• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 1041 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Duration:  5.5 or 6.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1041 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed the experience immensely

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide Edgar was fantastic,
The windmills are beautiful and Bart at the Clog Factory is highly entertaining. The clogs are very comfortable so make sure you buy a pair! Volendam was really nice and the guides' recommended lunch spot was definitely great value and good food. The cheese "factory" was a little disappointing but you get a quick overview of the process. There are equally as good places in the back alleys of Amsterdam. In Voldenam I'd recommend venturing past the meeting point and going to the other shops as there is more range and value than on the Main Street.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip is really great. Especially the seafood restaurant at Volendam is awesome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Enjoyed it very much.. it was interesting and very eye catching.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Met the tour at the tour office. Left right on time on a double decker coach. Our guide (Diana?) was very informative both historically and geographically. First we drove over a dijk to Marken. Here we walked around houses in the small village, I did feel a bit uncomfortable as we were almost in their gardens. Then we went to the Clog factory and watched Bart make a clog. He too was very informative and funny. We spent time at the gift shop before walking down to the waterfront to catch the boat to Volendam. We were the last boat of the season to leave and this was an extra surprise as when booking the tour it said the day before was the last boat trip. The boat trip was quick, there are toilet and refreshment facilities on board. Volendam was beautiful I so wish we went in the summer and not on a windy, rainy November day. We went to the cheese factory and heard how cheese is made, I say heard as the lady just described the process however the woman in the room (behind glass) behind us was actually making cheese. We had about 3/4 hour free time hear to get lunch, there are numerous bars, restaurants and stalls selling food. We then walked to the coach and continued to Zaanse Schans. The first impression you get when you leave the coach is an overwhelming smell of chocolate !! There is a chocolate factory here. The first windmill is free to enter however you cannot climb up. There is a windmill that costs 3 eu and you can go to the top and outside. I will warn the steps are very steep. Here we had free time to walk around. There were plenty of photo opportunities. We then returned to Amsterdam. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Syyl
Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Good value for a 6 hour tour outside Amsterdam. The tour guide is knowledgable and give you just enough time to browse around. It's not too exhaustive, surprisingly good lunch (you pay you own) at Volden. Wish we could have slightly longer time at Zaanse Schans Windmills - there's much to see and we were rushing in the end. But it's good value which includes a comfortable bus ride, you see the sceneries, you understand a little bit more about Holland and it includes entry tickets. It takes you back to Amsterdam promptly at 3pm, give you enough time to browse around the city or hit another museum. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved this even though it was an early start! Our favourite part was the windmills and would have liked a little bit longer at this stop to spend more time in the shops and windmills. Would recommend this trip as interesting from start to finish :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

what a wonderful trip,and to see cheese making, clog making, and the windmills all in one trip, and the houses were beautiful, would recommend,

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I adore Holland cheese!! It was so interesting to visit a cheese factory and try all the different type of cheese. Very cool also the wooden shoes shop, you can see live how they produce this typical shoes, very funny. We really enjoy. Recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

It was amazing. We enjoyed so much admiring the windmills and learn about their use. The tour in general was good and we were happy to spend some hours far from Amsterdam. The tour guide was nice and he made this tour more interesting. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the best tours I have been on! The tour guides were very knowledgeable and informative. The countryside is absolutely beautiful! I loved sampling the delicious cheese in Voldendam and the taking the boat ride to Marken. The clog demonstration was fascinating! Highly recommend!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

EXCELLENT TOUR, ECCELLENT GUIDES

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I absolutely loved this tour! The scenery was beautiful and the tour was very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A pure delight! Holland at its natural best! The city of Amsterdam is exciting and filled with opportunities to visit notable places. However, the trip to the countryside really tells the story.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely fantastic.

From USD $ 54.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2550LIN2A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message