4 star rating: Recommended 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a wonderful side trip. The town was beautiful. Best shopping of the trip. The Schaun Windmills serene and beautiful. The tour guide and driver very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We really enjoyed our trip to the cheese market, windmills, and cheese factory although the bus was a bit crowded. As others have pointed out, the cheese market area is quite crowded and it's mostly stage as a tourist attraction, but it is interesting to see. We really enjoyed walking around the town and just wish we would've had more time to do that. The windmill tour was very interesting and the restored windmills in very good condition. We had already seen a cheese making demonstration and had purchased cheese elsewhere so this wasn't as big a draw for us but it was still enjoyable. There are a number of buses leaving in the morning from the same area so it can be busy and get crowded. I encourage you to arrive at least 30 minutes prior to your tour. We would recommend this.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We loved this trip! Alkmaar is a lovely little town and the cheese market is fascinating and fun. Only wish we had more time to explore. Very interesting to learn about the windmills and what they were used for.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I enjoyed this trip but felt it could have been better. Alkmaar is a beautiful little town and enough time isnt allowed for axploring. I feel the trip to the farm at the conclusion(20 mins drive, 40 minute for the visit) could be cut in order to give more time at Alkmaar. Cheese is available in abundance for purchase and taste everywhere, I felt the farm visit was really unncecessary. Our guide was excellent, she probably made up for the shortfall

Cherine
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

An interested trip that I am glad I signed up! We saw how cheese auction took place and it was really interesting to see so many cheeses been moved around during the auction. The windmills are beautiful too!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip was very good, particularly the amount of time at the market in Alkmaar (though a better explanation would have helped) and the visit to the windmill. However, we were very disappointed in the guide. We subsequently learned that several of the things he told us were not true. First and foremost, he said that we should not buy cheese at the market -- big mistake. Not only was it better there than at the "cheese farm" we stopped at (really a shop with no real opportunity to see how the cheese was being made), it was cheaper at the stalls in Alkmaar than in the shop we were taken to visit. Second, he made a big point that we should expect to pay 30 cents to use essentially every rest room throughout Holland. In our week there we never once had to pay! First and foremost, a guide should be accurate. Massimo was not. And then he made a blatant appeal for tips at the end of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The trip was very worthwhile and seeing the Netherlands county was wonderful. It would have been even better if lunch was included so for anyone contemplating this very worthwhile trip, take enough money to purchase something to eat. The windmills where particularly interesting and the history talk (short) very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This was a very good tour. My only disappointment was that the market was crowded so I couldn't see the market square as well as hoped.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

A nice excursion, very interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

great tour guide, she was amazing, speaking in english, german, french, and spanish. Caotic in getting on the bus initially (on Damrak) at the tour facility.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Good half day trip. The market is interesting to see, although extremely crowed with tourist since it is only held one day a week. plenty of good Dutch food booths to sample local fare.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent guide and tour however there were huge crowds at the cheese market so that made it somewhat difficult to enjoy. It was more fun at Alkmaar to step away from the crowds and explore the side streets of the town for a little while. There was an extra charge at the Schermerhorn Windmill of €3 per person. It seems like this should be included in the price of the tour because there is not much to do at this stop if you don't pay the €3 to go inside. However going inside the windmill is well worth the €3 and was a highlight of our trip.

The stop at the cheese maker was interesting however it was not really a scenic area and was mainly a sales pitch to buy some of their cheeses. We found that the lowest price on cheese was available earlier in the tour from vendors along the streets of the Alkmaar market. If you want to buy Dutch cheese for the best price I would recommend buying from the street vendors in Alkmaar. The cheese available from the cheese maker is the same brand that is sold all over in shops throughout Amsterdam.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

If you have time, the cheese market is quite a nice place to visit. The atmosphere was really nice.

Ravindra M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Excellent Value for money. Cheese Market is amazing and Alkmaar is worth visiting even otherwise. Guide was very good. Although Windmill visit may not be of interest to all people.

Paul L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We attended the last market of the season at Alkmaar, September 4th. For visitors this is a fascinating sight. There are excellent explanations in many languages. Also allows great opportunities to take photographs. The working windmill enables the visitor to understand how people lived. You view a film prior to going to the windmill. You will see the mechanics first hand through a glass floor. This is the third time we have done this trip. I think that says it all.

From USD $ 54.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550LIN4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message