4.5 star rating: Recommended 52 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Aswan, concludes Luxor, Egypt
  • Duration:  4 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 4-Day Nile River Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Optional Private Guide. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 52 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

I was very pleased with the service. It surpassed my expectations. The staff met us at the train station and was friendly and knowledgeable. The ship was spotless and food was delicious. Our personal guide became a good friend. Overall I would highly recommend this tour to any of my close family or friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

The 4 day Nile cruise from Aswan to Luxor is a great way to see the Nile and the temples, sites, and cities. It's a great value for the money and I would recommend it to anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

I thought this cruise was pretty well valued and note that some other tour companies were charging more for the same cruise. We travelled during the Xmas period, and were pleasantly surprised when we checked into our room. Clean, spacious, and pretty comfortable, with room serviced daily.

All meals provided were buffet style, and plentiful. Drinks are not included and purchased separately. Sometimes entertainment is provided in the evening (Xmas party, belly dancing), but it wasn't the most exciting so to speak.

I didn't realize until we boarded that you get your own private tour guide (for each separate booking), which is nice, because that gives you some flexibility with some toured sites/times. We were assigned a lovely and knowledgable guide, whom we engaged for an extra day our after disembarkation. The 4 day cruise covers most of the sites between aswan and luxor, though you disembark first thing on the morning on day 4, so technically it 's more a 3 day, 3 night tour.

All in all, good package, well priced. We were pretty happy with the booking. Recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Overall this was a very good package. The boat was clean and our room was quite spacious. The food was also very good, though the staff in the dining room often seemed eager to clear our plates and move us along. They did not always create a relaxing environment.

By far the best part of the package was our private guide, Sayeed. Not only was he incredibly knowledgeable of the temples and tombs we visited, he was just a great person, full of interesting conversation. He took us for an informal and unscheduled tour of Aswan (his hometown) and told us all about the lives of people in southern Egypt.

When our cruise ended we had a whole day in Luxor before flying out that night. The boat let us use the the roof deck during the day and then provided us with transport to the airport which was a welcome surprise.

The entertainment at night was cheesy and not worth attending. The staff at the front desk was not always very helpful, either. Still, this was a very enjoyable cruise and we would recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Excellent guide - Halim Naeim Ghaly - very knowledgeable a sense of humour. Felucca ride was a real highlight. Cruise ship was well organised & everyone was friendly and helpful. I would have liked to have taken the longer trip - we took the 4 day.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

I really enjoyed the cruise and the great guide, but having to pay for non-alcoholic drinks is not good customer service! Change that, and I would highly recommend Viator!

Melissa W
Slovenia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

It was definately a wonderful way to see the Nile!

Robert A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Food, accommodation and staff excellent. Time ashore on cruising day a bit too limited. Overall very happy.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

The mirage was clean and beautiful, food was fabulous and crew wonderful. Disappointed with our guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

An excellent way to experience the Nile and what it has to offer while sitting on top deck surveying the change of scenery, from farming, to fishing, palm trees and lush vegetation to historical sites. The boat trip was well worth our time. The food was excellent with a good variety and pleasant staff. Cabins clean and bright. We are normally independent travelers and this was a welcome change. The private guide was just OK, left us on our own quite a bit which was great as we do our own reading and exploring but for people who don't prepare themselves they would be missing a lot of history and explanations - which is not good. The different modes of transport should be looked at - using a mini bus for just 2 people is not economical or fuel efficient, especially when there were at least 3 different groups of either 2 or 3 people and each group used a different mini bus - not good. We enjoyed the over all experience and think 3 nights on the boat is definitely long enough.

Adriana A
Colombia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

This is the best way to see the upper Nile!

Maria D
Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The boat and crew were first rate. Very good attention from the guide, however, as a seasoned traveler, I felt a bit "crowded" by the guide. Tipping is customary in Egypt however, the guide greatly over stated the level to which one must tip which makes me wonder it the cruise company pays too little to the taxi drivers, carriage drivers, crew and others they employ.

Sandra W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Would recommend doing the 3 day Nile cruise on MY Mirage, a good price, good boat. Overall excellent value.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

From best to worst:
- GUIDE: The personal guide was amazing! Mohamed was very nice and truly an expert on Egypt. He explained everything to us and had the answers for all our questions. Also he was very nice and made us comfortable every time he had a chance.
- FOOD: The food on the boat was very delicious and gave us nothing to complain about it. Completely satisfied.
- BEVERAGES: The price was a little high, as it is in any other cruise, but they should at least offer free water during the meals, which was not the case. If you want to drink anything (during a meal or after a long tour), you have to buy it.
- ROOM: It was ok and comfortable, but they could give more attention on cleaning. The floor under the bed was a little dusty and even with some hair from previous passengers. Nothing really gross, but if you drop something under the bed, you're in for a surprise.
- MAINTENANCE: The boat itself is nice and big. A little run down in some parts (like the chairs of the upper deck) but those were just details. The service on the upper deck could be better, though. For most of the time there wasn't anyone from the crew there to clean the tables or to take orders for beverages and drinks.

And now, the worst and most concerning part for us:
The Itinerary was changed and the overall time span of the cruise was extended.
On day two, the departure from Aswan was delayed until after lunch. Leaving the itinerary as it follows:
Day 2 (B, L, D): Sail to Kom Ombo and visit of Kom Ombo Temple / Sail to Edfu/ Overnight in Edfu
Day 3 (B, L, D): Morning visit to the Temple of Horus, Sail to Luxor, Overnight in Luxor
Day 4 (B): Visit the West Bank

But the worst part was the last day:
The West Bank that supposed to be on day 3, was actually after the check-out on day 4. So we lost a morning on a very tight schedule because accumulative changes on the itinerary forced to leave this great tour in a day that we already had other activities planned on our own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

very nice staff, clean ship. Only few guests do to political circumstances. organization of all trips was perfect.

From USD $ 234.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124ASW14

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message