4.5 star rating: Recommended 78 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  24 or 48 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Very worthwhile, however while we were there in January, many canals were frozen, and we had to use the tram to get to several places we had planned to go by canal bus. The Heineken Experience was great!

Michelle R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Was great brought for my boyfriend and he loved it. The canal cruise is a must.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

This was such a fun trip and everything was well done.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Its worth doing if you have all day, or ever a couple days. We only had 1 day in Amsterdam, so we wanted to get places quickly, and the canal boats were kinda slow. But definitely fun and relaxing! Would buy again!!

Margaret M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Good value for the money, especially as canal ticket could be used next day to 12pm.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

The DJ room was very entertaining. The tour is very self promoting, not as much of a learning experience. However, the beer is excellent. The museum is closed on Monday's!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

I thought it was extremely handy to have multiple places to get off at and get back on.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The canal tour was well worth it, a great way to see and learn about the city. The Heineken Experience was a little disappointing; we thought it would be a working factory, it was more of a commercial museum.

NataLeigh T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Receiving tokens for free beer was good and cool gift at the end.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

The Heineken Experience was a blast, and the Canal buses are the best way to see Amsterdam while relaxing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

A little gimmicky but worth the visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Heineken Experience was interesting but more suited to young men. The Amsterdam Canal Hop On Hop Off Bus was fantastic and a must for any trip to Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Heineken experience is five stars, I didn't utilise the canal pass that much, so that wasn't for me. Best to do heineken on it's own. However I'm not the one to judge canal pass.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Good tour, canal boats were not running because of stormy weather so we walked. Been to many brewery tour and this one was good but not great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The canal cruise was nice, but the windows were so dirty, you couldn't see things clearly. Heineken was great.

danny_g
New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

The canal bus is a very good way to see the inner city, and avoid the traffic. Just make sure you start early, it can be a long wait between the boats arriving. The Heineken experience is worth it if you haven't already done a brewery tour, or your a Heineken fan.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

This was educational, but what was most important was the great beer.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

The canal bus only stops at each location once per hour. I wish I had known that before hand to plan my timing better. We only ended up riding it once, which was such a waste. Plus the canal bus stopped running at 5:30pm which seemed early for those on holiday. The Heineken experience was cool.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Bad speakers. unable to hear . First toar boat
verry unpleasent .not help full.But had a good time

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

I enjoyed this day and it is a nice way to see different parts of the city

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

This tour was great for the boat ride but you don't really need it to get around Amsterdam, the tram system is amazing and will get you everywhere. The henikene tour was great, it's always good when beer is in included in the price of your tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The Hop On Hop Off was inconvenient because it only ran every few hours or so and it was hard to manage in with our schedule. The Heineken Experience was fun and we really enjoyed that!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Absolutely appalling access and tour for anyone who is disabled. If you do not inform staff and the outset it is impossible to get disabled access but there is nothing to say you should inform them at the start. Therefore you cant get in the lifts etc and there are no staff on the tour top help. When we enquired we were made to feel an inconvenience. Its a shame as this attitude was completely opposite to everywhere else we visited in theis Country. Over all the tour was okay but wouldn't rush back even with able bodied.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

Many canals were frozen in January 2010, and we were not informed that certain stops could not be made, therefore we had to get off and rely on other transportation. Canal experience is good, but as a form of transportation, we would recommend the trams. The Heineken Experience was lots of fun, leave plenty of time so as not to be rushed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

The canal bus is great no problems there. Buying tickets ahead of time for the Heineken Experience didn't end up being beneficial. We were relieved that we didn't have to wait in the ticket line, but after we waited in the entrance line much shorter-- only about 40 people, we were told that we couldn't bring our coats inside. We had to check our coats, and the line for the coat check was easily 80 people. And actually there wasn't a line it was just a hoard of people pushing toward one or two employees checking coats. After waiting around 20 minutes in that without getting any closer, we ended up giving our tickets away and leaving.

From USD $ 48.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2544CANAL04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message