5 star rating: Highly Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dutch Villages and Countryside Bike Tour from Amsterdam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fabulous bike tour. I was concerned about fitness level required but there was no problem. It was a very leisurely ride with frequent stops. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Amsterdam really turned on beautiful weather for us and we had a magnificent morning.
Highly recommended...

Joydeep Das
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The tour was sensational and had one of the best sightseeing of the city thanks to the tour route and our guide Emma who was a rockstar throughout! Must recommend for anyone new or wud like to explore the countryside on cycle:)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The tour was a good value. We were concerned that they would not have variable bike sizes. However, they have many different sized bikes for people of different heights. The bikes have back pedal brake and are one speed. The tour guide was excellent and spent extra time taking us to the top of a church in a small village.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Brilliant day out, our guide Thomas was exceptional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A great way to spend a few hours. Note that it's not too taxing, so is best for those after a relaxing countryside ride rather than those who want a physical challenge. It's amazing how peaceful the area and the villages are, given that you're only just outside central Amsterdam!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our Dutch Villages and Countryside tour. Our guide David was excellent at getting us acquainted with our bikes and leading us safely through the city traffic and over to to North Amsterdam.. Once there, he set a very good pace for the group and described the various sites as we went along. The lunch spot had very good food and a good selection of beers which is always good. I would recommend this tour to friends.Good job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The Guide was great. Unfortunately, my Bike had a flat that could not be repaired after the first half hour. They refunded my money after doing everything to fix the problem. They were a first class group from beginning to end.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great trip and the perfect option for Amsterdam bike riding if you're a little unsure of navigating the inner city with traffic you're not quite used to.

David our guide was a really nice guy and answered any of our questions no matter what was asked.

Ride wasn't too taxing even though the wind was blowing quite heavily and the Amsterdam country is beautiful with friendly inhabitants abound.

With so much to see and do in Amsterdam I'd recommend this right up there at the top of the list.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excelent program. The guide was very reliable and yet funny, we like a lot.

JENNIFER C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Had the most wonderful time. Our tour was just great. He is very knowelagble and personality was great. The bike were ready and it was just my husband and me on the tour which I was so glad that they did not cancell it as this tour is a MUST when you are in Amsterdam as the country side is beautifull. Mant thanks and IF we every go back to Amsterdam will do the bike tour again. Many thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This bike tour was terrific! Our guide, Jelte, was very informative and friendly. This was a welcome escape from the busy streets of Amsterdam, so glad we did it. Highly recommend it, the only drawback was some unexpected mosquito swarms but Jelte got us away from them as quickly as possible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

A perfect blue sky, friendly companions, and a knowledgeable guide – what else could you ask for on a Dutch Villages and Countryside Bike tour? We were worried that we wouldn’t be able to keep up on a 30-km bike ride, but the guide went at a leisurely pace and anyone in reasonable shape would be able to enjoy this experience without any stress or strain. A few tips to make your trip more fun: 1) Map out the location of the Yellow Bike office before you go 2) Arrive at the Yellow Bike office 15 minutes early to get your bike and find your group 3) Bring water, sunglasses, a hat and a light jacket no matter what the weather looks like (your bike will easily hold a small backpack on the front or back)

Note from Viator: This review was written by Betsy Talbot, who wrote a complete summary of the Dutch Villages and Countryside Bike Tour (with video!) on the Viator Travel Blog.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

This is the only tour worth the money I paid, the country side of amsterdam is beautiful and the tour leader was very nice and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This trip was amazing! It was a great chance to get out of the city and to see the countryside. We had plenty of opportunities to stop and take pictures, the guides were very friendly and gave us lots of information about the areas we went to, and it was all around a great time. My group was very happy that we took the time to take the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Beautiful way to see the countryside and also to take a break from the museums and get a little exercise at the same time Loved it!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very relaxing ride away from the hustle and bustle of the city!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed getting out of the city and seeing the unusual countryside. The villages were very charming. The old fishing village of Durgerdam was cute but be careful what you order at De Oude Taveerne. We ordered 2 beers and a shrimp cocktail that ended up costing us €35 (turned out waitress misunderstood us and brought 2 shrimp cocktails.) We were really disappointed with the shrimp cocktails - smallest shrimp we have ever had in a shrimp cocktail. Maybe the Dutch do it differently. Our ride mapped out to be closer to 14 miles than the advertised 21 but it still took us 4 hours. Maybe we rode slower or stopped and talked longer. In any event we still enjoyed the tour. Niger was a very good guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We were in a group of around 10 people. Very interesting way to see the Amsterdam country side. Our guide Elke was informative and fun and had some nice stories. We rode through quaint villages and lovely stretches of Dutch countryside.
The lunch break was about 25 mins at a traditional Dutch restaurant. A must do once in Amsterdam.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent day trip with lovely scenery and friendly guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Enthusiastic guide, well informed, lovely setting, gentle pace (apart from the heat). Enjoyed it

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very enjoyable bike tour providing some insight into the countryside.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This is a Very enjoyable and a nice way to get out of the city for a couple of hours. Our guide (whose name I can't recall) was really cool and informative. Our group consisted of mainly old people so our track was cut down as we weren't 'fast enough' which we thought was a shame but nonetheless we enjoyed the ride. Be aware the suspension on these bikes is not that great and sore bums are guaranteed.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was a great way to see the countryside away from the busy city streets. Our guide was knowledgable of the areas we rode through, happy to answer questions and looked after everyone. We hadn't ridden bikes in years but were able to keep up and really enjoyed this tour. It gave us another view of Amsterdam which was quite beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

I really enjoyed this trip and I loved seeing the countryside. Biking through the countryside felt like the more authentic way to see Holland the a bus. While this is a great trip it is not for everyone. This is a long bike ride that while worth it is physically demanding and very tiring. Also being Holland it is usually raining, thankfully the tour does offer rain coats to wear. If you are in good shape this is a great trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Group too large at 18 people as eben admitted by guide. Should have had 2 guides one at the back or split group into 2 for more ease. Apart from that a great experience

From USD $ 35.46

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550AMBIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message