5 star rating: Highly Recommended 452 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 452 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

When I booked they say it that each person (couple) have place next to window BUT IT IS NOT TRUE!!! When we went they put me at the table with other couple what was OK but not next to the window. I complained but they excuse their self with explanation that they join “cocktail cruise” with “cheese and wine” and there not enough space for all next to the window! I was not happy for that. Personal was friendly and helpful. They served wine nonstop and soft drinks. I went with my daughter and enjoyed. Nice experience. Worth it to go!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I truly enjoyed this tour and did not want it to end, the wine was endless and the cheese was amazing. The staff were very friendly and professional. Amsterdam is so beautiful, a canal cruise is a must

Ian L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable - the perfect way to see Amsterdam, reasonable price

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very relaxing after having spent hours walking round the city all day, the cheese was delicious and the wine flowing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This is a great way to get around to see the sights. The wine and cheese were a bonus. The seating is at tables of four. We were lucky to be paired with a young couple which kept great conversation. I honestly would have enjoyed it more during the day to see everything better, though some buildings and bridges come to life at night with lots of lights. Either way go on a canal tour!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Ok, but not as expected. Expected a quite, somewhat romantic tour down the cannels. That didn't happen. First they combined the cocktail cruse with the Wine and cheese. Of course there was a bachelorette party on board. Started out quiet but, got loader as the night grew on.
Second the seating: each table is designed for 4 to 6. Which means you are forced into a booth with strangers. The couple we sat next to were very nice, but it was distracting to listen to their conversation all night.
So if you like to talk and get to know strangers from different parts of the world, great, you'll have a good time. If you want a quite relaxing tour of Amsterdam, skip it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic evening, Departed on time and the cheese board was more than enough. The wine flowed freely throughout the cruise and we never had an empty glass. The staff pointed out places of interest but it wasn't every two minutes so you could chat aswell as take in the sights.

Brilliant trip, great staff, excellent value for money would def go on it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice experience! I recommend this cruise! Disadvantage: in July until 10:30 the cruise was with day light.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were late for our cruise, but the company kindly facilitated us with an alternative one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, Quality wine and cheese, P.S. don't forget to exchange your viator ticket for a boarding pass at the ticket office close by. Recomended by me and more importantly by my wife. excellent!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a lovely evening with a great commentary, nice cheese and reasonable wine generously served. A must do to see Amsterdam from a different perspective.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

It would have been helpful to indicate on the printed voucher that we needed to turn that voucher in at the dock for a set of tickets BEFORE getting on line to board the boat.
The wine was quite inexpensive and the choices were red or white.
The cheeses were mild...nothing fancy.
The better part of the trip was the return as it was fairly dark by this point and the lights on the canal were pretty.
If you need an evening activity to acclimate you to the time change (traveling from the US), this is suitable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent cheese and wine. Very nice hostess. Generous with refills. Recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic! The wine was free flowing and the cheeses were all tasty! The canal boat was spacious and clean and the guide was very informative! Excellent value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The captain of the cruise played music (from the 1970's to 1990's) that made the tour especially pleasant. The weather was rainy and it was necessary to cover the boat, otherwise it would be preferable to see the sights without looking through rain soaked windows. The wine and cheese was tasty and the quantities were generous.

From USD $ 49.01

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2544CANDLELIGHT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message