4.5 star rating: Recommended 165 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  3 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 165 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable - a wealth of information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Our guide was fantastic and so full of information. It was very enjoyable to travel with him. Our group was small which was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall it was a great trip and you get to see some amazing sites. Our guide, Joy, was a wealth of knowledge which is both good and bad, the bad being that it would sometimes cut into your 'free' time at each location. The only other complaint would be that half of our group got rooms on the third floor with excellent views in Delphi, while the rest of us got stuck on the first floor with no view even though we had paid the same price.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The sites were amazing. The tour guide was great and informative, perhaps a little too informative at times for my taste. My wife and I went in February and it was quite chilly. Be sure to wear warm clothes. Breakfast and dinner was included for two of the days. Definitely worth experiencing!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Awesome trip and our guide was fantastic. The food was only o.k. but the accommodations were excellent. So much information to take in!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We were so happy that our young kids even got to experience the tour with us.They had fun running in the Olympic stadium in Olympia.They even asked questions and our guide was happy to answer them.All in all it was a great experience.Wish they had a 4-5 day tour so we had more time to see more.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very well run indeed.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good, great tour guide, food good, hotels good and very informative. Bus seats a little to close together but livable.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Trip was very good and met all of our expectations. Our hostess (Joy) was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had limited time to experience Athens and it's surrounds. This tour really gave a great insight to its Ancient History. Our guide Stephanas- hope I've spelt that right-was a walking talking history book! He made the trip special. The sites and scenery were spectacular.The accommodation and meals were good. We felt this tour was good value for money. Certainly one we will remember. We were lucky to meet some lovely people on this trip too. Would recommend to family and friends

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide was amazing, Emilio was well versed, easy to hear, and gave clear instructions. The schedule worked ok, except for our last day. We were rushed to an early expensive lunch, then left at our hotel for three hours. We could have spent. Thirty more mins at the museum, thirty more at the site, been dropped in town to eat and shop for two hours. This would be better by far. Our bus,ride,home was a. BIt tough as the ac did not,work and the bus had to stop three times to cool down.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Trip is well organised and the sights are amazing. You are a bit rushed along the way. There really isn't time to properly check out the museums but there is not much that can be done about it. Guide was knowledgeable. The only thing to note is that the accommodation s NOT four star, as claimed. Hotels had great meals but the rooms and services on offer were well below the rating indicated. So when viator give you a 'discount' of four star for the price of three star, then... (you join the dots).

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was overwhelming to walk in the footsteps of the Ancient Greeks. A wonderful experience!
The tour guide, Katerina, was very knowledgeable. Three days of ruins and history was enough for me. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in ancient Greece.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, our guide Martina was lovely, well informed and presented all relevant historical facts and more in a friendly and interesting way. Was impressed with itinerary though some bus trips a little longer than anticipated. Hotel on second night in Delphi was located well with great views and breakfast but rooms were sub standard (for a four star hotel) with leaky taps, noisy plumbing, doors not locking properly, safe broken etc. we were not the only person on our tour to find this. Thanks to tour guide enjoyable tour. P.s. Glad we did not do the four day tour as another 27 people were joining the tour when we left which made for a crowded bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I had a great time and the tour guide was the best!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

The tour guide was excellent. The tour company combined two tours causing an hour delay waiting for a new bus. That bus broke down outside Athens causing another hour wait for a new bus. The itinerary was fantastic and we enjoyed Greece immensely.

Bee Keong
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The guide is very fired up when it comes to Greek culture. He can go on with his blabbering and leave us with little time for sightseeing or photos.

