4 star rating: Recommended 102 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  7 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Amsterdam Super Saver 1: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip and Amsterdam City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 102 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Disappointing: tour did not stop at tulip farm as advertised. Spesificly booked this tour for the tulip farm visit!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Loved the gardens - well worth a visit. Little disappointed in city tour as would have appreciated a little more time at the diamond factory to look through the store after the visit to the factory. As it was we had to leave immediately after the factory tour and had no time at all to look around the lovely store we passed through to get to the exit. Eleanor

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The brochure described this Super Saver as a morning City Tour and Kreukenhof Gardens in the afternoon totalling about 8 hours. It really is two separate tours with a 3 hour gap in between. It actually turned out to be a 13 hour day. The City tour is not as good as a canal boat tour and the trip to the diamond factory is just a sales pitch. Kreukenhof Gardens are amazing and well worth a visit.

Dan
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

I found this combination tour to be too long. Probably because of my age I was very tired after walking about the gardens for 3 hours on a hot day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

City tour was disappointing. Coach driver was excellent. Tour guide was poor. She seemed to have trouble keeping her place in her notes and her commentary did not connect with us. Way too much time was spent at the diamond factory leaving less time to see more of the city.
Keukenhof Gardens were spectacular even though we were too early for the tulips. The amount of time allowed was about right. The tour guide was better than the one we had on the city tour. However, we did not appreciate her repeated requests for tips for herself and the driver.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Keukenhof Gardens are amazing, a must see destination, but the organizors should have known there was a Flower parade near the gardens on 21.04.2012. This parade is held every two years and is not a new event. So we were stuck in traffic, lost nearly an hour and unfortunately didn't have enough time to enjoy the gardens.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The gardens were passed their peak, and should have been finished for touring the previous week. There were no flowers in the fields.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Awesome flower park! Really worth the day. getting into the tour bus from damrak was a mess! Lindbergh being in the business for so long, and knowing how busy things get, should organize better and make it comfortable for guests. Was mad out there prior to boarding!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

The name of this tour would indicate that it is a full day tour, it turns out to be two part day tours where you have to return back to the original starting place in Amsterdam to catch a second bus in the afternoon. This process costs you two hours of wasted time in the middle of day. Too many destinations on tour seemed to be shopping related instead of information and sightseeing. Tours taken in Rome were full day and mostly devoted in sights and information. This tour receives a three star rating only because of the Keukenhof Gardens. The bus (Bakker) for this part of the tour had little if any air conditioning, even the driver was complaining.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

The Indoor displays were wonderful. But we were a little to early for the outdoor flowers.
Was worth seeing every thing indoors.

Note from Viator: Thanks for your comment. The Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields are open for a limited time each year; while the staff at Keukenhof Gardens works very hard to ensure the seven million tulips, daffodils, hyacinths and spring bulbs are in bloom during this eight-week period, the cycle of blooming flowers depends heavily on weather conditions. You are guaranteed to see a mixture of flowers in bloom from March to May, but April travel dates are recommended for the greatest chance to see the gardens at their very best, including the tulips.

Rama Kant N
Netherlands

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

Amsterdam could have been described a bit better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

the city tour Guide was excellent and tour was good. The major problem is this tour operation is not organised. They ask the customers to come half hour early just because they want to exchange the booking confirmation to another ticket. To get this ticket we have to stand in a very long line, on top of it there is no proper sign boards or no proper instructions in which line we have to stand. The company staff asked us to stand in one line we were standing after about 15 mints another staff says not this line you have to stand in another line. They will issue tickets for all types of tours they operate. It is full of confusion there. After which they asked us to wait outside the office and then they took us to another place may be 300 to 400 mts by walk where the buses will start the tour. It is highly inconvenient for the customers. I do not really understand even now these tour operators are not online, still want to exchange for manual tickets at their office. I wonder how Europe can be called as a developed country. Very disgusting. I request Viator to initiate some corrective actions so the customers in future will not suffer like us.
The tour guide was excellent but the bus driver is of very discriminating attitude between Asians and Westerners. Keukenhof gardens is just a hype. The real innovation we have seen in a similar garden in Canberra, Australia with very innovative designs in flowers. Keukenhof was very disappointing because it was just a garden with flowers grown, anyone can grow in their own land. If anyone really wants to see flowers in full length like 2 to 3 kms at a stretch then you have to take private tour in Amsterdam. These are expensive tours because those lands are privately owned but worth seeing it. We did not know otherwise we could have taken the private tour itself.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The city tour was satisfactory but not exciting; the guide could have given more information. Conducting it in more than one language meant that it was confusing and the building he was talking about was usually not even in sight.
The afternoon trip was very overpriced and the guide added no value.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Unfortunately the weather was absolutely terrible the day I went to the Keukenhof Gardens and it's much better to go the middle of April as well. Only half of the flowers had bloomed so far but it was still pretty to see and you really only pay for the ride to the gardens, the entrance fee, a free bulb, and the city tour. The city tour was probably the worse tour I've ever been on. The whole time we listened to the tour we stayed on the bus and had very little opportunity to take pictures. The tour guide also had to give the tour in 4 different languages so that was fun. We stopped at a Diamond Museum and it was cool if you haven't been there but it was redundant for me because I'd already been to the Diamond Factory,

