4 star rating: Recommended 89 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  7 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Amsterdam Super Saver 1: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip and Amsterdam City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 89 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Both tours were excellent but Keukenhof was somewhat spoiled by the huge crowds. Serves me right for going on a Saturday afternoon I suppose!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Excellent tour. The gardens were spectacular.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Keukenhof was perfect at this time while the flowers were just coming -not over.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

This trip was split up into a morning city tour and the afternoon trip to Keukenhof Gardens few hours after, giving us time to have lunch and relax or go search the city a little more on our own,
The city tour took us around the city, and out to a windmill. On the way back we stopped at a diamond factory, which was neat to see the process, but was very rushed, almost leaving a few behind. If you wanted to purchase anything, you would have had to find your own way back.
The afternoon trip to the gardens was amazing. I'm not a big flower person, but I really enjoyed the gardens. They do a beautiful job with the flower displays, and it is a wonderful place for a walk. There is a windmill at the gardens which you can climb up, a hedge maze that is not as easy as it looks to get through, and a small petting zoo.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We were directed to the wrong bus and ended up at Keukenhof Gardens in the morning and missed the Amsterdam City Tour. We were given a pass to the Hop On Hop Off Bus instead so we still got a City Tour. I was a little disappointed in Keukenhof Gardens as the tulips were pretty well gone. But that couldn't be helped as the weather in April was so warm that everything blossomed sooner.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Simple trip, clear instructions, very relaxing and fun

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Great trip. Just a pitty the tullip fileds were cut of already. But to wonder around in such beautiful gardens.
The Amsterdam part is good orientation and good to see where are all the things - then when based in Amsterdam you can go back again because you know where it is.

Fred
USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Spent the morning seeing Amsterdam. A great way to get your bearings and see the sights. Then a nice comfortable ride to the gardens. You just can't describe the beauty of Keuknehof Gardens!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

The gardens were lovely and the guide was interesting and a sweet helpful young lady. The city tour was very nice except I would have skipped the diamond factory . YOur staff is excellent and well informed.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

In the morning we did the city tour. The tour guide had to speak in four different languages to accommodate the tour group. He spoke in English first and than in the other three languages. It was impressive that he was multi-lingual, however, he was not able to provide much information about each site as he had to continuously keep explaining everything four times each. We had to listen very carefully every time he spoke in English in order to try and follow what he was saying. Also, when he spoke in English he had to speak in advance of us viewing the sites and we were not sure which buildings and monuments he was referring to. It would have been better if the tour company grouped the tours where the guide just has to speak in two languages at most. The afternoon tour of Keukenhof Gardens was conducted by another tour guide. She spoke English and another language and she was able to provide us with much more information about The Netherlands. Keukenhot Gardens was in full bloom and gorgeous. We were given ample time to roam around the grounds to enjoy the beautiful flowers. If in Amsterdam during the eights weeks out of the year when the tulips are in season I would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Would have preferred longer time at the tulip fields, a bit rushed at the end to be back on time to the bus. The trip to the Diamond Factory was a bit waste of time, but enjoyed the trip around Amsterdam, would have liked to see more of the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

Tour was very good. Guide gave good comments. Length was about right.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Disappointing: tour did not stop at tulip farm as advertised. Spesificly booked this tour for the tulip farm visit!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Loved the gardens - well worth a visit. Little disappointed in city tour as would have appreciated a little more time at the diamond factory to look through the store after the visit to the factory. As it was we had to leave immediately after the factory tour and had no time at all to look around the lovely store we passed through to get to the exit. Eleanor

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The brochure described this Super Saver as a morning City Tour and Kreukenhof Gardens in the afternoon totalling about 8 hours. It really is two separate tours with a 3 hour gap in between. It actually turned out to be a 13 hour day. The City tour is not as good as a canal boat tour and the trip to the diamond factory is just a sales pitch. Kreukenhof Gardens are amazing and well worth a visit.

