4.5 star rating: Recommended 201 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  4 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 201 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent trip would highly recommend our guide. Was phenomenal enjoyed the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very good our guide and he made the trip totally worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour was fantastic. Very well-organized itinerary and nice hotels, meals, especially given how small the towns we stayed at are. The best part of the tour was the guide, who's very knowledgeable in history, religion and mythology, making our tour not only enjoyable but informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

It is very well organized. The trip is safe. The hotel is good. The food could be improved with more choices for vegetarians. Overall, it is a very impressive trip.

Jacques M
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

With the language a serious problem, the tour is essential. Very well organized with guide it was excellent. Nice Hotels.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very good. Would recommend.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A great introduction to ancient Greece, and an easy way to do it as a sole traveller. The itinerary was really good athough be aware that time is quite restricted at the sites themselves. The tour guide was great and the majority of hotels very nice. Self-paid lunches at nominated venues varied in quality and weren't particularly good value so alternative venues may be a better option.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

We thought the tour was well-paced. Our tour guide was knowledgeable. It was a perfect way to see all the sights we wanted to see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

The tour was great! Our tour guide was friendly and informative and kept everything running smoothly. The sights we saw were remarkable. The tour was definitely worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Our guide was wonderful both friendly and knowledgeable. Delphi was amazing and our group was a fun mix of people from around the globe. We all exchanged email and plan to share pictures!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Excellent trip, the guide was extremely knowledgeable and personable. The sites visited were incredible and our site tours very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

All did an excellent job. The tour and accommodations were far better than expected. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable. He was very friendly and answered all of our questions even if they did not relate to the sight or museums. We were really happy with our guide. The tour was well organized and offered great flexibility for us because we wanted to take a tour of the main sights and also have our own days in Greece. This was perfect. Great job! We definitely recommend this tour.

Alan H
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

Just do it, this tour is amazing. While the hotels are not anywhere near 'First Class', the tour itself and the scenic drives make it more than worthwhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour ran to schedule and our guide Vicki was excellent in her knowledge of the sites. The accommodation and meals were well done and time was given particularly in Delphi for free time.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Perfect timing with a highly appreciated guide.
The only lost star is related to the accommodation in Naflion. The Amalia hotel is not well placed at all and thus forbid to make an easy trip to the city after diner.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide and driver, good hotels.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We really lucked out with our tour. The guide and driver were amazing, the weather fantastic, and doing the tour in November meant that we were almost the only ones visiting the sights. Incredible!!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed this tour having previously taken the 3 day classical tour back in 2008 and deciding that I really wanted to do the 4th day which involves a travel from Delphi to Meteora to see the wonderful monasteries perched up high on the cliffs. I found the tour guide (Irenee) to be very knowledgeable about ancient Greece and archaeology. Our bus driver was a very safe driver and I never felt endangered on the whole trip which involves a lot of driving sometimes on narrow windy roads. The Amelia hotels that we stayed at were mostly adequate and far from the worst I've experienced on other bus tours elsewhere. The only small complaint was the bus itself was a bit cramped for space and seemed to need some maintenance with some seats faulty and some leaks in the roof when it rained. The actual tour itself is fantastic and well worth it :-)

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was good. Our tour guide, Katerina is very knowledgeable and gave us lots of information about Greece History, arts and myths. Too bad my memory space is limited that I can't fill them all in my head. The 4 stars hotel chain, Amalia hotels, which we stayed in are not bad. A couple of things that need improve would be the wifi, very weak in room, some can't even use. Another point is that the hotels are generally out of the main town, so do your shopping if you have chance during the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good trip, well paced, with reasonable amount of time at the major archaeological sites. Lots of driving but breaks every two hours. Guide was very knowledgable but spoke fast and sometimes hard to understand unless you were standing next to her. Bus and hotels comfortable, buffet-style meals were good with plenty of choices except at hotel Amalia at Metero where both selection and quality was sub-par (this was surprising given we stayed at hotels from the same chain at all locations). Good value.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour is somewhere between 3 and 4 stars to me. It was very busy days and the first one very long with bus not reaching our first hotel (in Olympia) until 8:30pm. At that time pool was closed and nothing left except just to eat and go to bed. However, Amalia hotel in Olympia a bit way out and wouldn't have been able to go anywhere if bus had gotten us earlier. But, I had hot and tired kids and they wanted a break and to swim. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and sometimes maybe too detailed, but again maybe just me. Places were amazing to see - wish we could have had a bit more time in some of those - but this tour is all about seeing the most. We booked the four star, but didn't find them really "four" stars. Maybe somewhere a bit closer to three. I would recommend this tour and booking the 4 star (not sure of the 3 star), is was worth it to see alot of Greece.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I have had a good trip overall. First the bus driver is driving at a good speed which help to ease a bit of my worry seeing some comments on bus driving too fast. Second, I have a good guide Joy who speaks clear English which makes it very easy to understand and adding to this, she is very knowledgeable and her myths really makes the tour a lot more fun than it would have been. The hotels we were in are clean and comfortable in a way exceeding my expectation.

The only one complaint I have is the restaurant at Delphi where we have lunch is terrible as there are just too many flies. Imagine you have to cover your drink with tissue in case the fly land on it. Also I saw 1 fly stick on the a piece of cake that the staff is carrying.

Overall I'm please with the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We really liked our tour of classic Greece. The days were long but the guide Dmitra did well in controlling the group and commenting on interesting points along the way. The driver Dmitri was great, very smooth ride the whole trip. Hotel accommodation was only first class so not sure if paying the lower price would have made a difference with hotel selection. Wifi was unuseable in the amalia kalambaka. We were a little disappointed that this was not a small group tour as advertized. We arent sure if this is misrepresentation from viator or the tour provider. Each "group" had 12 people but two "groups" were in the same bus with the same driver and guide. After the other group got off on day 3, another group joined us only the group was in French. Tour was long enough without having to oisten to explanations in both languages. We would have appreciated knowing this in advance as we might have selected another more custom tour. Overall a great experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I thought this was an excellent tour. Everything ran on time and according to schedule. The hotels were very good and after a long day on the road, your baggage was left outside your room (you didn't have to haul it from the bus). Our guide was extremely professional, both in terms of overall organisation of the tour and in dealing with the odd awkward individual. Her knowledge of the individual sites and her general knowledge of classical Greece was very impressive.
I'm looking forward to doing a similar trip next year.

Special Offer

From USD $ 539.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31409B

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message