to see much. I would recommend the tour getting started earlier, enabling an earlier arrival and maximizing the experience.
The windmill portion of the trip was very informative, especially the ability to freely tour the inside of a working windmill.
The knowlegable guide's soothing voice lulled me to a restful place during the return commute which was great since traffic prohibited our return at the promised time. A rejuvinating nod was able to be captured during the ride back to de Dam which was great preparation for afternoon events. Glad we booked this tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Certainly recommend the tour but a massive let down was the womans voice - i know this sounds petty but after 4 hours of broken englsih from the tour guide, it starts to take away from the joys of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was great, bus was comfortable and very organized despite the construction in Amsterdam. Will tour with your company again

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The Cheese market was interesting but the time there was very short. I injoyed the day though.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very good but not enough time in alkmaar

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Since the cheese market is only open on Fridays, the market was so crowded you really couldn't see anything. I think every tour operator in and around Amsterdam was there. If you get lucky and see your way through the crowd, it was interesting to see how they sell their cheese.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

took a canal cruise instead....very interesting and enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a wonderful side trip. The town was beautiful. Best shopping of the trip. The Schaun Windmills serene and beautiful. The tour guide and driver very good.

From USD $ 54.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550LIN4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message