4 star rating: Recommended 76 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 76 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Paul L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Interesting to see the selling process at the cheese market. Good photo opportunity. A tip, go to the right of the clock tower, there are fewer people.

Charles D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Great guide who worked hard and gave a lot of detail. Good trip.

Elke B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

The market and windmill visit were very interesting.

Colin F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

A very good morning tour.

Edina C
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

This trip was a good way to fill our last half-day in Amsterdam. The Cheese Market was small but entertaining, at least enough so for the amount of time that we had there to roam around. There were rather interesting photo ops, and for cheese lovers, the trip to the cheese farm is absolutely rewarding. To go into the Schermerhorn Windmills costs an extra €3 per person. It was worth it. There were great photo ops there also, though when we were there the tulip blooming season was already over. The guide was entertaining and well-spoken, and the tour filled our time satisfactorily. The service was professional. I have no qualms recommending it.

Michael H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

This was a quaint touristy event. Viator is great.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

I had done the trip during a previous vacation and this time I could really appreciate the Alkmaar trip better. I recommend you go before the Dutch children get their vacation, this way you can really enjoy the show. The windmills are always interesting to see over and over again. More during sunny days !!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Far below expectations! Extremely crowded cheese market place, no time to see or do anything. If there is any possibility, drive there yourself, or share a cab, will have a lot more time and freedom, otherwise, pretty much a waste of time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2013

The sites are a wonderful experience, however, we did not have enough sufficient time in Alkmaar to enjoy the cheese market, cheese museum and explore the lanes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Okay, but not a great deal to see. Weather not very good which may have resulted in not enjoying this as much as other trips.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

We were visiting on a very busy day and had trowble seeing the activities.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

All in all a good trip, Alkmaar was nice to visit.
The windmill was interesting too, it seemed a bit weird that they charged extra to visit the mill (3 euro), calling it optional.
It should have been included in the excursion price, what else should we do when we get there, sit on the bus?

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

A knowledgeable guided tour on a very comfortable bus. Plenty of time at the cheese Mart. When you arrive, wait patiently and withing ten minutes you will find yourself at the rail with a great view of the event. It costs an extra 4 euro per person to go into the windmill and climb to the top but it is worth it! The visit to the cheese farm is really interesting. The guide speaks many languages, and after the presentation, you get to taste many kinds of cheeses. It is a must see!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Alkmaar Cheese Market was unpleasant since there were too many people with only a limited area to view. Either a larger raised platform or some other way to allow more people to see the sales platform.
The chance to see more of the countryside was a plus.
The cheese farm was a treat.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Very interesting tour but as it is only held on Fridays the crowds were big and you could not see very much.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

quaint village, adequate guide, but a mob scene at the the cheese market

Anne M
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Why does the rain always come down when we visit the windmills?

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I wrote Viatour to find out if the tour stopped at a cheese farm in Edam and they told me that yes, the tour was of the market in Alkmaar, a stop at a windmill and then a cheese farm tour. Well, it was 1hr 15min in Alkmaar and an hour at the windmills. No stop in Edam. It advertised that you have time in Alkmaar for lunch. We had to be back to meet the bus at 11:55am - that's a really early lunch. If you want to go to Alkmaar take the train, it's far less expensive and very easy to get to. You'll also get to the market by 10am when it starts and not 10:50 when the tour arrives. There are windmills in Amsterdam proper that you can see.
I wrote via tour to find out why the product that they have described online does not match what the tour company (Lindberg) describes in their brochure and they never responded.
Final word: if you want a hurried look Alkmaar and an hour to look at 2 windmills then this is the tour for you. If you want time to see the town in depth (and it is pretty) then take the train and save yourself a lot of money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

There were literally thousands of people at the market since it was holiday time. We couldn't see anything ! It was a rediculous waste of time and money -however the windmill film and tour was interesting and informative

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Not the best but it was interesting. Liked other of your tours better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The tour director was informative and personable. But he did not escort us to the center of the town where the marketplace was so crowded. It would have been better to get there earlier in the day. We enjoyed visiting the cheese farm very much.

Mark W
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2009

It was a great trip, but sadly the tour operators have made it a rushed affair. It would have been nice to have more time in Alkmaar in order to sample the great restaurants and characteristic shops. Unfortunately, no sooner are you off the coach than it's time to get back on again.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2009

Other company's buses arrive at least 15 minutes before us. We had to stand far, far away at the loading end of the cheese market. Very hard to see what was going on. The windmills were nice even with 3 Euro charge.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This wasn't a tour at all. It was a bus ride to Alkmaar where we had free time in a very very very crowded market and had to really fight to see anything. Then they drove us to a windmill where we watched a video. The guide didn't really tell us anything at all.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The company was not only disorganized, but by leaving Amsterdam so late, we were not able to view the Cheese Market exhibition. We left late (partly because the company was looking for more tourists to fill the bus), but even if we had left on time, we would have arrived way too late to see anything. There were already hundreds of people crowding the square.

On the bus, the guide rambled on and on. Not very interesting or engaging, I'm afraid. This is one tour to avoid.

The windmill stop was pleasant enough, but not enough to give the company more stars.

I'm usually very forgiving when it come to tours, but this one was really a waste of time.

From USD $ 50.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550LIN4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message