2.5 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better 64 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  11 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Brussels and Antwerp Day Trip from Amsterdam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 64 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

We signed up the tour because we are not familiar with this country and would like to know more about this country. Through the tour guide, we can know more.
BUT, as long as I got out from the bus, the briefing had already finished. The tour guide had already walked far far away (more than 20 meters far from us) along the street.
As this group was very big. More than 60 pax. There were many elderly, family with baby, etc. So, it was really taking quite some time to get down from the bus. The tour guide didn't wait for everyone get down from bus. And there were no one follow at the end of the group. We need to walk really fast to join the group. And needed to stop when the traffic lights turned to red.
The tour guide held only a small little black umbrella. We were left behind and need to always search for the umbrella. And the street were full of visitors. Hundreds of visitors made us hardly to find the tour guide.
Our mood was so depressed. I don't even have mood to enjoy the scenery but only worried will left behind especially when we came to the junctions of the crowded street . Sometimes, we don't know should turn left or turn right or walk straight.
Would recommend give the sticker to each of the members. At least we can recognise our group members rather than searching for the tour guide's little umbrella.
Overall, the trip cover all places.
Not recommend if you come with elderly who need to walk slow or family with carrying babies.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

This tour was definitely worth doing because it offered an opportunity to see part of Belgium. Both cities were unique, and definitely worth seeing and experiencing. The drive was pleasant, and the time in each city was well spent albeit short. The downside was that our tour departed 30 minutes late from Amsterdam and our time in Brussels was less than expected. Neither stop afforded us enough time to have a proper lunch, and we had to grab some food at a stand in order to fully see the main squares of the cities. Our guide was also less than the best. He dropped us off in each city with minimal instruction, except when and where to return to the bus. After we left each city, he then told us about sites he hoped we had seen. It would have been much nicer to know about some of these things in advance of our visit, not when leaving.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

The places we visited were beautiful. But was a bit disappointed as the tour guide was not around when we needed to ask questions. We all were left at the squares wondering by ourselves.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Too many passengers and difficult to listen to the guide with 3 different languages.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

itinerary was great but tour guide moved to fast and was unaware of all the people with her. Viator should invest in multi language headsets so tour guide does not have to repeat each sentence several times in all languages. You loose alot of info on areas due to this

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

This was one of two trips we scheduled with Viator -partnered to a local Amsterdam Tour company- it was so awful that we left the tour and bought train tickets from Brussels back to Amsterdam rather then spend one more minute with this company. There was no tour- it was an uninformative bus ride to the location. They took us on a double decker bus, with one guide!! The guide had to repeat everything in three additional languages and apologized to my wife that he was unable to give us all the information because he had to repeat it in four languages!!! The company had over booked this tour time and actually left 10 people standing on the sidewalk to wait for the next tour 2 hours later- they were very angry. The locations were pretty enough on their own, but the tour was a complete waste of time. Please review your partnership with this Amsterdam Company- we were greatly disappointed in both day tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

We were late for just 10' and we did ring before hand (it was only partially our fault: got wrong instruction from the guy at the train station) and they didn't wait for us. I know that another coulple could't make it because they were late for just 5'. So guyz, doesn't matter what, be on time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The trip was fine, as time was short and covering two cities in one go was a challenge. Guide (spanish guy) was good and we enjoyed the trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

There was pretty much no guiding on this trip. It was more like the guide explained some things on the bus, but once the bus stopped for each stop, you were then let go on your own with a time to meet back. This is like a bus service rather than an actual "tour."

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

The country was beautiful. However, the guide just left us to wander around by ourselves. We did not visit the lace factory. We also couldn't find the chocolate museum, etc. On the way back, I overheard that some of us even missed the famous Manneken Pis.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

Tour bus was cramped and uncomfortable. Impossible to enjoy the ride from Amsterdam to Brussels. Not enough time to see each venue.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

This was a nice way to get to Belgium, and see two cities. But the only information you got was from the tour guide on the bus. There was free time in both Antwerp and Brussels and then back on the bus. Although what I did not understand is why they make a rest stop at a McDonalds for 10 minutes on the way back if they will not allow you to bring their food on the bus. The nice thing on the way back, the bus will stop at the Leisplein plaza and then at the main station area.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

To many people on the tour. I think there were 81 guest way to hard to hear the tour guide. Nothing special.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Tour guide made this the worst experience in our 2wk visit. In Brussels she mentioned the names of only 2 bldgs. (no details) in the square. There were several and they were majestic. She said she only knew the name of 2 provinces in the Netherlands. She spoke excessively in Spanish. I like the language But, it was like she was practicing her pronunciation again and again. This went on for hours. I don't recall her name but she had light coloring, heavy set and was petite. Sooo, now I need to research and educate myself on the square. ALSO, VIATOR's noting 1 1/2 hr avl. for "free time" in Antwerp is Very misleading. Because 1/2hr. is spent walking from the bus to the square. I like to walk however, if I'm only on my own for 1/2 that time (45min.) tell me upfront.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

This was supposed to be a guided tour. Instead, the bus brought us to the place, the "guide" showed us where the washrooms were, and we were completely on our own. Nothing about architecture, nothing about history. The fact that our guide had to say everything in 4 languages didn't help at all.

From USD $ 82.30

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550LIN6

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message