• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 1029 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  5.5 or 6.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1029 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our family very much enjoyed the tour. Our guide was excellent !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I was limited on time and wanted to see as much as I could, especially the rural area of the Netherlands. This tour fulfilled all my needs (other than tulips which I decided to compromise on). The tour kept a great pace, had fabulous tour leaders, and the information via the audio recording was the perfect balance of providing enough information but also allowing you time to just enjoy what you were seeing and hearing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A wonderful way to get out and see this country. It was short and sweet. The tour guides were wonderful. It rained and it was still a delight!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guides and bus driver were great! Very friendly. Lots to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

really well run tour and we had enough time to do everything we wanted to. windmills were amazing, lunch was fantastic, guides excellent. overall a wonderful tour and would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The bus was clean, the tour guide was friendly and informative. The windmills were amazing. The time spent in volendam was really nice. It was so lovely to see quaint holland away from the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great locations, friendly tourguides, highly informative audioguide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great and helpful tour guide. The trip was good and well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Places visited were just as described. Our tour guide was wonderful, we had enough time to take plenty of pictures and she only talked about interesting stuff. We had our 13-yr old and 8-yr old daughters and both had fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed the tour. Our guide was very informative and very pleasant!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed the experience immensely

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide Edgar was fantastic,
The windmills are beautiful and Bart at the Clog Factory is highly entertaining. The clogs are very comfortable so make sure you buy a pair! Volendam was really nice and the guides' recommended lunch spot was definitely great value and good food. The cheese "factory" was a little disappointing but you get a quick overview of the process. There are equally as good places in the back alleys of Amsterdam. In Voldenam I'd recommend venturing past the meeting point and going to the other shops as there is more range and value than on the Main Street.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip is really great. Especially the seafood restaurant at Volendam is awesome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Enjoyed it very much.. it was interesting and very eye catching.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Met the tour at the tour office. Left right on time on a double decker coach. Our guide (Diana?) was very informative both historically and geographically. First we drove over a dijk to Marken. Here we walked around houses in the small village, I did feel a bit uncomfortable as we were almost in their gardens. Then we went to the Clog factory and watched Bart make a clog. He too was very informative and funny. We spent time at the gift shop before walking down to the waterfront to catch the boat to Volendam. We were the last boat of the season to leave and this was an extra surprise as when booking the tour it said the day before was the last boat trip. The boat trip was quick, there are toilet and refreshment facilities on board. Volendam was beautiful I so wish we went in the summer and not on a windy, rainy November day. We went to the cheese factory and heard how cheese is made, I say heard as the lady just described the process however the woman in the room (behind glass) behind us was actually making cheese. We had about 3/4 hour free time hear to get lunch, there are numerous bars, restaurants and stalls selling food. We then walked to the coach and continued to Zaanse Schans. The first impression you get when you leave the coach is an overwhelming smell of chocolate !! There is a chocolate factory here. The first windmill is free to enter however you cannot climb up. There is a windmill that costs 3 eu and you can go to the top and outside. I will warn the steps are very steep. Here we had free time to walk around. There were plenty of photo opportunities. We then returned to Amsterdam. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

From USD $ 54.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550LIN2A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message