5 star rating: Highly Recommended 455 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 455 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The highlight of our trip while we were in Amsterdam city. Although we kind of upset with a group of young ladies on board who had their bday party celebration were extremely loud, overall it was fine.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good experience; although top-up bread would have been nice.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Very disappointed. There was very limited cheese and no commentary at all. Did this trip 2 years ago and it was totally different.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Would have been better if shorter

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

I paid £60 for two people for the cruise thinking that a boat around Amsterdam with unlimited cheese and wine would be a perfect way to spend a couple of hours.

We got a cheeseboard with four pieces of cheese between the two of us, which were eaten quite quickly with the accompanying bread and pickle. When we asked for some more cheese they told us that they had 'run out' so basically it's not unlimited as they say, it's £60 for four bits of cheese and some cheap wine.

Definitely don't go on this tour, get a day cruise and you'll still have £30 left over for nice meal!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! The views were great and the tour included some history but not so much as to take away from the time spent enjoying the cruise. Only piece of advice would be to get there early to snag a window seat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The wine and cheese was average, but a good way to see the canals by night. I would urge you to get there early and be in the first half of the line up, otherwise you wont get to pick your seats in the boat, and will be sat in the middle. We were on the edge which was much better.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

very nice but the wine was average

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very romantic! Cheese, wine and service very good. It was a great way to start our stay in Amsterdam.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our party of eight was delighted that Viator reservations were 100% according to my original request and that our group had reserved tables in the back. The cheese and wine were very good, but I must admit the staff made the trip! Please recognize Floris and the young lady on board that evening they made our party feel very special, though I am sure everyone else on board felt the same.

Thank you Floris for helping me celebrate my friend's birthday- you are a great young man with a charming and friendly personality, much success for your future!

Than you Viator, great job!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Relatively pleasant although the cheese varieties didn't suit my tastes. Wine was free flowing so that made up for it. Difficult to take pictures though as the interior is pretty closed in and you had to scramble to the back of the boat to get good pictures, impossible if you were on the window seats as everyone was crammed in. Still informative and a different way to see Amsterdam.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

I had such a negative experience the prior day with viator that I had no interest in another viator tour. I wish I had not booked the canal tour and would not have lost money.
I am not using viator anymore even though I am in Berlin for 8 days. I am using alternative tour groups so far with no negative experiences.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour...classy table setting with wine and cheeses. Would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour! I wasn't really sure what to expect, but we were very pleased. It was romantic because it was just the two of us talking as we were guided around the canals of Amsterdam. We would definitely recommend this tour!

From USD $ 46.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2544CANDLELIGHT

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message