5 stars if we leave the guide out.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on our 3 day tour!!! Our tour guide Joy was upbeat, full of information and very friendly. She made the tour come to life and the long bus ride enjoyable by giving cultural info and answering our questions. If she did not know the answer right away she would find out and let us know later. The bus driver Ionnis was also very friendly and a capable driver along the long and very winding roads.The hotels were good along the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our three day tour. A lot of travel was involved, but considering the locations visited it was worth it. Our guide Lala (sp?) was exceptional. She was a wealth of knowledge and kept the tour running smoothly without being pushy. Everything was taken care of. Day two was by far the most busy, with a long bus drive from Nafplion to Olympia (3hrs plus stops), a tour of Olympia in the heat of the day, then an even longer drive from Olympia to Delphi (4 hrs plus stops). By the time we arrived in Delphi at 8.30pm we were pretty worn out. The following day was spent in Delphi, where our tour group continued on on a longer tour in the afternoon and we traveled back to Athens via another bus. For an indepth and well run tour we would definitely recommend this.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Generally, the trip was good. We covered a lot of territory and visited some very interesting places in Greece. The Amelia Hotels were fine, although it would be nice for Internet access to be easier. We were fortunate in having a very congenial group of people on this tour.

Our tour guide Emelios was interesting and very knowledgeable. The only problem was that, physically, he seemed to have difficulty walking much further than to the first point of interest at most of our destinations. He spent a lot of time talking at this first point (much of which could have been covered in the bus), and it appeared that he was doing this at least in part to avoid having to walk any further. This also resulted in insufficient time to visit other points of interest at the destinations, even when we were ready to push ahead on our own. He did a little better at Delphi, walking about halfway up with us. I think he would be an more effective tour guide if he took off 50 kilograms or so.

The only other complaint was the bus. It was small and cramped, with very little room between the rows of seats. This made some of the longer drives less comfortable than they needed to be.

One suggestion: Some tours use wireless microphones/headsets so guides don't have to speak LOUDLY and travelers don't have to be right next to the guide to hear. This would be a nice addition to this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful trip! Great sites, fantastic, very knowledgeable tour guide and great bus driver. Accommodatiom in Nafplion was good (although unfortunately situated outside the city), the hotel in Delphi was horrible. It was sold as a 4* place but ended up being really old, smelly, dirty and worth no more than 2*. I have had better Geeek food before but wasn't expecting much on a tour like that. Overall - totally worth it, except for the accommodation in Delphi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was a very interesting and valuable tour to cover the main historical sites of Greece. The itinerary was well planned with enough time at sites. I am disappointed by the condition of the bus and its less effective AC system. The driver and guide were very humble and caring. Tour guide carried different folder each day with some graphics and old landscape diagrams. However, the travelers were slightly fed-up with him by repeating the same stuff many times with heavy Greek accent. At various stops I saw buses operated by other companies were in much excellent shape.

On first night in Olympia although the hotel was nice and big but we were the only one staying there with no choice of menu and no desert. Second night in Delphi, the hotel and food were good. On last day, another bus was suppose to bring us back Athens; all returners waited hours at the hotel without any attention by the hotel staff not even served water.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We felt extremely lucky to have our guide Stasis on this 3 day classical tour as he imparted his deep knowledge to us in a way that made these ancient sites come to life. The hotels linked with the tour, especially at Navplion, exceeded our expectations and provided excellent breakfasts. This was the first guided tour we had ever been on and we can highly recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Firstly, I would like to say that we thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The Amalia hotels in Naphthlio and Delphi were excellent with the most wonderful outdoor swimming pools. We needed them for the unusually hot late September weather we encountered. Our only concern is that the tour guide (who was a lovely lady and very entertaining) made us stay in the first part of all the archaeological sites for long periods of time to hear a protracted historical explanation. No doubt the guide was highly qualified in this area and the information very detailed, however it, markedly reduced our free time to roam the site. Some of the sites we had over an hour of this mini lecturing and only 30-40 minutes left to wander around it.

Perhaps this is done deliberately to reduce the numbers of people wandering freely at any one time, however, a detailed written handout given the night or morning before the tour would be preferable for many of us. Perhaps make the lecture optional on arrival at the site. We felt a bit rude wandering off but we had to because we were either getting sunburnt, dehydrated, falling asleep or getting angry watching others freely wandering.

Unfortunately we encountered this with all our other Greek tour guides as well (went on a cruise and another bus tour) so it wasn’t limited to Chat Tours.

Special Offer

From USD $ 349.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31409A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message