• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 76 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 76 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sue M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Excellent guide, very informative and friendly. Glad that I went.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

It was very interesting, but the crowds made it difficult to see at the cheese market.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Interesting to see the selling process at the cheese market. Good photo opportunity. A tip, go to the right of the clock tower, there are fewer people.

Charles D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Great guide who worked hard and gave a lot of detail. Good trip.

Elke B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

The market and windmill visit were very interesting.

Colin F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

A very good morning tour.

Edina C
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

This trip was a good way to fill our last half-day in Amsterdam. The Cheese Market was small but entertaining, at least enough so for the amount of time that we had there to roam around. There were rather interesting photo ops, and for cheese lovers, the trip to the cheese farm is absolutely rewarding. To go into the Schermerhorn Windmills costs an extra €3 per person. It was worth it. There were great photo ops there also, though when we were there the tulip blooming season was already over. The guide was entertaining and well-spoken, and the tour filled our time satisfactorily. The service was professional. I have no qualms recommending it.

Michael H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

This was a quaint touristy event. Viator is great.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

I had done the trip during a previous vacation and this time I could really appreciate the Alkmaar trip better. I recommend you go before the Dutch children get their vacation, this way you can really enjoy the show. The windmills are always interesting to see over and over again. More during sunny days !!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Far below expectations! Extremely crowded cheese market place, no time to see or do anything. If there is any possibility, drive there yourself, or share a cab, will have a lot more time and freedom, otherwise, pretty much a waste of time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2013

The sites are a wonderful experience, however, we did not have enough sufficient time in Alkmaar to enjoy the cheese market, cheese museum and explore the lanes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Okay, but not a great deal to see. Weather not very good which may have resulted in not enjoying this as much as other trips.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

We were visiting on a very busy day and had trowble seeing the activities.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

All in all a good trip, Alkmaar was nice to visit.
The windmill was interesting too, it seemed a bit weird that they charged extra to visit the mill (3 euro), calling it optional.
It should have been included in the excursion price, what else should we do when we get there, sit on the bus?

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

A knowledgeable guided tour on a very comfortable bus. Plenty of time at the cheese Mart. When you arrive, wait patiently and withing ten minutes you will find yourself at the rail with a great view of the event. It costs an extra 4 euro per person to go into the windmill and climb to the top but it is worth it! The visit to the cheese farm is really interesting. The guide speaks many languages, and after the presentation, you get to taste many kinds of cheeses. It is a must see!

From USD $ 54.93

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550LIN4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message