Dan
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

I found this combination tour to be too long. Probably because of my age I was very tired after walking about the gardens for 3 hours on a hot day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

City tour was disappointing. Coach driver was excellent. Tour guide was poor. She seemed to have trouble keeping her place in her notes and her commentary did not connect with us. Way too much time was spent at the diamond factory leaving less time to see more of the city.
Keukenhof Gardens were spectacular even though we were too early for the tulips. The amount of time allowed was about right. The tour guide was better than the one we had on the city tour. However, we did not appreciate her repeated requests for tips for herself and the driver.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Keukenhof Gardens are amazing, a must see destination, but the organizors should have known there was a Flower parade near the gardens on 21.04.2012. This parade is held every two years and is not a new event. So we were stuck in traffic, lost nearly an hour and unfortunately didn't have enough time to enjoy the gardens.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The gardens were passed their peak, and should have been finished for touring the previous week. There were no flowers in the fields.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Awesome flower park! Really worth the day. getting into the tour bus from damrak was a mess! Lindbergh being in the business for so long, and knowing how busy things get, should organize better and make it comfortable for guests. Was mad out there prior to boarding!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

The name of this tour would indicate that it is a full day tour, it turns out to be two part day tours where you have to return back to the original starting place in Amsterdam to catch a second bus in the afternoon. This process costs you two hours of wasted time in the middle of day. Too many destinations on tour seemed to be shopping related instead of information and sightseeing. Tours taken in Rome were full day and mostly devoted in sights and information. This tour receives a three star rating only because of the Keukenhof Gardens. The bus (Bakker) for this part of the tour had little if any air conditioning, even the driver was complaining.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

The Indoor displays were wonderful. But we were a little to early for the outdoor flowers.
Was worth seeing every thing indoors.

Note from Viator: Thanks for your comment. The Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields are open for a limited time each year; while the staff at Keukenhof Gardens works very hard to ensure the seven million tulips, daffodils, hyacinths and spring bulbs are in bloom during this eight-week period, the cycle of blooming flowers depends heavily on weather conditions. You are guaranteed to see a mixture of flowers in bloom from March to May, but April travel dates are recommended for the greatest chance to see the gardens at their very best, including the tulips.

Rama Kant N
Netherlands

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

Amsterdam could have been described a bit better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

the city tour Guide was excellent and tour was good. The major problem is this tour operation is not organised. They ask the customers to come half hour early just because they want to exchange the booking confirmation to another ticket. To get this ticket we have to stand in a very long line, on top of it there is no proper sign boards or no proper instructions in which line we have to stand. The company staff asked us to stand in one line we were standing after about 15 mints another staff says not this line you have to stand in another line. They will issue tickets for all types of tours they operate. It is full of confusion there. After which they asked us to wait outside the office and then they took us to another place may be 300 to 400 mts by walk where the buses will start the tour. It is highly inconvenient for the customers. I do not really understand even now these tour operators are not online, still want to exchange for manual tickets at their office. I wonder how Europe can be called as a developed country. Very disgusting. I request Viator to initiate some corrective actions so the customers in future will not suffer like us.
The tour guide was excellent but the bus driver is of very discriminating attitude between Asians and Westerners. Keukenhof gardens is just a hype. The real innovation we have seen in a similar garden in Canberra, Australia with very innovative designs in flowers. Keukenhof was very disappointing because it was just a garden with flowers grown, anyone can grow in their own land. If anyone really wants to see flowers in full length like 2 to 3 kms at a stretch then you have to take private tour in Amsterdam. These are expensive tours because those lands are privately owned but worth seeing it. We did not know otherwise we could have taken the private tour itself.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The city tour was satisfactory but not exciting; the guide could have given more information. Conducting it in more than one language meant that it was confusing and the building he was talking about was usually not even in sight.
The afternoon trip was very overpriced and the guide added no value.

Special Offer
$84.08 Save $11.21

From USD $ 72.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550TULIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message