4.5 star rating: Recommended 23 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Aswan, Egypt
  • Duration:  4 - 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 23 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

My only critic: Once the flight is e-booked and confirmation received, no information is given re exact flight times and e-communication with Viator is slow. Otherwise, no-nonsense, helpful and attentive local staff in Aswan and Abu Simbel, good logistics and timing.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The whole tour worked liked clockwork! We were picked up from the hotel, checked in at the airport, met the other end, had a good guide and almost enough time (another half hour would have been better, but the time was determined by Egypt Air timetable). You need to be aware that Viator may not be able to confirm your booking until a few weeks before the flight. Viator handled this delay as best as they could. I think that is because Egyptair only schedule the flights when they know the demand. There are cheaper ways of visiting Abu Simbel but these involve 6 hour coach trips in convoys and you then go round the temples with thousands of others. We just had one plane load.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

I really liked the tour even though it was very expensive, but it is worth it! The only thing that I didn't really like was that we only had about an hour at Abu Simbel. We had to rush a little bit but we were able to see everything.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

We had trouble booking this flight directly on Egypt Air's website for the day we wanted to go, but Viator had the flights. That said, the plane was only part full, there are free bus transfers to the temples, and a guide is included for each group or even a single person with your entrance ticket 80 Egyptian pounds per person.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Abu Simbel is amazing. But don't pay for the private tour. We were with the "group" the entire time and the private guide didn't give us anything that the Lonely planet travel guide didn't offer. But definitely a must see on your trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

The organisation could not have been better but we were disappointed in Abu Simbel itself. It had lost its majesty and seemed to be part of a film set. Think of moving the Treasury at Petra to the top of the cliff and I think you'll see what we mean.

Suzanne H
Netherlands

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

Abu Simbel was worth seeing. The trip by private air tour was very well organised although expensive. I expected to be sitting in the first class for this price. Furthermore it would be wise to ask your guests about their specific interest it might be slightly different than the egyptologist expects.

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2009

This tour was way overpriced almost double compared to the prices we saw local tour operators selling it for. While the transfers to and from the airport and site were very smooth and the staff friendly and helpful, we found our "Egyptologist guide" to be totally inadequate, lacking enthusiasm, and not as knowledgeable as the guides we had in other parts of Egypt. The visit to Abu Simbel is recommended for any trip to Egypt, and the flight is fast and convenient, but book it elsewhere.

From USD $ 370.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124ASW10

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message