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2013

As usual the bus was very punctual in departing and in returning.But the lack of organisation prior to departure was very disappointing.There were no signage or iinfo available,staff not very helpful.
If you take it that you are paying for a bus trip and no more,its ok.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

It was fantastic! But since the guide had to say everything in 5 different languages, it was very annoying. And she could not tell us much info because she had to be quick to talk to the other tourists in their language. She should have asked what language we spoke so she could have narrowed it down to one or two languages.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Too cold for flowers to bloom, city tour not worth it, take hop on/hop off tour its better and more informative

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Travel agent not friendly
But trip to gardens beautiful

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

The Keukenhof Gardens were beautiful, but we were there too long. That may not have been a problem normally, but it was very cold. We looked for the bus driver and our guide to see if we could go back on an earlier trip, but could fine no one..we were on our own. Then when we went back to our bus, 10 minutes early of the appointed time, for our return trip, the bus was already full and we were waved off to a different bus which finally left 20 minutes later. I didn't think it was very well done. I have never been on a tour where no one was available for questions or where no heads were counted. The city tour was fine, but there was a 2 hour interval between the 2 tours which I considered a waste of time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

This was actually 2 trips in 1.

In the morning session, you'll start off touring around Amsterdam in a bus with maybe 30-40 other people. It did miss some of the interesting parts of Amsterdam like the Albert Cuyp market. Instead, we stopped for about 45 minutes at the Gassan diamond center, where some sales person tried very hard to sell some of diamonds to us, which frankly, didn't seem to cheap.

Then, you are off on your own for a 2 hour lunch and come back for the trip to Keukenhof Gardens. We only spent 2.5 hours in Keukenhof Gardens, which was basically not enough.

It would have been better if less time was spent in the diamond center but elsewhere, and also immediately after the City Tour, a quick lunch followed by Keukenhof Garden would be better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2011

Amsterdam trip non specific and too much time for Diamond factory. Afternoon gardens only allowed 2hours nowhere near long enough and spent too much time looking at local bulb fields. There was a bulb fields tour which I would have taken if I only wanted to see the bulbs

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

If you are really short of time, it's probably okay. For the City tour, would have preferred if they had given us some time at a better place than wasting time at a diamond factory! For the Keukenhof trip, I guess they did what they are supposed to do, but I was kind of expecting more views of real tulip fields. However, my timing was also bad First week of May - go in 3rd week of April for the best tulip fields.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2009

City tour was very nice. The gardens were beautiful, but the tulips were over, which we did not know until we were on the way to the gardens, so we were very disappointed in that respect. The flowers that were still in bloom were very nice.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2009

Tour of Keukenhof Gardens basically amounts to a bus ride to the gardens. Once you are dropped off you are on your own, except for being given a time to return to the bus for the ride back to Amsterdam. I did not mind this since I enjoyed viewing the area at my own pace. However, I may have been able to acquire an admission ticket and transportation for less than the "tour" price. The city tour was OK with two exceptions. One, the "tour" of the diamond factory was nothing more than a sales pitch. Two, the guide had to translate into four languages, which was very distracting. By the time she gets to your language, there is a good chance you are long past the sight and so the explanation doesn't match what you are looking at.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2009

More places could have been included for photo stops in Amsterdam city tour.

Special Offer

From USD $ 73.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550TULIP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message