5 star rating: Highly Recommended 154 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 154 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our tour guide, Vikki, was phenomenal She truly knew the history of Greece through all the periods of history and made it come to life as we walked through the different places. It was extremely hot the day we had the tour and she was very caring toward some of the individuals who were struggling with the heat. She tried on every occaision to do the talk in shaded areas and gave us great advice as to how go back to different areas after the tour. She was so knowledgable and made the history come to life. She gave us extra time and answered all questions asked by the individuals on the tour in a very thorough manner. I would give her a five star rating and would highly recommend her as a superior guide! We saw her later in the week conducting a guided tour in Corinth and listening to her in the distance, she was much more thorough than the guide for our tour! Our extreme gratitude to Vikki!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great tour by an experienced guide who took plenty of time to answer our questions, give us information and help take photos. The walking was broken up by lots of rest stops and checks to make sure we were all OK. Only 6 people on the tour so it was very personalized and extremely interesting. A fantastic way to spend a morning in Athens. Don't miss this !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The tour was very good and the guide spoke perfect and English. After we had the chance of a guided tour to the Acropolis Museum for 17 euros more. It was wonderful as well. I recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Fabulous, comprehensive walking tour of the National Gardens, Parliament Building, Changing of the Guards, Temple of Zeus, Hadrian's Arch, Theatre of Dionysus, Odeon, and Acropolis Rock. Had a fabulous sampling of Greek Yogurt that was better than anything we get in the states as well. Informed, patient guide, great timing/pacing, well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Our tour guide James was very knowledgeable, friendly, and funny. He knew so many stories beyond just Greek history and was really able to bring the past to life. We had initially planned to explore the Acropolis on our own, but are very happy we decided to go with this tour as it was well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Was a fantastic tour, with an excellent tour guide! Had my 12 week old child with me in a sling, the walk was well paced, easy & very accomodating even with my extra load. Would highly reccomend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

The guide was excellent and the group was small. It is definitely the way to see important historical parts of Athens.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

An absolute must do! Despina was our tour guide and she had an amazing way of blending the past with the future. If you take this tour and are lucky enough to get Despina, say Hallelujah! You've got one of the best tour guides ever. It is ALOT of walking and she makes tons of stops along the way. She has it timed so we were at the Parliament for the changing of the guiard. She explained it beforehand so we knew what we were looking at. In the park, she warned us to watch out for pickpockets. She also always stopped to tell us something in the shade. I wrote the tour company after to say how wonderful this tour and particularly this tour guide was.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

A great orientation to some ot the many important sights in Athens. I had read that the tour went to fast for elderly folks, but this was not true. Even the climb up the Acropolis was accomplished with relative ease and as many stops in the shade as could be done. Our guide, Yasiff, I think, shared so much information clearly. He really seemed to care about his material.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Tour was good. Guide was knowledgeable and spoke good English. Because of the crowds, it would have been better if it used a headset.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Very good, but too short of time

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I was on a cruise but wanted to book something locally. This was perfect. Guide was very knowledgeable and it was nice to walk the streets rather than be bused around everywhere. Would definitely book other activities with them.

Mike K
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I was very impressed with all the information given during the tour. We learned interesting things about the past and present. We definitely got a lot more out of Athens than we would have without this tour.

DAVID A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very good tour, however more detailed info on being left at the Acropolis to find our own way back to the city would have been appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We had an excellent, well organized and very knowledgeable tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Our tour with was absolutely wonderful! There was my 12 year old son and myself, plus one other person in the group, so a very personal tour. The guide was so knowledgeable about the history of Greece and what we were seeing in addition to answering other questions we had about Greece. I absolutely recommend this tour the first day you arrive in Athens!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very knowledgeable guide made the tour very enjoyable.

Monica C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The guide is very knowledgeable and friendly. There were only two of us in the group, so we enjoyed the exclusivity very much. Athens and its main attractions seem to be more enjoyable in winter.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Best part of our trip! Guide was excellent covered a lot of ground, she was very informative and really nice person. Be aware this tour is for fit people able to walk long distances and go up very steep hills.

Darrell W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Interesting walking tour, guide was excellent

MARK W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Our guide for the walking tour was brilliant, she was very knowledgable and very passionate about Athens, she brought the city to life for us. The finish at the Acropolis and Parthenon was a superb end to a great tour.

Tim C
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The tour was great, our guide was very friendly and informative. Without our guide we would not have known the history of the Acropolis and Parthenon. It was well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent! The tour guide was terrific! He was pleasant, patient and very well informed. Every step was interesting.

Judith S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Our guide gave us a comprehensive tour from Syntagma station to the top of the acropolis, with a lot of interesting information. Well worth doing. However the cost of the tour did not include the entrance fee to the acropolis. I re-read the info this was stated, but tours usually do include entrance costs so I missed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The Acropolis Walking Tour was fabulous! Our guide was so knowledgeable, but besides having a good command of the history of the Acropolis and other places we were shown, she also had a good sense of humor and was very kind. It was good to walk - far better than a bus tour which I took earlier in the week that came with my hotel reservation. Our walking guide was also great about answering questions. Can't recommend this highly enough. We did a lot of other things during our visit to Athens, some pretty expensive, but none as great as this!

From USD $ 43.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2906ATHACRO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message