4 star rating: Recommended 43 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Aswan, Egypt
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Very impressed with the efficiency of the web site, message waiting for us on the cruise ship, prompt pick up, guide's courtesy and knowledge. It was worth the early wake up and drive. Sunrise over the desert was awesome. Abu Simbel should not be missed.

Nitin R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

This was our favorite part of the entire trip to Egypt. The long trip to get there via the mini van was draining, but the end destination was PHENOMENAL. The guide was a pleasure to deal with, considering we had many OTHER guides on various other tours who were not remotely interested in our enthusiasm for Egypt.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It is very very very beautiful! There are no ways to put it in words, must see it.

Roy M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We booked this trip just before we left on holiday because our tour operator had been unable to get us flights to Abu Simbel. We were dubious about a three hour bus ride through the Western Desert, but as we had traveled so far south especially to see Abu Simbel, we felt it was worth the risk! We had booked a bus trip, so we expected to be joining a coach load of other tourists. Rather, we were picked up at 3:30 a.m. by a private air conditioned 15 seater minibus complete with 2 divers and our own delightful English speaking guide! We joined the daily convoy of vehicles which travel as one to the temples. One of our party slept the whole way there, but I was treated to the most amazing sunrise over the desert! We arrived at Abu Simbel about 7:00 a.m., before the heat of the day, and had a fantastic guided tour of the area and then had lots of time to wander round the temples and take lots of photos. The whole experience was breathtaking and one we will never forget. Viator organized everything perfectly. All the staff were courteous and helpful without exception.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

This was pretty cool.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Nice trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Overall a good tour - the guide was excellent, the vehicle was comfortable and the on-board ice-box was appreciated. The second half of the return trip in darkness was a bit hairy since the driver was reluctant to use his headlights!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Visiting the temple rates a 6 star, but transit & content rate a 3-4. The guide was very helpful and well informed, but it would have been better facilitation to provide content during other opportunities, not when standing in full 107 degree sun for 20 minutes to go over details. If we had known about return options we would have elected gettting an earlier convoy for the return journey. However we had a great guide, willing to help with photos and anything we asked. The 4am, 4 hour trek through the desert would have been much better in an a/c spacious bus than our little fur-rugged, windows opened and 3 guys sleeping small van. But the driver was very nice.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very good service. The local travel agency was VERY attentive in assuring that all of the arrnagements were in place and understood. A representative came to our boat the day bedfore to meet with me. Greatly appreciated. That being said, the guide who traveled to Aswan with us was essentially useless. Spent most of the time in the van on her cell phone had only the most elementary knowldege of the site, with a folio of photographs to show but inability to answer even the most basic questions. Would have been happier to just have the drivers on the trip.

Arthur B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Comfortable minibus, good driver and guide, sleeping policeman a doddle of a day for security duty! View of quarry with unfinished obelisk. Road across old dam with high dam in the distance, mirages in the desert. Would like to have had more time on the display of the project to move the temples.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Despite the early morning off-boarding from the cruise ship, the trip was amazing and definitely worth doing.... once in a lifetime. You can't avoid the 6 hours total travel tofrom unless you fly but there again, the cost would have been three times as much. Take a pillow for the vanbus ride if you can. My only recommendation to the vendor was to provide more clearly defined instructions for cruise passengers on what do to with their luggage while on this excursion, when we get back, what to do after the trip if you have a later train or flight to Cairo or elsewhere. We got all of this information but it was pieced together and took some work to do so. All in all, this was a great adventure and worth the time and money to see this spectacular monument....truly breathtaking!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

This trip was a long haul on the van, but we were happy to have a private tour with only the two of us. Our guide was personable, but somewhat wooden. No photos in the temple, which is unfortunate, but some good photos sold. Incredible temples, both Ramses and Nefertari. The time at temples is limited, 2 hours, so it is somewhat rushed, especially after a 3 hour drive. Beautiful sunrise in the desert. Definitely worth the time and effort.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Trip was fine and the actual site was fantastic, however, I believe for what is provided the tour is very overpriced. The transfer is long however and guides are not allowed in the temple itself, therefore guides travel the 6 hour return journey to speak to you for 10-15 minutes on the site. Fantastic site, definitely visit, however, I would recommend a cheaper option as there are many operators who offer the exact same programme.

Richard B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

You can do this trip by air but driving through the desert and watching the sun rise is something special. You start from Aswan in a convoy with about 100 other vehicles and drive at hectic pace for 3 hours to Abu Simbel where the temples are superb. We would have liked a bit more time at AB aprox 90 mins but this is due to the scheduling of the convoys not a restriction by the tour operator. South Sinai tours are very good indeed, we did 4 others with them.

John H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

It was a very early start, but you just can't miss this one.

From USD $ 110.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124ASW07

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message